We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Everyone should see this at least once”

Legong of Mahabrata Epic
Ranked #4 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dances are merged with stories and history in Bali. Many focus on the Sanskrit epics of India which are literature that convey cultural beliefs and structure. The two most well known are the Mahabharata and the Ramayana. The Ramayana has 24,000 verses and portrays the ideal characters of life such as the perfect servant or father. The Mahabharata, is the longest of them all. I
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great! Everyone should see this at least once”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can understand why you may not want to see lots of these performances. But is you really follow the script and/or try to understand some of the indonesian religious and cultural history this is really an interesting show.
Actually even if you don't care about the story itself, the music, instruments and dancing is nothing like anything we had seen before. If you only want to have a look at that, leave after half if you wish. However we could have seen another one of these shows with a different story the next day if we would not have had to leave ubud.

Go!

Tips: The price seems to be the same regardless of whether you get a presold ticket or one at the gate. Make sure you are there at least 5-10 minutes before the show or you may have to stand throughout the hole thing. But there should be room and tickets for you if you just show up a little bit before hand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saturday Legong at Ubud Palace”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Easy to get a ticket for 80k from the guys hanging around outside on the day - the ticket doubles as a programme so you know what each of the dances is. Music interesting but very repetitive for the 90min show. We turned up 30 min early to get seats and still all the best ones were taken! The dancers were very polished and talented.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Turn up early for a decent seat!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We saw a balinese dance show including a legong, a barong and a version of the Mahabarata at Ubud Palace. The show lasted 90 minutes at a cost of 80k rupiahs per person (US$8/UK£5).

We arrived 10 minutes before the show and had to sit on a thin carpet on the ground right next to the gamelan (balinese orchestra) who played the musical accompaniment. The music was quite loud for us and we didn't have space to stretch our legs.

The dance is essentially silent (some dialogue possibly in Indonesian was totally inaudible) but we were provided with a program which briefly explained each story.

It's a must-see see in Ubud and you can catch a show any day but it won't be to everyone's taste.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lelionrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are numerous traditional balinese dance performance every night in Ubud area. I was very satisfied with this because of its ambiance at the palace with old balinese architecture was very nice, and of course the music and dance was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sakura7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Legong at Ubud Palace”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We should have been earlier since so many people flocked to see this wonderful dance that we ended up sitting on the ground, but not far from the stage. I was amazed by the intricacy, especially, displayed but the lady dancers. The mezmerizing eye and finger movements added immeasurably to the fascination of the dance. It is obvious that the great skill with which they executed their dance was the result of years of training and practice. I wish that I had read carefully about this dance before I saw it, nonetheless it was simply fascinating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paule_8353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legong of Mahabrata Epic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing