We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime! Not to be missed!”
Review of Warung Saya

Warung Saya
Ranked #229 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indian, Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This beautiful one-man-show restaurant serves up delicious food in a unique setting. Restaurateur Amier has been catering to Ubud locals, expats and visitors since 2011. He first opened his small warung on Jalan Gootama and later moved to his larger space on Jalan Raya Andong. All dished are prepared from scratch by Amier himself in a traditional home cooking style.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime! Not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little spot on one of my favorite quiet streets in Ubud. Small menu means fresh ingredients and very well-executed dishes. My coconut green curry is the best I've ever had. Don't miss eating here while in Ubud. Reservations are a must so call ahead or stop by in person.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    25
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Absolutely delicious food. On par with the Melting Wok as the best restaurant in Ubud. By far the best meal we've had during our stay. Excellent value, also.

Admittedly this restaurant is probably not for you if you're after a wide variety of choices (there were 3 things on the menu) or if you have special dietary requirements. But if you are open to eating whatever is available on the day, then this is one of the most delicious restaurants you'll ever eat at.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great experience ..... Food was fantastic”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Having Arien cook for us in his very very small restaurant was a wonderful experience for our family. My 8 year old expressed "that was sensational" as we left and we all agreed. We tasted all 3 dishes on offer; all were delicious and prepared from scratch with skill and attention to detail. You MUST book well in advance if you want to visit Warung Saya.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bassbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun and fab food with Amir”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you want to eat at warung saya you will need to text Amir - host, chef and waiter - a one man band extraordinaire! Plan to be patient as Amir cooks all meals for guests from scratch! The menu is therefore small but special. No vegetables or salad - usually it's chicken!! Very fresh and very tasty...like visiting a friend's home! If you chat to Amir he will tell you some wonderful stories. Very eclectic but lots of fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank shanthini41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

World's smallest restraunt. Just like eating in local kitchen, Arien very quirky and hospitable food great in relaxed atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank wkgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warung Saya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing