We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality here !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warung Saya

Warung Saya
Ranked #189 of 723 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: This beautiful one-man-show restaurant serves up delicious food in a unique setting. Restaurateur Amier has been catering to Ubud locals, expats and visitors since 2011. He first opened his small warung on Jalan Gootama and later moved to his larger space on Jalan Raya Andong. All dished are prepared from scratch by Amier himself in a traditional home cooking style.
Bali
2 reviews
“quality here !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

* * * At Warung Saya, Amier (owner and chef) offers you tasteful meals and drinks freshly made !
it is all about quality here. If you are looking for a great relaxed atmosphere to spend an
evening in Ubud, this is it. * * *
/alexandre

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jalanjalan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    25
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The curry dish is the best curry I have had so far. The food has very good value. But you have to be patient to wait for the food and try to reserve it because they only have 2 and half tables!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 499CatherineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Castellet, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a must if you go to Ubud, careful only a few tables so get in there quick. I am not usually a huge fan when it comes to asian food but this is beautiful. Amier will welcome you in a decor that he has created : sober, trendy and yet 'natural'. He is very well travelled so
The food is fresh (very fresh), there are a few vegetarian dishes that are very tasty and interesting deserts.
Enjoy

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laure F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal in tiny restaurant - got to admire the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited Warung Saya after reading about it on Trip Advisor. Having read the reviews we went with an open mind and were realistic about what to expect given he is a one-man band operating out of a tiny tiny area. We expected and didn't mind the wait and the food was delicious (better than our meal the following night in one of the main restuarants in the centre), and at the price it cost for two main meals, a juice and a large Bintang (108,000 rupiah) I dont think anyone should really have the gaul to complain.

Clearly people who expect restaurant style service in terms of the speed of delivery etc, and air-conditioning, are being un-realistic and missing the whole point of what this guy is trying to do. I for one admire that he is trying to make a go of it and is clearly just starting out. Therefore a little patience should be in order.

I think this little place is well worth a visit, provided you are willing to go without the standard restaurant facilities in order to try something a little different. I hope that he succeeds in his venture until he can expand the business further.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JVB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I know this little `home-cooked' style warung been getting rave reviews but after personally dining there, I must say it's overrated and I was disappointed.

I understand that eating there takes time as everything was done by just one person who is quite chatty and friendly but what I got did not justify that long wait. Our two dishes were ready almost an hour after ordering! My friend's Opor Ayam was fragrant and tasty but my PadThai which comes in generous serving with hearty ingredients, was just TOOOO salty. I was asked to add more lime but the sourness did not help. Normally i would politely ask the kitchen to recook but not in this case as it would take far too long! Granted, it may be just a slip of adding too much salt and perhaps his usual dishes are very good.

It was evening but being seated inside (even with open windows), it was very stuffy and hot as there was just one tiny table fan that didn't really help. Also the place feels quite cram to be comfortable, and it is without toilet. You have to walk all the way into another homestay next door to a squat toilet (the worst i visited in Ubud). With all these factors combined, I really can't say I enjoyed the meal or this little warung that has been so well received.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Saya also viewed

 
Peliatan, Ubud
 

Been to Warung Saya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing