We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab one of three tables”
Review of Warung Saya

Warung Saya
Ranked #210 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indian, Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This beautiful one-man-show restaurant serves up delicious food in a unique setting. Restaurateur Amier has been catering to Ubud locals, expats and visitors since 2011. He first opened his small warung on Jalan Gootama and later moved to his larger space on Jalan Raya Andong. All dished are prepared from scratch by Amier himself in a traditional home cooking style.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grab one of three tables”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Amier the owner,host,chef and instant friend is delighted to cook and serve his delicious traditional Indonesian cuisine. You are is invited to wait to order until he has prepared for the table ahead of you. There are two tables inside and one out. Any wait is well worth it. The food is tasty, super fresh, made to order. This warung is terrific!


Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogini5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    25
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique service, value for money with great food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

It was a uniquely enjoyable experience. The food was great, very good value for money.

We would visit again. Be sure to book as there are only 3 tables, so you will miss out if you don't book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks but no thanks!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

after the rave review from trip advisor, me and my friend just can't wait to come here, even though it's raining outside, and we have to park really far cause the alley is a bit tight, we are totally surprised with the owners "warm welcome"!! i'm cool with the size of the restaurant, only 3 tables, 1 table for 4, 1 table for 3, and 1 table for 2, it is filled with 6 people at the moment, surely we don't mind to cramp with other customers, as we understand with the size of the place, but what surprises me, the owner/chef rudely saying 'SORRY!! NO MORE SEATS!!" and with his hand gesture rejecting us from his place......note: it was raining and both of us are women.....i feels like he is treating us rudely because we are locals, i bet if he wants to, he can ask other customer to squeeze us in, but anyway....thank you for your "warm welcome" surely learned a good lesson here....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mkay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in Ubud.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner Warung Saya. The food was delicious, especially the Indonesian style chicken curry, one of the best tasting dishes I've ever eaten. It's got a great feel, the owner is passionate about his cooking and uses fresh produce. It's only one man running everything so book ahead as seating space and time are limited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GandGperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't get better!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Amier, owner and cook does a great job in his tiny cozy restaurant. The place only has 3 tables, which gives it a homey atmosphere. We were lucky to meet Amier the day before we went to the restaurant so he booked the outdoor table for us. The menu includes thai, indonesian and indian dishes but I'd suggest you to follow Amier recommendations, you won't be disappointed! While he takes his time to cook, have a Bintang or a fruit Lassi, and for dessert go for the Banana soup.
Prices are very reasonable and food is superb.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank melonazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Saya also viewed

 
Peliatan, Ubud
 

Been to Warung Saya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing