We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!”
Review of House of Schnitzel

House of Schnitzel
Ranked #64 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have a small eclectic menu featuring western cuisine using only fresh local seasonal produce. Our open kitchen is designed and maintained to international standards so you can always be assured of clean fresh food and drinks. Enjoy village views and breezes away from the street from the open air top floor. Warung Schnitzel is located in the centre of Ubud just 20m from Jalan Raya Ubud.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

On our last day in Ubud we came here to eat, after reading the great reviews. We were not dissapointed. Beautiful clean venue, great prices and really good Schnitzels! We even got to have a really great chat with the lovely owner Mara as we'd heard she's an Aussie. We bought a credit there to give our butler at our resort as a thank you, which hopefully he has used! Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CourtinaDaimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    263
    62
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i dream of schnitzel”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

From March 10th to March 18th, we ate here at least once a day. Sometimes we'd like to try something else on the main street but to be honest you don't get the quality of food for a price like this! A lot of the other restaurants were overrated. It was so good my boyfriend dreamt of it one night and we ate there 2 times the next day.

Mara is the owner but she is also the 'chef' meaning they are all her recipes but she has a head chef cooking for her now. There was a complimentary appetizer after 5pm as well. We ate the schnitzel every time, and every time it never failed us. I believe the schnitzel was like $6, came with a big piece of schnitzel, a salad, and mash potatoes (can change it I think). Mara being a chef originally from Australia, she takes extra care to make sure her produce and meats are delivered with safe standards (they pick it up rather than letting the farm deliver the meat with it sitting on a piece of ice getting cooked in the sun!) In addition the staff is very attentive and friendly with really good English, she also trained them personally to 'western' serving standards.

You've got a great location literally just 10 steps off the side of the main street, and it's 3 levels so you can people watch from the bottom, be creeping from the second floor, and watching the sunset on the roof top. Though we didn't really try anything else but schnitzel, I believe the schnitzel is enough to go and try the restaurant out!

LOVE this place, wish we got to spend more time talking to Mara, as she is a lovely lady and a joy. If you're in Ubud looking for a hearty meal, this is a place to check out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a great restaurant. The food was divine went there for an Anzac celebration. Mara had prepared traditional Aussie food. Pies sausage rolls and pavlova. I reckon it was the best pie I have had. The surroundings are relaxed and very comfortable. My favourite spot is the little cave on the right when you walk in lots of cushions. The staff are more than happy to serve. The alcohol is safe and very affordable. My no 1 favourite restaurant in ubud. Just. Love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of My Regular Top 3 in Ubud”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Warung Schnitzel is one of the three restaurants I keep coming back to again and again. I rave over the tenderness of the beef in the schnitzels - Mara ages the beef over 7 days. Her pies are fantastastic. and don't forget the puddings with caramel sauce. you can trust the alcohol in the cocktails which are really cheap for Ubud - my favourite is the lemon margaita. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Mara and Cameron give such a personal touch you always feel you are coming home. Pricing definitely good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This little restaurant isn't easy to find as it is just off the main Ubud road but is worth looking for.
Mara, the owner has instilled a real sense of ownership in her staff. One of the staff was even there on his day off, helping out.
Mara is a "people" person and had a friendly chat with every customer.
The food was so good we went back a couple of times to try different items on the menu. Very reasonable prices too.
This restaurant is very, very clean with clean toilets. The decor is classy Balinese. There is even a stylish hand washing facility in the restaurant which is very handy after being around the town.
We definitely recommend Mara's little restaurant - Warung Schnitzel.
Mark, Rob, Rich, Mab

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Schnitzel also viewed

 

Been to House of Schnitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing