We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Balinese Food 'break'”
Review of House of Schnitzel

House of Schnitzel
Ranked #68 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have a small eclectic menu featuring western cuisine using only fresh local seasonal produce. Our open kitchen is designed and maintained to international standards so you can always be assured of clean fresh food and drinks. Enjoy village views and breezes away from the street from the open air top floor. Warung Schnitzel is located in the centre of Ubud just 20m from Jalan Raya Ubud.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Balinese Food 'break'”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though we love the whole Asian cuisine thing a break after a week or so for a 'change' is nice, Dropped in for lunch & as it wasn't busy we opted for a seat on 3rd level for the streetscape. Poor waitress was running up & down frequently just to check on us. But always did with a smile as nothing was too much trouble. Whilst my sister had been before & loves the schnitzel (we have Austrian heritage) I opted for the chicken with a basil coating. both dishes were moist & delicious. Very well priced. I have put this one in the 'newer & deserve to do well category' of eating place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    265
    65
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overated average tasting food clean and good prices”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Would go again not fantastic tasting food good price very clean atmosphere not very friendly just serve eat and leave feel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChelleP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, great hygiene, great customer service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am travelling in Bali and as a microbiologist and previous cafe owner in Sydney I have not been impressed by the standard of hygiene in many of the restaurants I have dined in. But then we fell upon this amazing restaurant which could pass any food safety handling audit. Not only is the restaurant so clean, I spoke to the Australian owner Mara,and she told me she was constantly training her staff and re-enforcing the need for food safety with her staff. These standards also filter through to the quality food served, though simplistic in design, is tasty and utilizes the best of local ingredients. The food is competitively priced and value for money. The customer service also indicates that Mara has spent time training her staff in this area and over all the experience was just great and we spent time there in the knowledge that we would NOT get Bali- belly from here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tucked away dining”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located just off the hustle and bustle of the main street. Dining on 3 floors. We were glad to have ordered a pitcher of mojitos,very good, as we were on the top floor and would have waited quite a long time to get a second round.The place is charming and the food good. I ordered a delicious green curry which was a special that night. My husband ordered the pork schnitzel. It seemed an odd dish to have in Bali but they did a very good job.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yuuuuuuuummmmmm”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great little find and the most delicious chicken and pork schnitzels ever tasted in Bali. This little gem is just off the main drag with oodles of charm and multi leveled seating, we usually frequent the second level as we mainly come with friends. The menu is quite extensive but of course as the name suggests, the chicken schnitzels are to die for and the servings are generous, usually two per plate. The owner is fantastic, she learned how to cook whilst living in Sydney, Australia so the food has a wonderful western/Asian influence and the staff are helpful and attentive. So do yourselves a favour and pop on down, you won't be disappointed, we go there at least once a fortnight, if not week, can't get enough of it, great value for money...well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Schnitzel also viewed

 

Been to House of Schnitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing