We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best memory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation

Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation
Ranked #8 of 713 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dear friends, dear visitors, dear travelers, The Fair Warung Bale (belongs the State Approved Fair Future Foundation) is the cornerstone of a new economic model Unique Worldwide, which strives in giving back profits and 100% of its benefits to the poorest, to the new Children’s hospital and to people who are truly in need. The Fair Warung Bale is the only “restaurant” worldwide, which supports and funds a Comprehensive & Massive Public Health & Medical Care Program, including Medical Centers & a Large Medical team, consisting of more than fifteen Health Professionals, for over than 30,000 needy people per year. The Foundation, thanks the Fair Warung Bale, care and treat tens of thousands poor, sick, disable, disadvantaged human beings per year; In 2013 – 18’000 | 2014 – 22’000 | 2015 – 29’800; Improve the daily life of the local community in suffering, including medical prevention; Develop major projects related to access to Free Health & Medical care; Build and Operate its own Pediatric Hospital to treat thousands of children annually. These engagement are funded by the Fair Warung Bale, which trains young people aged between 15 and 20 years old and by individual and institutional donations, of which 98% flows are directly used in favor of the people in need. As NGO, we/you don't pay government tax. However, if you wish, you can help what we do by making a small donation in the small "Donation Box", located on the counter. You will receive a certificate of donation that you can use for all purposes. Thank you very much for your great support and your help.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our best memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Warung Bale was our best memory of our trip in Ubud. Here we had the best tuna tart we've ever eaten. Excellent food and fresh juices, cleanliness, nothing faulty in this restaurant. Alex managed to create more than a simple restaurant in the heart of the city, excellent food, top staff, and decent price. A special mention for the juice bar where you pay what you want! I look forward to return in the summer of 2014. The hospitality, the smiles and friendliness of the staff, makes the time spent here to be unforgettable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_MC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,128
    666
    119
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to eat,value for $.Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had to try this place after reading the reviews.Went early around 6pm.The dinner crowd started to come in after 7pm.The young staff were polite,friendly and gracious.Good menu choices for local food and some Western cuisine. Food served freshly cooked in generous portions.Nice cosy dining atmosphere.However you need to climb a rather steep flight of stairs to the restaurant;8 steps approx.Alex,the founder,came by as we were about to leave.He introduced himself and thanked us for our support and patronage.The $ earned is supporting hospital and medical charity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank julcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great cause. You must eat here at least once when in Ubud. Alex is extremely nice and honest. We loved his recommendation for food and willingness to make vegetarian options for us. Very glad we were able to attend since the day before and after our visit they were closed.

Helpful?
Thank Tamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food for a good cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent chicken food (Thai chicken in tomato sauce and chicken with coconut sauce) flavored very well. We also loved the banana crepe with dark chocolate sauce. The location is well designed. Good idea with the invidual "remember stones" of the guests at the walls. From the rooftop you can look at the streetlife. Kitchen was situated in the same rooms as the tables, what we liked. Very clean toilet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Founder at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear friends...

It's a VERY VERY good cause yes! The Fair Warung Balé is 100% magic and different for sure!

Great people, great purpose, great food and fair prices! Include large portions yes! We love you all...

The new clinic in few words...
--------------------------------------------
1. Health care is free for more than 80% of patients, poor, in needs or having many and varied issues;
2. More than 110m2 of medical facilities , two (2) boxes for emergency or treatment;
3. Advanced and modern medical equipment, for the region and the country;
4. Several strings to our bows: Cardiology, diabetes, medicine, minor surgery, minor emergencies, injuries, sutures, simple fractures, treatment of nutritional deficiencies (more and more people have), screening and disease prevention, health care etc…
5. Social pharmacy, with a large quantity of drugs, for people in need;
6. Three full-time physicians, five nurses, a pharmacist referent. All are local and paid by the Fair Warung Balé, the Swiss Foundation, the Fair Future Foundation and the Bali Sari Foundation;
7. A mobile clinic, which travels around and runs between the villages to the clinic;
8. In the coming months, more than 30,000 patients per year are projected;
9. A monthly budget of more than 5,000 U$D is devoted to the clinic (Salaries of doctors and nurses, medical equipment and medicines, electricity, water, maintenance, administration etc…)
10. This budget comes almost exclusively from Fair Warung Balé, care charged to "foreigners", from your donation and your generosity of course;
11. Healthcare are charged for foreigners, according to a price list 100% fair and public. Such consultation can finance 4-5 visits and treatments for people in need.
12. In 6 to12 months, implementation of our plans to open our first hospital (not clinic, but a real hospital);
13. A reminder though: In his capacity as President of the Swiss Foundation and founder of the Indonesian foundation, Alex Wettstein is 100% voluntary and therefore he don't receive any salary or income.

Like a small white stone on the wall....

With many love

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a good heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose to eat here after reading the reviews on Trip.

In a good location off the main drag of Ubud, the setting is great and the style of seating a refreshing change.

The standard of the food is excellent, as is the service that comes with it.

We ate the Red Thai curry and found it tasty and filling.

There are many places to eat in Ubud and this is definitely up there with the best of them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nathlfc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Founder at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear friends...

We all are Angels!

We love you and thank you very much for your kindness and your support!

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing