We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How this place got #1 is a mystery!”

Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation
Ranked #9 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dear friends, dear visitors, dear travelers, The Fair Warung Bale (belongs the State Approved Fair Future Foundation) is the cornerstone of a new economic model Unique Worldwide, which strives in giving back profits and 100% of its benefits to the poorest, to the new Children’s hospital and to people who are truly in need. The Fair Warung Bale is the only “restaurant” worldwide, which supports and funds a Comprehensive & Massive Public Health & Medical Care Program, including Medical Centers & a Large Medical team, consisting of more than fifteen Health Professionals, for over than 30,000 needy people per year. The Foundation, thanks the Fair Warung Bale, care and treat tens of thousands poor, sick, disable, disadvantaged human beings per year; In 2013 – 18’000 | 2014 – 22’000 | 2015 – 29’800; Improve the daily life of the local community in suffering, including medical prevention; Develop major projects related to access to Free Health & Medical care; Build and Operate its own Pediatric Hospital to treat thousands of children annually. These engagement are funded by the Fair Warung Bale, which trains young people aged between 15 and 20 years old and by individual and institutional donations, of which 98% flows are directly used in favor of the people in need. As NGO, we/you don't pay government tax. However, if you wish, you can help what we do by making a small donation in the small "Donation Box", located on the counter. You will receive a certificate of donation that you can use for all purposes. Thank you very much for your great support and your help.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“How this place got #1 is a mystery!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited this place because of its good reviews. I showed up at lunch time and there was a sign that said they weren't opening until 3 that day. Ok no big deal. I came back for an early dinner around 4pm and when I walked in I just got some curious looks and one bus boy nodded at me. I waited for a bit and no one said hello, sat me, or gestured for me to seat myself. Eventually I just sat down. Again, nobody came to wait on me or acknowledge my presents in any way. There were only two other customers there and two or three workers sitting behind a counter so it wasn't because they were busy. I finally walked up to the counter and asked if I ordered there and she said yes.

By the way there is no menu inside. Or at least I wasn't offered one. So you have to decide you want from the chalk board outside before you go in. I ordered the ONLY thing that sounded good from their selection and she said they didn't have it. Ok, they why don't you erase it from your chalk board menu?? I asked what she did have and she told me in an accent so thick I couldn't understand at all. I live in Asia and am better than most people at understanding thick accents and attempts at English. I was starting to get the feeling that I just wasn't welcome there so I sad thank you and left. Who knows, maybe the food is excellent, but it wouldn't be worth such an awkward and unwelcoming experience for me.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hey Jess, Good morning, good afternoon!

First sorry for my english... And sorry for what append to you here in the Fair Future Foundation this last days!

Maybe some explications... Doctors, nurses, Eka and me we were downstairs, working in the Clinic (we just start 2 days ago to store and sort dozens of kilos of medical equipment), and the young people were probably very busy too in our workshop, the Fair Warung Balé... And, an other part of my staff was with us, making the "links" between the clinic and the workshop! (U should come to see what i'm talking about, come to visit our Clinic, you will understand for sure!)

Yes, the Fair Warung Balé open à 2:30 but we can't cook before 4:00. The beneficiaries work eights hours per day only, and all young people have to prepare everything! And of course, they don't speck english, that's why they are here in our foundation. Regarding your order, they wanted to tell you that it was "not yet fully ready," and not "we have no more". Because we had everything for sure, but not completely ready to be cook.

I know pretty much each beneficiaries of the Fair Future Foundation, and they are so warm and very welcoming, that this very very small problem really amazes me! Anyway, its append and sorry for this. Maybe a bad day or probably very exciting with our Fair Clinic Saking Napi, and his opening. But please : An "Horrible" review for this! You even don't eat here and u spent 2 minutes with us! And you don't try to understand this place!

Jess, these young people are also here in the Fair Future Foundation to learn English because they don't speak the
Shakespeare language. This is one of our many educational objectives, teaching them English and even French (the Molière language). So yes, i agree, they don't speak english or just "un petit peu - a little bit" for the moment. And sometimes, they are very shy! But i'm very very proud of all to them, sooooo proud!

Yes Jess, all people who's working here in this workshop are non professional, they all just learn about everything and yes, as i said son may times, it's 100% magic. You must know from where they are from! Single parents, widow, lost their kids, economical problem, homeless before, nearly from the street, problem with their family, medical disabilities etc... We only employ people from disadvantaged social backgrounds (except the doctors, nurses, pharmacist).

Why u didn't ask for me? For visiting the Clinic? Or asking for Eka? She was downstairs with our doctor, too busy to sort medical stuff (sooooo many things by the way). Here is perhaps the funniest place I knew, but also an very serious one regards our goals and our mission! A place where everyone must be what he really is. No concept, no one plays a game, or endorse a "suit too big for him". We ask everyone to be himself completely himself. And when something wrong append, we have to correct it. I will talk this morning with the young people! But I'm 150% sure they did not want to disappoint you.

You have tom come here for a diner... You will enjoy each second of your time in the Fair Future Foundation!

Alex and the Angels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,407
    727
    129
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nantes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just an amaizing place in Ubud, Sriwedari. A very nice and friendly atmosphere, lightening by candles. Alex and Eka will warmly welcome you.
And, by the way, we ate a so delicious tuna tartare with mango salad. ENAK !
They gave us great advice for our trip in Bali.
Just enjoy!
Thanks a lot and see you as soon as possible... with pleasure.
James & Fanny from France.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FannyBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Google Translation
Chers amis, chers visiteurs,

Tous les bénéficiaires et nous tous de la Fair Future Foundation, nous voulons seulement vous dire un énorme MERCIIIIIIII d'être passé chez nous vous amuser, vous détendre, rire, échanger, manger et boire.

Depuis deux jours, on travaille à l'ouverture de la clinique!!! C'est excitant de se dire que l'on va l'ouvrir et que cela va fonctionner, sans aucun doute! C'est aussi grâce à vous tous que notre Fondation existe, grâce à vous que l'on peut réaliser tout cela! Magique...

Vous pouvez venir voir la Clinique, ce petit dispensaire de 50 m2 qui va accueillir des gens de tous les horizons, de toutes les couches sociales, de partout... Même si l'on ne vous souhaite jamais d'y passer pour autre chose qu'une visite, les portes vous sont grandes ouvertes pour observer! Et pourquoi pas nous aider! Il y a tant à faire!

Un merci d'amour les amis...

Alex et les Anges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Number #1 in Tripadvisor absolutely deserved!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We checked here for a Good Restaurant in Ubud. We found this Place as being Top rates and it was lovely indeed! The Food was delicious, the staff very friendly and the Cause of the foundation to Support local People is a Good Thing! It'a Not about being fancy but rather a home away from home...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear friends,

You take times for us. I take time for you! It's just 100% normal! I'm not a businessman, i just have an huge heart...

Thank you for coming to see us in our workshop, the Fair Warung Balé, an program of the Fair Future Foundation. The young people, the beneficiaries of the foundation deserve ton be #1 on tripadvisor. This not our fault you know, its only thanks to you... All these young people are great! Soo wonderful.

As you know, the Fair Future Foundation open a Medical, Surgical & small Emergency Clinic, for local people, indonesians people, expatriates people living in the cities and villages around Ubud, Bali, Indonesia.

This clinic will employ one or several Indonesian doctors and few nurses and a pharmacist. We also accept volunteer doctors and nurses for a fixed period, desiring to give some of their time to learn and teach medical knowledge and nursing. Also, the clinic will take student nurses from Switzerland.

This clinic is 100% funded by the "Fair Warung Bale", a social workshop / restaurant, who’s take care of young women/man aged 18 to 25 years old, unemployed or having social, physical or economic difficulties.

Be and remain Fair - Saking Napi Clinic is: Including the principle of «Nothing is free, even for the poorest», everyone will have to pay a donation, that can be presented in this form:
-A litte penny or a normal donation for the richest and/or fruits, vegetables, chicken, fish, time for the Foundation, repaint the walls, gardening, cleaning or any other service useful for our Foundation and for the people who’s working here-. Yes, definitely, there is many ways to help the Foundation.

Doctors, nurses and pharmacis are paid by the Fair Warung Balé, so they don’t charge their costs when they are working in the Fair Clinic Saking Napi.

Thus, fruits, vegetables, fish, chicken, rice given to us, will be sold by the Fair Warung Balé and the beneficiaries of the Foundation who work (and who are the owners) here. Thus, it is a product that we can sell and feed the needs of the Foundation, including the Fair Clinic (and other programs).

Thank you very very much for our help and your kindness.

Alex and the Angels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must go, must see, must DO”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Yes another european guy felt in love with Bali
and Yes another european guy opened a restaurant there...

But for once the purpose has nothing to do with profit or out of Europe experience.... it has to do with love, the love for people in this island that did not have the same chances as we had.
So yes Alex has oppened his restaurant but he has also create a foundation to help kids around the island, give them a chance, give them medical help, give them attention, give them a Fair Future.

Going there when you are in Ubud is a must, not only for the food that is amazing (tuna tartar my love) but also for the atmosphere because you will probably end up talking with another table and of course for helping Alex and his foundation.

For once, eat different, think different, travel different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Murielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food for an even better cause”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Due to jet-lag we visited this cafe in the middle of the afternoon when it was completely devoid of customers & languishing in the heat. Despite this, the service & food was faultless. The Fair Warung Bale can do no wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing