We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation
Ranked #22 of 860 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dear friends, dear visitors, dear travelers, The Fair Warung Bale (belongs the State Approved Fair Future Foundation) is the cornerstone of a new economic model Unique Worldwide, which strives in giving back profits and 100% of its benefits to the poorest, to the new Children’s hospital and to people who are truly in need. The Fair Warung Bale is the only “restaurant” worldwide, which supports and funds a Comprehensive & Massive Public Health & Medical Care Program, including Medical Centers & a Large Medical team, consisting of more than fifteen Health Professionals, for over than 30,000 needy people per year. The Foundation, thanks the Fair Warung Bale, care and treat tens of thousands poor, sick, disable, disadvantaged human beings per year; In 2013 – 18’000 | 2014 – 22’000 | 2015 – 29’800; Improve the daily life of the local community in suffering, including medical prevention; Develop major projects related to access to Free Health & Medical care; Build and Operate its own Pediatric Hospital to treat thousands of children annually. These engagement are funded by the Fair Warung Bale, which trains young people aged between 15 and 20 years old and by individual and institutional donations, of which 98% flows are directly used in favor of the people in need. As NGO, we/you don't pay government tax. However, if you wish, you can help what we do by making a small donation in the small "Donation Box", located on the counter. You will receive a certificate of donation that you can use for all purposes. Thank you very much for your great support and your help.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Alex opened the restaurant early to accommodate our day trip to Ubud and welcomed us personally. Our three young boys were quickly at ease with Alex's sense of humour, iced chocolates and Alex's iPad sporting FIFA 2013. For the parents - we had an excellent table - overlooking the street far away from the maddening crowds of Ubud market. Lunch justified all the praise. The red chicken curry, spicy chicken with cashew nuts and the Mahi Mahi special were all top choices. I recommend saving space for desert - the sweet spring rolls with coconut, palm sugar and spices are a must. Spare some time to listen to Alex's story - his support of the local community is worthy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jonners_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,488 - 2,492 of 4,863 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

When we arrived it was very busy. I thought we would have to wait for food but it was extremely quick. I was pleasurably surprised by the large portion and the food was very fresh with wonderful flavours. We had the Maui Maui and the chicken cashew nut.
Eka, who is the head cook also surprised us with a delicious banana pastry style dessert.
The couple sharing our table had lovely looking fresh salads.
Highly recommend and great value and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Imogiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not the most local of places to eat but the food was good and the people friendly. Plus it's for a good cause and the atmosphere is homely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear friends, Dear visitors, Dear angels (the others angels ;-))

Don't be all the time like this... We stat to fall in love with you, all these people who come to us.

Because without you we do not exist!
Without you, our foundation can not exist!
Without you, we all go home ...

Thank you for falling in love with this the Fair Warung Balé, thank's to support the Fair Future Foundation here in Indonesia and in Switzerland.

Alex and the Angels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dair Warung Bale is definitely a restaurant worth visiting during your stay in Ubud. Super friendly and cosy atmosphere combined with delicious food and positively personal service. All the staff extremely welcoming and treated our company as if we old friends. We were so happy with the experience that we returned back to enjoy the atmosphere once more only a couple of days after the first visit. As a surprise we also got to know that this restaurant is not just a restaurant but a part of a local association doing good for the community. Simply beautiful!

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Friends, dear friends,

An huge thank you for coming sooooo many times in our Fair Warung Balé in Ubud, with your friends, with your heart as well.

heart is more important here than everywhere... I think you have felt, I think you understood why we are here, what we are doing, or what we try to do too.

Here we are doing good & beautiful things ... Whether it's for your mouth, for your pleasure or your stomach!

They are fifteen girls and young men, all with various problems, who's make working our foundation. And it is thanks to these young people as tomorrow, two doctors will start working in the "Fair Clinic Saking Napi". Yes, this is with what you order here at the Fair Warung Bale, that the Fair Future Foundation can heal people, paying school fee, buy trash bins, pay for surgical operations, medical care, buy medical equipment, provide work for 15 young people... Imagine that! It's crazy right?

I will stop here, i've to go to work again...

Thank you very much dear friend. Take care and see you very soon here.

Alex and the Angels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I don't normally review venues that are close to the top of the ratings......but this warung delivered on so many levels that i felt compelled......but what to say that hasnt been said many times over?

Our family had just one night in ubud recently and were looking for something new and fresh. A quick look at tripadvisor, the venue was selected and the booking was made (essential if you want a table).
Everyone in the family loved the food which is not easy......Alex was very engaging and the night a great experience.
I don't want to say anymore than this......you won't be disappointed.

Do it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Fat_gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear friends, des visitors,

Families are beautiful, especially when they are like yours...

What ca i say? Just come again and enjoy! Come again and cook with us! Come again with the kids and do what you want here... The Fair Warung Balé is our house, the place where we are living, the girls, the workers, us, me... Coming here is coming to our house, in our kitchen in our living room, in the office of the Foundation and very soon in the clinic of the foundation. Wow...

Come here, it is so simple... Climb the few steps!!! Come in and sit down here or in the garden... Then, open your eyes wide, watching the angels fly and listen them laughter and sing!

And between this, if you have time... Order the Mango Tuna Tartare or the Thaï Fish Basil (with Mahi-mahi), it's my favorite meal here.

Alex and the Angels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation also viewed

 

Been to The Fair Warung Bale by the Fair Future Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing