We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no cafe in the same league as Warung Bale.”

Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation
Ranked #10 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dear friends, dear visitors, dear travelers, The Fair Warung Bale (belongs the State Approved Fair Future Foundation) is the cornerstone of a new economic model Unique Worldwide, which strives in giving back profits and 100% of its benefits to the poorest, to the new Children’s hospital and to people who are truly in need. The Fair Warung Bale is the only “restaurant” worldwide, which supports and funds a Comprehensive & Massive Public Health & Medical Care Program, including Medical Centers & a Large Medical team, consisting of more than fifteen Health Professionals, for over than 30,000 needy people per year. The Foundation, thanks the Fair Warung Bale, care and treat tens of thousands poor, sick, disable, disadvantaged human beings per year; In 2013 – 18’000 | 2014 – 22’000 | 2015 – 29’800; Improve the daily life of the local community in suffering, including medical prevention; Develop major projects related to access to Free Health & Medical care; Build and Operate its own Pediatric Hospital to treat thousands of children annually. These engagement are funded by the Fair Warung Bale, which trains young people aged between 15 and 20 years old and by individual and institutional donations, of which 98% flows are directly used in favor of the people in need. As NGO, we/you don't pay government tax. However, if you wish, you can help what we do by making a small donation in the small "Donation Box", located on the counter. You will receive a certificate of donation that you can use for all purposes. Thank you very much for your great support and your help.
Broome, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is no cafe in the same league as Warung Bale.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere, the purpose and the results this cafe generates are a real marvel. The term 'dining experience' is hackneyed and commercialised. But at Warung Bale it has meaning - real meaning. If you are lucky enough to have Alex sit at your table just for a few minutes, your life will be richer for the experience. Bravo Warung Bale. And thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear friends, dear family, dear travelers, dear visitors, dear all...

Thanks for coming to the Fair Future Foundation yesterday... Unique moment, just before our big meeting about the Fair Clinic, with all new medical staff (Such a great time by the way - Clinic will now open very soon)

...Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing. To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable...

Your visit was a unique moment in all our lives here, it is also a certainty.
... Just a small white stone on the wall, but your's is unique...

God bless you and we really hope to see you again in our Foundation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,467
    740
    130
    51
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours - Amazing place”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Fair Warung Bale today for lunch - it was a small cozy little eatery hidden away from the street up some stairs. While the menu is limited for choice it makes up for in fresh flavours and value for money. We ordered the Thai Basil Chicken, Mie Goreng & Green vegetables. Everything we had was hot, fresh & delicious. They are closed between 2 - 4pm so make sure u arrive before this for lunch and make a reservation for dinner to avoid missing out on a seat. I would definitely recommend a visit here for a feed and a chat. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiaistravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear friends,

There is only one success, just to be able to spend your life in your own way...

PS: Yesterday afternoon, we were closed between 02:00 and 04:00 pm, only because we had a meeting about the Fair Clinic with all beneficiaries, doctors, nurses, Indonesian officials and staff of the Foundation. We are open daily from 09:00 am to 23:00 pm.

And do you know what? i think that it's so amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit... Do thing's with your heart.

Like a small white stone on the wall...

Alex and all staff, beneficiaries, medical staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eye opener, Restaurants like this are so much needed in Bali”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The atmosphere is fantastic, this is a small most authentic place accessible to Western tourists in Ubud. The food prices ranging from 2 to 4 dollars per dish, where other restaurants charge 16-20 and above.
As some other travelers here, at first we were puzzled as to how this could be #1 restaurant in Ubud as we expected to find some other posh place charging 100USD++ per head, but figured out very quickly after opening the menu and reading about the cause that this was for the good cause/charity that it does. Places like this are so much needed in Bali. People here who are disappointed with food are probably caught in their expectations, but once you realize it is not a Mosaic, the food is truly excellent - delicious, home made, fast, 100% natural with love - what's more do we need for a meal? We had Thai basil chicken, tiger prawns, and bali coffee and enjoyed all to the last spoon and sip. My Thai meal reminded me of a small Thai family owned restaurant in Stavanger, Norway - so theThai by the Balinese was as authentic as that :-) The menu has a selection of ]Western and Asian dishes and is indeed substantial for a small place like this.
We loved the dim red lights cosy house atmosphere with only 4-5 tables and a tiny open kitchen right in front of the tables. People are very friendly and Alexander is a fantastic host going out of his way to make the guests comfortable. There is also a small "library" - a shelf with a few books, mostly in French (oh yes, you can practice your French at the Warung), some in English, the books are pleasantly more than a bunch of Lonely Planets on Bali, thank you!
I think the fact that the place is rated #1 in Ubud is a collective voice of tourists with their hearts and money to support more causes like this in Bali. Visit for Fair Bale made me realize on average in Bali we pay for one dinner as much as people make in a month (yes, it is 600K IDR), yet their hospitality, friendliness, genuine courtesy are unmatched with anything else in the world. Here is the website with more info on the cause and support needed, you can also find pics of the dishes: http://fairfutur.fairfuturefoundation.org/actions/fair-warung-bale/
Thank you guys, the visit to Fair Warung was eye opening as a fantastic example of a small private charity initiative and a reminder of the deep social problems Bali is going through

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helium12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear visitors from Norway, dear visitors, dear friends,
Dear travelers, dear all,

Wow... Life ca be so simple and so beautiful sometimes... Just look around where you are and smile to the people, to the kids! It will make us so happy!

We are trying to do complicated things, help those who need it most is not always easy. You get discouraged, then everything is better! As the life of every day.

We really need everyone's... It is essential for our organization, for the youth, for the clinic and the services we offer. Thanks also to have understood what we were doing and you're arrested to the essential, not the superfluous.

What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters to what lies within us.

Thank's soooo much dear friends from Norway!!! We love you.

Thank you for participating in our current and future projects, we're very grateful, and...

Makes the light of the world illuminates your life.

... Like a small white stone sticked on the wall...

All the team of our foundation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Food is good... We tend to favour the places around town that focus on creative organic wholefood like Kafe, Bali Buddha, Soma etc... Red rice on the menu is our baseline and these guys havent made that leap yet... I hope they do...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear friends, dear family, dear visitors, dear all...

Thanks for coming in the Fair Future Foundation in Ubud/Bali. We try to be as effective as possible in a country where everything is very complicated as we want to do good things for people or disadvantaged communities.

Just this... Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did, so throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream

Fair Clinic will open soon, and it's only because people like you are coming to our Foundation to share, eat, drink, talk... You're magic, we all are magic!

With love...

Alex and all beneficiaries, staff, angels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“The most awesome warung in Bali”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Definitely a place to put on your list for Bali (not just Ubud)! The food is pretty good and the service is great as well! Moreover the staff remembers you if you come back and really helps you discover the real Bali by giving you suggestions. And that's saying nothing of the atmosphere which is great, open air and in a little street off the main street which is quiet but lively at the same time and very accessible.

But the real kicker is that this is no ordinary eatery; rather it's a workshop-restaurant, run by an NPO called the Fair Future Foundation. They take people in who are at difficult positions in their life and give them a way to build themselves up, earn money, and learn new skills by participating in the workshop-restaurant. As a result, the entire menu has been come up solely by the staff and them experimenting with different guests' requests over time to perfect it to become what it is today. Moreover, all the profit earned goes back to helping kids and the foundation supporting other goals like placing garbage cans all over Bali to contribute to a cleaner Bali. What could be better? They are even so popular that they teach cooking classes!

And it all ends with a small white stone on the wall where you can join the community, show your appreciation, and encourage even more awesome work! Keep up the good work Alex, Eka & team - we're cheering you on with the new clinic project! :)

This is definitely a place you must check out, enjoy good food at, and just take in the atmosphere and great conversation with the staff when you are in Bali!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tushark88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre W, Propriétaire at Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear friends, dear visitors, dear Japan;-)

A huge thank you for coming to meet us at the Foundation. All young people will join me to send you a few words of pure gratitude for your interest...

... Love is everywhere, especially upstairs, where are all the flowers... An magical and inspirational place. Full of love...

There is only one success–to be able to spend your life in your own way

Take care of you and thanks soooooo much for supporting our Foundation.

Alex and all beneficiaries, staff, medical staff, angels, cats and dogs...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Fair Warung Bale - Fair Future Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing