We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Breeze”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Breeze Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bali Breeze”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at the Bambu House with Ketut, Ni Nyoman and I Nyoman making us feel welcome, comfortable and informed about Ubud. Nothing is too much trouble for Ketut. He shares his knowledge and recommendations but also leaves you "to do your own thing". In addition to advice on local attractions and trips further afield by bike and car, Ketut helped arrange gamelan lessons for our musicians and found, and packed, a gamelan for us to bring home. Great to stay in locally owned accommodation which has been managed by Ketut, and his wonderful team since 1979! Would definitely return to Bali Breeze!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
53
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 6 days in the Main house, a 2 bedrooms villa, kitchen and large bathroom. a nice garden with a private swimming pool and a cute terrace for tea time, reading, relaxing, breakfast...
A charming house with an old style balineese decoration.

The corner is very quite, and not far from the main activities in Ubud, it's just 15 minutes walk from the monkey forest. Good restaurants arround, laundry and many supemarkets.

But above all, the value of the breeze Bungalows is the staff. All the people were very friendly and helpful, Iwayan, Gunter, nyoman and the big boss Ketut provide us good recommandations for dining, shopping, visiting museums... we descovered corners that you don't have in any tourist guide with very good prices.. Ketut will care about your poket more than you do, he drove us to the main corners in Ubud area, pick up and drop for free , discussing with this Ubud legend is absolutly one of the best souvenirs of our stay in Bali !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Friend at Bali Breeze Bungalows, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your helpful review. As volunteers in marketing Ketut's business I appreciate Ketut's value as the obliging and charming host that he is and it is often hard to put this into words. Regards Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booking the Bambu villa through Lisa was indeed a Breeze, very responsive to emails and happy to answer all questions. I can only speak on Bambu Villa, although we did get to have look through the Green house and it was lovely and I think I would book that next time. Bambu Villa has the breakfast kitchen attached which means you have people coming and going from about 7.30am onwards. There are the gentlemen that “sweep” the grass. Then the occasional visitor through the day to get something from the collection of cleaning implements etc that are hidden behind the wall. Then there is the occasional long term resident that comes to use the “private” pool. One lady asked and that was just fine, but to walk out of your room all ready to jump in to your private pool to find someone in it is a bit disconcerting.

The gardens are stunning and provided hours of gorgeous background to our relaxing.

Ketut is the perfect host and happily organised all sorts of things for us. Dinner one night was on him, delivered to our villa for us to enjoy in the gorgeous setting. Organising a cooking class for us which we paid for on the day, and taking us to his special spot for suckling pig one night. Even taking us for a day tour for the day when we mentioned we had not seen much of the scenery. Not too sure how much this costs as when we asked Ketut how much we owed him at the end of our stay he just asked for an extra $100, which was more than reasonable for what we got.

We had our laundry done out the front and everything was excellent. I did a silly thing though and left my bra in the laundry bag (wouldn’t normally do this) had my concerns confirmed, missing one clip and the other two unusable. Glad it was an old one.

So, if you are after a private Villa with a private pool, this may not be for you. Maybe ask about the other villas though they might not be so busy.

Would we go back? Yes the hospitality, location, grounds and value will have us looking here first on our return trip to Ubud.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_lin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Friend at Bali Breeze Bungalows, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Sorry about the delayed reply.(been in Sweden with the Grandies) Ketut would like to thank you for your detailed assessment .I had a long and considered conversation with him in late May early June during a lengthy stay in the Bambu House.

Ketut had already commenced the construction of a new kitchen. It is away from all cottages and will be completed in a couple of months. Whilst some guests will be pleased, for me the banter and Indonesian new words and leaning over the counter talking with Ni Nyoman was my great start to the day. Ketut was happy to move the breakfast preparation to another area and it is happening .

With Ketut it was determined that he would build a new wall so access to the pool was blocked and now can only be accessed from the traditional entry which has large wooden doors. If guests shut these the privacy is assured. This has now been completed.

As Jo-lin has stated the Bambu House has quite a garden area and the birds,butterflies,squirrels etc abound. The Bambu House has its own presence in Balinese culture and has daily rituals that must happen.

The poolfountain statue is decorated with flowers daily, offerings are made at least once a day and the gardens need to be swept twice a day for the Balinese sense of cleanliness and care.

The large pool is serviced daily etc etc. Nyoman the Bambu House keeper sees his responsibility to the house and the guests and he appears with fresh flowers,fruit ,shopping for guests,laundry, renewing mosquito coils, shutting windows and cleaning etc at will and this is his life's work. I have asked Nyoman to be as discreet as possible. Agus tends to these tasks when Nyoman returns to his village or needs help.

Ketut would like to thank you for your kind words with regard to his attempts to give everyone a true Balinese experience. An e-mail was received yesterday from guests who attended the ceremony from Ketuts Granddaughters first lock of hair cut. It is quite a ceremony involving the priest,blessings and food.They felt very privileged.

Please rest assured that Ketut has listened and implemented change for the comfort of his treasured guests.
Regards
Grahaem Donovan, friend and hospitality mentor to Bali Breeze ( I have no financial interest or gain for this help )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time at Bali Breeze. Stayed in Bambu Villa.
What you don't get: modern, upmarket luxury.
What you do get: traditional old style Bali, absolutely charming and rustic. Very quiet and peaceful
the villa is spacious with lovely outdoor dining/lounging area, overlooking the large outdoor pool, for your use only. Surrounded by tranquil lush gardens.
The large downstairs bedroom adjoins the kitchen and has a bathroom off the bedroom. The upstairs has 2 bedrooms, the stairs are a bit steep if you have knee probs, but as it was just 2 of us we preferred downstairs. Also downstairs has aircon.
Everything you need is provided, plenty of towels, books and magazines. Full kitchen lots of drinking water coffee tea etc. WiFi, TV. Music system it's all there.
Ketut an absolute darling, nothing is too much trouble. Ni Nyoming such a sweetie makes a mean brekkie. Staff very obliging without being intrusive.
My only comment for improvement would be to screen off the pool a little more for absolute privacy, I do like to swim topless.

Room Tip: Very happy with Bumbu. Didn't get to see the other villas so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my family stayed at the breeze house, along with the cottage located right next to it. I think Bali breeze is the prefect place to stay in Ubud if you are a big group, want to experience staying around nature, and don't want to burn a big hole into your pocket. A private swimming pool adjoining most of the houses gives you the privacy to relax and lounge in the pool as much as you want. The staff are very friendly and Ketut plays the prefect host, is full of stories, very gracious and always willing to pick/drop you anywhere within town. Although the breakfast is nothing to rave about, but overall, we'd a wonderful stay at Bali breeze.

Room Tip: The bamboo house is probably the most favoured one; so if available, go for that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mapfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from our 6 night stay at Bali Breeze and would highly recommend this property. We stayed in the Bambu House which had a huge private pool. The staff could not do enough for us; including running out to get lunch so we didn't need to leave the pool to purchasing the bubble wrap to pack our newly purchased paintings.

Ketut organised several day trips. The walk through the rice terraces was a highlight!

Staying with Ketut and his team is like staying with family and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metchosin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
979 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Breeze Villa for 3 nights Jan 5-8, 2013 and paid $85USD/night inclusive. We really liked the location away from busiest tourist area of Ubud but still lots of restaurants and shops in easy and moderate walking distance. There is no lobby or reception area just a small hut where Ketut, the attendant or the security man sits; there is room for a few cars to park. We received a very nice greeting and were escorted in great number to Breeze Villa with umbrellas & luggage help. It’s the furthest villa – a beautiful walk through a deep, well landscaped property - other villas along the way appear to be quite private. Beautiful large pool along the way signed “Not to be used” all 3 days we were there - still not sure if it was a private pool for a specific villa. Breeze Villa has private plunge pool and patio = excellent. View to rice fields and trees = excellent. Privacy = very good; a nosy Nellie walking along the exterior path of the adjoining private property could look in but would have to be purposeful. Breeze Villa is large - downstairs has king bed (2 singles that separate), very small armoire/bookcase, low table for luggage, small desk with mirror & chair, 2 end tables, good lighting but the 4 naked bulbs on ceiling really need covering. Bed has nice linen, 2 sheets and very thin cover with 3 good pillows. 5 large towels, 3 facecloths, 2 bars soap supplied. Patio has heavy wood dining table, 4 chairs & large, gorgeous couch with nice pillows - very comfortable. Private pool area has 2 loungers and umbrella. Interior walls are plastered and have wood doors, wood framed windows, few pieces of nice art and good window coverings. Air-con and floor fan work well. Bathroom is large & beautiful with one wall open to private garden and sky. Good water pressure but we had no hot water the first night - that was remedied immediately the next morning by staff as soon as reported. As this villa is so far from front area where the attendant sits we didn't want to walk back there in the monsoon rain to complain and there are no phones in the room. There is also a small kitchen with fridge and drinking water - bottled and water cooler- and ice; and a stove to boil water for tea when the carafe water gets too cool. The kitchen window is 'open' and not screened so obviously bathroom and kitchen are not air-coned or bug free - not a problem during our stay. Burners with mosquito coils were provided for outdoor patio use, we also put one in the bathroom at night. Only went upstairs (external staircase) to see the view from balcony - spectacular! Lay out is similar to downstairs except no kitchen but there was a small fridge on deck. Upstairs has high ceiling, wood finishing and is better furnished (big wood couch) with a ‘Balinese’ feel (what downstairs lacks) however it had a bit of a musty smell & the much smaller bathroom had a distinct smell which downstairs didn't have. So more charm upstairs, more comfortable practicality downstairs! Breakfast was delivered promptly as requested at 07:30. It was tasty but not a very large portion; you can request from a small menu (e.g.: 2 eggs + toast, chili omelette + toast, fried banana pancake – all come with a small fresh fruit plate). Coffee and tea, and hot water carafe are left on table for anytime use. I think it’s a nephew who runs the laundry service in a separate building out-front; they did a great job with our clothes for a very reasonable price. From Canada I booked this accommodation through booking.com then received follow up information via email from Lisa. I was asked to pay Ketut (owner), the house attendant and the breakfast attendant separately but Ketut wasn't at the property our last evening or the last morning, and the usual breakfast lady was also absent, so as per instruction from the house attendant I paid ALL the money to him and had him initial my printed email. No receipt was issued for any payments. I sincerely hope that everyone got their intended portion of payment. This was an excellent stay overall and I would heartily recommend Breeze Villa at Bali Breeze Bungalows (just know it’s quite a walk in from the front if you are elderly or walking impaired).

Room Tip: Breeze Villa is set in a wonderful private location but if you are elderly or walking impaired it ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#18 of 196 in Ubud
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Bird Villa
Green Bird Villa
#32 of 592 in Ubud
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#3 of 592 in Ubud
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Green Field Hotel and Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Arnawa Bungalow
Arnawa Bungalow
#85 of 571 in Ubud
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Breeze Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Breeze Bungalows

Property: Bali Breeze Bungalows
Address: Jl Raya Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven self contained villas in a quiet compound just a 10 minute walk from the main cbd of Ubud. Each villa has its own private pool and lush garden. There are various different bedding configurations. "Ketut" the owner is a font of local knowledge and is very happy to arrange day tours and shopping trips, recommend tailors, restaurants etc and can deliver you to a restaurant and pickup at designated time. There are also shops and restaurants just metres away for your convenience. These villas are self contained and very private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bali Breeze Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Breeze Bungalows Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing