We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but disappointing”
Review of Luwak Ubud Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luwak Ubud Villas
Ranked #26 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great potential but disappointing”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had great expectations for our 6 night stay, given the reviews and the photos on the website, however it didn't live up to expectations (certainly in terms of value for money)

The views were non-descript, the atmosphere is lacking and the villas are further from Ubud then we expected. Given the big hill up, it isnt very practical to walk there and back but there is a shuttle service available from villa, which is convenient.

The concept of the villa complex is great and suited our family, especially for hanging out in the mornings by the pool. Though while the property is relatively new, it is already showing signs of wear and tear and the kitchens werent really equipped for home cooking/self catering. The restaurant was the most disappointing, especially for breakfast (food was cold, tea cold, food coming at different times etc),

The staff were very nice and engaging and were keen to address the concerns we raised, so hopefully it will get turned around

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalcitzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    51
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just stayed at the Luwak Ubud Villas for 3 nights with my wife. Kudos to the manager Dwi, guest relations officer Adi and the rest of the team for the great service (Sorry I cant remember or spell all your names). There's always a welcoming smile and service excellence all times of the day. We appreciate the staff always asking how we are and trying to interact with us in conversation. The villas are great! Design is contemporary and yet comfortable. Close to nature with all the modern amenities. Each room is self sufficient but if you can afford the whole villla, it'll be great family fun. If you need a quite retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is it! Free shuttle service to and from Ubud Centre at anytime is a big plus point. Thank you for making our stay in Ubud a memorable one.

Room Tip: 2 or 3 rooms per villa of slightly varying sizes. Every room is equally great, just a matter of whet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n810el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatenberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are just back After a Great 5 Night stay at Luwak . We were Lucky enough to have a 2 Bedroom Pool Villa to ourselves (meaning we didn't have to share our pool & living room with other guests which would have changed the whole dynamics of our stay - for the worse)
The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, AC works well, plenty of storage space , the bathrooms are really gorgeous ! Our bathtub was in a fish pond .
The location is out of Ubud which for us was no problem at all, infact we preferred it this way - the road the villas are located on is really nice .. With a local feel to it.
The hotel shuttle service was really excellent as were all the staff ! Their attitude always so positive & nothing seemed to much trouble. We could always ring for them to pick us up in Ubud after Dinner or Shopping.
Breakfast was delivered to us each morning , the food was good - the coffee(cappuccinos) never seemed to be hot which is something they need to work on . We had one small meal in the Restaurant , Soup & Nasi Goreng which was good and fairly priced.
We had a massage in the Villa arranged by the Hotel - this was good, & provided by an outside company.
Unlike in Seminyak the Mosquitoes were not a problem here , the villas are surrounded in lush vegetation so the noises from the nature at night are amazing.

In a nutshell, great Villas beautifully designed -the 2 or 3 Bedroom clusters make them perfect for Groups of friends or Families., but if you are a couple seeking privacy make sure this is mentioned & discussed when booking , then they can ensure when possible you are not sharing a pool with other guests.

Thanks to everyone at Luwak villas for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoops01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel:
The complex consists out of a common area (restaurant, reception area, swimming pool, etc) and around 5 walled areas in which the rooms are situated. Each walled area has two or three bedrooms (these are not connected: not even sharing walls), one living room and a private pool. The area can be rented complete (convenient if you are with a party of 4 or 6 persons) or you can rent a bedroom in one of the areas (which means you might have to share the living room and swimmingpool). The complex is opened in March 2012.

Location:
The hotel is situated just north of Ubud center (about 1 km) and the reachability will be even better when the new bridge across the ravine is finished. The hotel offers transfers to-and-from the center (free of charge), just call reception about 15 min prior departure (both from your room or on your cell when you are in the center). Most rooms and all pools are situated close to the ravine, which makes your view astonishing. The area has a rich bird life (nice to sit in your pool and see various birds coming by), but other fauna is there as well (indeed, also quite some ants).

Rooms:
The bedroom is equiped with a 2-person bed, and the bathroom is outdoor, but roofed, and equiped with a bathtub, a rain shower, a toilet and a sink. The rooms are clean, the aircon is working properly and the bed is comfortable. The livingroom has cooking facilities, a large refrigarator, lounge couch, dinner table, etc. Well equiped indeed.
The area of the rooms has ponds as well, containing fish.
The swimming pool with a depth ranging from 90cm to 150cm.
Beware that the path from the living room to the rooms/swimming pool is stone-grass-stone-grass-stone. Less convenient for people which have difficulties walking.

Service:
People are friendly and can speak reasonably English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in September with our 3 children for 3 nights. We stayed in I think villa 5, the one called 'Kindness' which was the only two bedroom villa.

The moment we walked in and saw it we were very excited and happy with our choice.

The villa was very clean and the beds are comfy, that taken care of, the rest was a real treat.

We had all our meals delivered to the room dining area and the food was very nice. I do feel they need to work on their breakfast and coffee though.

We only ate lunch there on a few occasions and they were fabulous meals.

The staff were wonderful and accommodating. They drove us into town, picked us up after dinner, organised Kecak dance tickets, in room massages, scooter hire and recommended some great restaurants, always within minutes and with a huge smile.

Being a little further from the town was perfect as there was a lot less traffic and people noise, so sleeping was great. The business of the road being closed didn't bother us at all. In fact the traffic noise was probably helped by the fact that it was closed!

We went to have a look at the 3 bedroom villa and saw the amazing fishpond bathroom!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place at all.

Thanks Villa Luwak staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JillandPat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family recently overtook luwak ubud villas (at one point there were 26 of us staying in all 5 of their villas) and the staff there couldn't be more accommodating. The hotel offers personal butler service for each villa and there was always a car ready to take us into town or pick us up from anywhere around ubud. Our group was often splitting up to do various activities, and the guys at luwak ubud made sure that we all were able to get to where we needed to be. The staff there was incredibly friendly and helpful. When we asked if we could store our luggage there while we were in borobudur and have someone meet us at the airport at a later date with our things, they didn't hesitate to make this happen.

As for the villas, they are new and very well appointed - the perfect mix of modern style and and local character. The location is in the hills above downtown ubud where it's much more quiet. Due to some road construction, it currently takes 20 minutes or more to get downtown by car, which isn't too much of a problem since they have a shuttle service. We also walked few times and that took only about 25 minutes on the shorter route.

This was by far the best place we stayed in Indonesia. Only wish we could have stayed and enjoyed the villas longer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkle0o18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this villa, wished we could have stayed longer! It was a bit challenging for our driver to locate the property due to road works but it wasn't much of an issue - we loved the location being slightly out of Ubud town. Our villa had a huge common living area with a well-equipped kitchen, nice garden and chilling out at the pool looking out was a really nice view. Staff was polite and friendly, There were no hassle arranging for the shuttle to bring you back and forth Ubud town.
Only thing they can improve on would be better pest control? We had a mini infestation of files and ants (dead and alive) in the bathroom sink and around our bed.

Last tip: Have a nice peaceful stroll outside the hotel and watch the sunrise - it's beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
1.4 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 542 in Ubud
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#34 of 542 in Ubud
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
2.7 mi away
Dedari Kriyamaha Villa Ubud
0.3 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#24 of 198 in Ubud
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwak Ubud Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwak Ubud Villas

Property: Luwak Ubud Villas
Address: Jl Sri Wedari 9, Tegal Lantang-Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luwak Ubud Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique resort Luwak Ubud Villas in Bali is located at one of the prime spots on the island. Five spacious luxury pool villas of 1 - 3 bedrooms are elegantly arranged on a cliff top overlooking a tropical ravine, just 1 kilometre from the heart of Ubud. Famed for its arts and culture, Ubud has established itself as one of the most desirable destinations on the world's most beautiful island. Featuring a singular concept restaurant, Cafe Luwak, top of the line amenities and the understated, highly personalized service that signals genuine luxury, Luwak Ubud Villas is more than just an exclusive resort - it is a unique experience. Luwak Ubud Villas offers a select portfolio of activities and entertainment both in resort, around Ubud and throughout Bali. Luwak Ubud defines the contemporary luxury Ubud lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luwak Ubud Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luwak Ubud Villas Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing