We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile - Gorgeous Villa Design”
Review of Luwak Ubud Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luwak Ubud Villas
Ranked #26 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are just back After a Great 5 Night stay at Luwak . We were Lucky enough to have a 2 Bedroom Pool Villa to ourselves (meaning we didn't have to share our pool & living room with other guests which would have changed the whole dynamics of our stay - for the worse)
The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, AC works well, plenty of storage space , the bathrooms are really gorgeous ! Our bathtub was in a fish pond .
The location is out of Ubud which for us was no problem at all, infact we preferred it this way - the road the villas are located on is really nice .. With a local feel to it.
The hotel shuttle service was really excellent as were all the staff ! Their attitude always so positive & nothing seemed to much trouble. We could always ring for them to pick us up in Ubud after Dinner or Shopping.
Breakfast was delivered to us each morning , the food was good - the coffee(cappuccinos) never seemed to be hot which is something they need to work on . We had one small meal in the Restaurant , Soup & Nasi Goreng which was good and fairly priced.
We had a massage in the Villa arranged by the Hotel - this was good, & provided by an outside company.
Unlike in Seminyak the Mosquitoes were not a problem here , the villas are surrounded in lush vegetation so the noises from the nature at night are amazing.

In a nutshell, great Villas beautifully designed -the 2 or 3 Bedroom clusters make them perfect for Groups of friends or Families., but if you are a couple seeking privacy make sure this is mentioned & discussed when booking , then they can ensure when possible you are not sharing a pool with other guests.

Thanks to everyone at Luwak villas for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoops01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 280 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel:
The complex consists out of a common area (restaurant, reception area, swimming pool, etc) and around 5 walled areas in which the rooms are situated. Each walled area has two or three bedrooms (these are not connected: not even sharing walls), one living room and a private pool. The area can be rented complete (convenient if you are with a party of 4 or 6 persons) or you can rent a bedroom in one of the areas (which means you might have to share the living room and swimmingpool). The complex is opened in March 2012.

Location:
The hotel is situated just north of Ubud center (about 1 km) and the reachability will be even better when the new bridge across the ravine is finished. The hotel offers transfers to-and-from the center (free of charge), just call reception about 15 min prior departure (both from your room or on your cell when you are in the center). Most rooms and all pools are situated close to the ravine, which makes your view astonishing. The area has a rich bird life (nice to sit in your pool and see various birds coming by), but other fauna is there as well (indeed, also quite some ants).

Rooms:
The bedroom is equiped with a 2-person bed, and the bathroom is outdoor, but roofed, and equiped with a bathtub, a rain shower, a toilet and a sink. The rooms are clean, the aircon is working properly and the bed is comfortable. The livingroom has cooking facilities, a large refrigarator, lounge couch, dinner table, etc. Well equiped indeed.
The area of the rooms has ponds as well, containing fish.
The swimming pool with a depth ranging from 90cm to 150cm.
Beware that the path from the living room to the rooms/swimming pool is stone-grass-stone-grass-stone. Less convenient for people which have difficulties walking.

Service:
People are friendly and can speak reasonably English.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in September with our 3 children for 3 nights. We stayed in I think villa 5, the one called 'Kindness' which was the only two bedroom villa.

The moment we walked in and saw it we were very excited and happy with our choice.

The villa was very clean and the beds are comfy, that taken care of, the rest was a real treat.

We had all our meals delivered to the room dining area and the food was very nice. I do feel they need to work on their breakfast and coffee though.

We only ate lunch there on a few occasions and they were fabulous meals.

The staff were wonderful and accommodating. They drove us into town, picked us up after dinner, organised Kecak dance tickets, in room massages, scooter hire and recommended some great restaurants, always within minutes and with a huge smile.

Being a little further from the town was perfect as there was a lot less traffic and people noise, so sleeping was great. The business of the road being closed didn't bother us at all. In fact the traffic noise was probably helped by the fact that it was closed!

We went to have a look at the 3 bedroom villa and saw the amazing fishpond bathroom!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place at all.

Thanks Villa Luwak staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JillandPat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family recently overtook luwak ubud villas (at one point there were 26 of us staying in all 5 of their villas) and the staff there couldn't be more accommodating. The hotel offers personal butler service for each villa and there was always a car ready to take us into town or pick us up from anywhere around ubud. Our group was often splitting up to do various activities, and the guys at luwak ubud made sure that we all were able to get to where we needed to be. The staff there was incredibly friendly and helpful. When we asked if we could store our luggage there while we were in borobudur and have someone meet us at the airport at a later date with our things, they didn't hesitate to make this happen.

As for the villas, they are new and very well appointed - the perfect mix of modern style and and local character. The location is in the hills above downtown ubud where it's much more quiet. Due to some road construction, it currently takes 20 minutes or more to get downtown by car, which isn't too much of a problem since they have a shuttle service. We also walked few times and that took only about 25 minutes on the shorter route.

This was by far the best place we stayed in Indonesia. Only wish we could have stayed and enjoyed the villas longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkle0o18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this villa, wished we could have stayed longer! It was a bit challenging for our driver to locate the property due to road works but it wasn't much of an issue - we loved the location being slightly out of Ubud town. Our villa had a huge common living area with a well-equipped kitchen, nice garden and chilling out at the pool looking out was a really nice view. Staff was polite and friendly, There were no hassle arranging for the shuttle to bring you back and forth Ubud town.
Only thing they can improve on would be better pest control? We had a mini infestation of files and ants (dead and alive) in the bathroom sink and around our bed.

Last tip: Have a nice peaceful stroll outside the hotel and watch the sunrise - it's beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Luwak for four nights and really loved the place. The concept of villas, with a common kitchen and living room, and then three rooms/bungalows arranged around it with a nice garden and pool, works very well. You have plenty of privacy (toilets/bathroom are private for each room), and the garden area is very relaxing. And we slept very well.

Without being incredible, the hotel's restaurant works well. We are very thankfull to the staff who, despite our late night arrival, stayed to cook for us. More generally the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They drove us several times to Ubud (free of charge), they arranged several massages upon our return of daily trips, they found us a guide/driver for a day exploring Ubud's surroundings, and advised us to the best danse show during our stay (Kecak fire and trance dance, at the Batukaru temple: really special and spectacular).

The only downpoint during our stay, was that the direct road to Ubud was closed to cars due to the building of a new bridge, meaning that it took the driver 15minutes to get us to/from Ubud. But if you rent a motorbike or bicycle, you can still use that road and get to the center in a few minutes.

We would return to the Luwak, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If/when you order a massage, ask them to put the bed outdoors, as the light breeze and chant of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank svenjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed feb 2012 and must say this place is awesome. We booked a junior suite and was upgraded to a superior suite.. We booked for 4 nights and could have stayed all 10 that we were in Bali.
Staff we polite , friendly and very helpful, to free trips to ubud during day.
meals were excellent , rooms the same.
We will be back but next time for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CazandDaveFNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
2.7 mi away
Dedary Kriyamaha Ubud
Dedary Kriyamaha Ubud
#15 of 598 in Ubud
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Santun
Villa Santun
#29 of 598 in Ubud
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ubud Green
Ubud Green
#47 of 598 in Ubud
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kamuela
Royal Kamuela
#8 of 598 in Ubud
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwak Ubud Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwak Ubud Villas

Address: Jl Sri Wedari 9, Tegal Lantang-Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $166 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luwak Ubud Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique resort Luwak Ubud Villas in Bali is located at one of the prime spots on the island. Five spacious luxury pool villas of 1 - 3 bedrooms are elegantly arranged on a cliff top overlooking a tropical ravine, just 1 kilometre from the heart of Ubud. Famed for its arts and culture, Ubud has established itself as one of the most desirable destinations on the world's most beautiful island. Featuring a singular concept restaurant, Cafe Luwak, top of the line amenities and the understated, highly personalized service that signals genuine luxury, Luwak Ubud Villas is more than just an exclusive resort - it is a unique experience. Luwak Ubud Villas offers a select portfolio of activities and entertainment both in resort, around Ubud and throughout Bali. Luwak Ubud defines the contemporary luxury Ubud lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luwak Ubud Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luwak Ubud Villas Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing