We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kupu Kupu Bungalows
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ubud
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
63
21
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
21
4
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 89 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Kupu Kupu is nice and simple, don't expect luxury. Good value for money, (yummy) breakfast included, beautiful surroundings, 15 minutes walk through the rice fields to Ubud's main road, the staff is very friendly and Begonia is the most helpful person ever. She can recommend you interesting day trips and will arrange for you the details.
We stayed in the traditional bungalow for 4 nights. The ensuite bathroom was a bit unkempt but besides that, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay very much. What is more important: your money supports Kupu Kupu's work with Balinese disabled people.
Tip: Bring a flashlight for the night walk between the bungalows and the main road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melonazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Kupu Kupu bungalows, so much so i ended up staying much longer than expected. The bungalows are private, simple and in lovely relaxing surroundings. It was a 10-15minute walk to the centre. There are good walks through the rice fields close by also. Bagonia was very helpful with advise and can book trips and organise boats and buses and a percentage of your stay goes to the charity linked with the bungalows. No hot water but that didnt bother me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherifflinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

my husband and I stayed here for 5 days . it was nice, comfortable and private. it's the perfect place to stay if you want to get closer with nature, the perfum of jasmine all days and the music from frogs at night, in addition, not far at all from the busy center ( 5 minutes by motorbike). everything is simple, cheap and I enjoy my daily. for the girls, no hot water but it's fine if you love nature stay here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank vhoangyen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful surroundings. Loved walking the paths between rice fields. I stayed in one of the bungalows up on stilts and loved reading and having breakfast on the outdoor "living room" below. It is beautiful but simple. If you like all the best amenities, you should look elsewhere, but this is a great place to experience a little of the real Bali.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the room up on stilts.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights, and it was pretty homely except for the stuffiness at night. great for value, and in the middle of rice fields. it is normal to have frienss of the nature with you the whole time, be it their noise making or them physically arnd you. its something good for a getaway from the city. slping with the sound of the frogs singing and crickets mating.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tansytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews