We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else was average”
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #62 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, everything else was average”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'd stayed here before 3 years ago and thought the place was great. Unfortunately this time, I was bitten by something during the night and had a terrible hives reaction-could have happened anywhere though but the staff weren't very helpful when I alerted them, just gave me a can of bug spray. I then alerted another staff member who told me they would change the mattress, they did this but I found something crawling on me the next night so decided to put my mattress on the floor. Thank god no repeat of bites. The whole place is quite rundown now as well. I think the rooms closer to reception are better than the ones down near the river.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future.. And I'm so sorry for this matter and we will improve our service.
And Thank you for your review about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    134
    48
    17
    14
See reviews for
55
135
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We are 3 girlfriends, around the age of 50, who spent a weekend at Nick's Pension celebrating our friendship. Nick's is a clean, simple place to stay with beautiful grounds that are impressively well kept. You are right on the edge of the busy shopping streets, but in a quiet garden world away from the hustle-bustle. We felt safe and cared for at Nick's, as well as the value is terrific. It is a great place to stay and the price is really amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
And Thank you for your review about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

i truly appreciated this location, all the personnel was so kind, the breakfast was nice, my room very spacious, the garden and the swimming pool truly beautiful... everywhere flowers, plants, Ganesh and other statues...
and silence, silence, silence
green in my eyes, nature's sounds in my hears
nothing else but peace

Room Tip: i prefer the upper rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I kinda like it. Although I have to let you know that you don;t have to go through Jalan Bisma proper to get to this property. Just go to the field and head up (towards the Palace) and take the first turning on the left. Be careful, some of the locals might try to trick into getting a motorcycle ride by telling you its far far away but actually its just in the lane. No matter, its a good exercise, and the rates are pretty good for the budget traveler too.

Nicks Pension is peaceful and green and very well located next to great eateries on Jalan Bisma itself. I am probably going to stay here if I ever come to Ubud again. The Pizza restaurant on Bisma is particularly good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only had 2 nights at Nick's Pension and I am sorry that we did not have more time at this hotel. We had a cute little bungalow with patio that overlooked the rice paddies, very quiet and private. The price was excellent for such a clean, bright, breakfast included, hotel. Large bathroom with hot water for the shower, AC, ceiling fan, in-room safe as well as a locked cupboard and crisp white sheets on the bed. Staff were extremely nice, always having a smile and a "hello" when we passed by. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels given.
Nick's Pension was very close to town, yet we felt like we were in the country. Easy 5 minute walk to town, to all of the sights, shopping and of course the many restaurants offered in Ubud. There is also a restaurant at Nick's Pension which always served excellent tasty food when we ordered.
Nice pool, clean with lots of loungers. You can order drinks and food around the pool and service was good. Breakfast selection each morning was good, with fresh fruit, coffee or fruit smoothies, and generous sized main breakfast meals (indonesian and western fare). Service was always fast and friendly.
The grounds are beautiful and if you walk out the backside of the hotel it is like an oasis. The back pathway is also another way of getting into town. I do not think that there is a bad room at Nick's Pension.
A couple of minor issues, but worth noting.....trying to pack lightly I had not brought a blow dryer and unfortunately they did not have any to loan out (such a small item that you would think all hotels would have one on hand, even if they charged a damage deposit in case of
breakage); second issue was one evening we needed a taxi to go and meet friends who were staying out of town and when we asked at the front desk for them to call us a taxi we were told to just go out on the main road and find our own. It certainly wasn't hard to find a taxi in Ubud, just the principle that if we ask for assistance they should be able to help us out. We were expecting that they would have a list of reputable taxi drivers which they would have called for us. As fate has it, we actually found a taxi driver, basically just down the street from Nick's, who turned out to be the best taxi driver we had during our whole vacation. He was a a very good driver, extremely interesting to talk to and also agreed to come back and get us when we were finished our visit with friends (now that was service!). Should you require a taxi driver, or tour guide, who has excellent english language skills, is friendly, and interesting, his name is Kadek Agus and can be reached on his mobile at # 081 139 9363 (e.ubudkadek@yahoo.com).
We would definitely stay at Nick's Pension again should we return to Ubud (which we plan to do one day). I cannot imagine that you would be disappointed should you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Nicks Pension is a really nice place to stay. It is well located with a quick access to the monkey forest and the city centre. But it is still very quiet.
The rooms, facilities and the staff were really nice.
Furthermore they offered me a very reasonable price. Do not book via booking.com or similar sites as you cannot bargain anymore.
They only thing which disturbed my stay were children from the staff members who played at and in the pool every day. They were really loud and threw shoes in the pool and so on. Unfortunately the staff didn't see that a lot of people felt disturbed by this.
All in all it was a pleasant stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brelxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, General Manager at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nicks pension is very well located with easy access to mokey forest road. The room was beautifully cleaned daily. Breakfast was quite good and an ample amount. Staff were always very friendly without being intrusive. Beautiful grounds. We had a fantastic stay. Michael moore

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_Day, Owner at Nick's Pension, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali.

Nick's Pension is owned by a local people and also he's a holly priest.
We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
JUKUNG Hostel
JUKUNG Hostel
#132 of 542 in Ubud
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ode Hostel
Ode Hostel
#125 of 542 in Ubud
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#25 of 555 in Ubud
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#17 of 555 in Ubud
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Property: Nick's Pension
Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing