We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and something different from many others.”
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #78 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooom was very clean and comfy. The location is simply gorgeous! You are living surrounded by rice fields and you can see ducks going around those fields in the morning. The breakfast was okay, but nothing extraordinary. Breakfast tables were placed directly on the ground so there were a lot of ants around. It was quiet in the evening but close to the center of Ubud and other attractions. Each morning we have received a fresh pot of tea on our terrace which is so cool. I almost forgot about the talking bird in the reception which imitates dog, duck, thai talking and brake whistle :) Highly recommended and great value for money!

Room Tip: Probably an upstairs room gives you more privacy as people walking around can't see through wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 369 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ended up at this place whilst looking for another homestay which we couldn't find.
The location, just at the end of an alley near the soccerfield, is really nice.
We had a superior room near the temple at the lower side of the complex (the place is really big).
Room looks nice, and was pretty big and has aircon.
The beds are ok, but ours made a lot of noise when moving.
Bathroom is ok, but needed a little maintenance here and there.
The swimming pool at the other end of the complex is nice to have a refreshing dive after a hot day.
The staff was ok, they are friendly...but didnt put to much effort in to make us comfortable.

we paid 40 eu per night, which is quite much for here, i think for that amount (or less) you can stay at a better place.

its not a bad place, but for this price i expect just that little bit extra, which just isnt there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joostdegroot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is great value for the price. The gardens are lovely the staff were great. They helped me out when I left my ATM card in the machine. It's fabulously central as all the attractions are in walking distance. We stayed in a twin room, the beds were a bit hard, but for the price we couldn't complain. The bathroom was adequate a bit annoying, the floor being wet after a shower, but again it was such a good price we couldn't complain. The breakfast was ok, the staff hadn't quite mastered the soft boiled egg. I would definately recommend this place for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushwalker_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely stay at Nicks Pension, just the right location off the main streets and traffic but easy to get to for great restaurants and shopping. Monkey Forest just a short stroll down the road and rice fields all around. Room was good with everything we needed for the price, will stay there again, loved it.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe rooms have nice location and everything you need and can sleep 3 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Nick's Pension for four days. It was just as beautiful as the website pictures showed, even more so. Our room was lovely and very clean. The lighting was a bit on the dim side but we learned this can be typical for Indonesia. The grounds were meticulously kept and beautifully landscaped. The rice fields were mesmerizing. The restaurant served excellent food, we ate there a couple of times for dinner during our stay, and of course the morning breakfast which is included was excellent as well. The pool was lovely and very welcome on hot afternoons. The staff was very polite and provided everything we needed or asked for. The location is excellent, on a quiet street and near the Bhisma spa which gives excellent massages and treatments. There is also a couple of small warungs on the same street just a few paces from the hotel that serves delicious grilled meat. All in all a lovely place to stay. We would definately stay there again and highly recommend it. Thanks to all at Nick's Pension for a lovely stay. Phil & Julie Marko

Room Tip: Booked the deluxe room and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandJulieMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a standard room in advance for 2 nights. But when we arrived we got an upgrade. We stayed in the deluxe room which was very great! We had a nice view on the rice fields, the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly but not always as helpful (depends on who it was). The location is very good. It's quiet and peaceful but not far away from the main road (Jalan Raya), Monkey Forest and Ubud palace.

We had a great stay here but it was more expensive than we expected. When my friend booked the room she didn't saw that it was rated per person and not per room. So when you're looking for a budget place than you can have cheaper places who are almost as good as this one! (or even better, but often without a pool)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at Nick's Pension for a week mid-September. Pros: I really appreciated the location, which allows you to avoid Jalan Raya (main road, very busy) to reach Monkey Forest road through a little path at the back of the hotel (bring your flashlight though!). Jalan Bisma is a quiet street, but still close enough to the action. Beautiful rice fields. The grounds are really well kept. Huge pool which is also very clean (not always the case in other hotels in Ubud). I enjoyed the pancakes for breakfast, served with palm sugar and grated coconut, which is a nice change from lime and honey. Nice pot of tea delivered to your room in the morning. Hot water and lot of water pressure in the shower. Funny whistling bird at the reception. Rooms were big and clean enough.

Cons: the towels were in deed very smelly, beds were creaky, the water was not draining properly in the bathroom, so wet feet all the time. On the second floor of the bungalows, I could hear everything in the room next to mine, even the snoring, which was not the case when I stayed on the first floor. The staff working on the maintenance of the hotel and at the restaurant were friendly, but the ones working at the reception seem jaded and would rather watch tv than greet their guests. They won't do the extra mile to help you, unless you are very insistent.

I feel that Nick's pension could be an awesome place with a modern touch brought to the rooms (new linens maybe?) and a customer relation crash course for the reception staff. And a new laundry service to get rid of those smelly towels. That being said, I was still satisfied with my stay there for the price I paid (350 rp).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coracao25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#78 of 200 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pondok Kutuh Guest Houses
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Jero di Bisma Hostel
#124 of 622 in Ubud
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gembala Homestay
Gembala Homestay
#156 of 622 in Ubud
11 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lagas Hostel
Lagas Hostel
#129 of 622 in Ubud
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Friendly House Bali
Friendly House Bali
#196 of 622 in Ubud
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $34 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing