We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely correct”
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #78 of 621 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The buildings and surroundings are very nice (common in Ubud). Rice terraces. Beautiful doors. The pool is above the average for Ubud's centre.

The room (inside) is bad, the mattress is awful, the toilet is poor and dirty (susprisingly, as you will see a lot of staff working in the hotel, aparently cleaning...). There's no TV. Staff is absolutely unhelpful. They tried to force us to go in two taxis to the airport, even thought we could fit in one...

Fortunately, there's direct access from Monkey Forest Rd. Bargain a better price than the official (at least 10-20%).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koke000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 during our 2 week honeymoon in Bali. We had a fantastic room overlooking the rice fields. The view could not be beat. The room was very private and quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed the balcony with the view. While the bed/bathroom are simple, all the linens were very fresh and clean and the room was a decent size. The staff were great. The restaurant on site is decent (not incredible, but decent food and good value) and it literally has the cleanest bathroom I saw in all of Bali except for a 5-star resort.

It's a fantastic little place which manages to offer a tranquil setting while being a short walk to the busiest parts of town. I would highly recommend it for anyone who doesn't want to break the bank on their budget.

If you are looking for pampered luxury, this isn't the place for you. Feel free to go spend hundreds of dollars at one of the many luxury resorts in Bali if that's what you're looking for.

Also the A/C was very modern- quiet and efficient. Not what I expected from a place this reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a spectacular balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roisinniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a great hotel. We did not stay here but we ate here once and walked through it daily. The reception is on Bisma Street, then there is the pool and rice paddies, and then there are the rooms in the gully which goes down to the stream. There is a small bridge and then you are in the centre of Ubud - fabulous location. The food was not good - unauthentic would-be Western, but there are alot of restaurants around.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Old musty bedsheet and pillowcase with blood stain all over. Smelly towel, old furniture
and no tv.

I squished alot of bedbugs, get ready to be bitten. I got at least 40 bugbites all over my body. US$40++ are way overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewangsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Liked this place a lot. Has a little pool for us sun worshipers. The main street in Ubud (monkey forest st) was just 5 mins from our bungalow but you get no noise from it at all. Our only gripes were a really creaky bed and no wifi in the room :S Room was spotless though and i liked having a bath for a change :)

Monkey forrest was about 10 min walk and good fun.

Room Tip: Get a room down by the river as the views from the balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Family of 4 stayed in family paviolion - two doube beds in same room. The location of this place is great, Central to restaurants and shops and close to markets. Has an entrance from both monkey forest road and main entranceon Jl Bisma.

Room smelt quite musty and the sheets on one of the beds was very stained. Towels were not changed for whole visit.I have stayed a smiliar (and cheaper) palces in ubud so realise it is a damp location. As mentioned in earlier review WiFi only avaiable by pool and restuarant- despite it claiming it was available in everyroom. Restaurant was quite average, as was the breakfast. Even though it was included we ate our breakfast elsewhere twice (e.g. Honemoon guesthouse down the road) . Safe available from office, not in room. Strange pebbles in bathroom that stick to your feet. Ok for quick visits- we stayed 4 nights-

Room Tip: Go for one of thebetter quality rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Nicks Pension, loved the location so close to Monkey Forest Road and lots of great restaurants, the staff were lovely, the restaurant was cheap and good for snacks especially around the pool. We had the super deluxe room and it was fantastic. Had lovely walks around the rice fields during the day and enjoyed being so close to nature. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Super deluxe and deluxe have own tea & coffee facilities and TV with Dvd player others are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Gayatri
Gayatri
#72 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Jero di Bisma Hostel
#122 of 621 in Ubud
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pondok Kutuh Guest Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gembala Homestay
Gembala Homestay
#156 of 621 in Ubud
11 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lagas Hostel
Lagas Hostel
#128 of 621 in Ubud
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Friendly House Bali
Friendly House Bali
#191 of 621 in Ubud
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 621 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $34 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing