We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, and very close to town - just over a small bridge”
Review of Nick's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nick's Pension
Ranked #64 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tranquil, and very close to town - just over a small bridge”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a great hotel. We did not stay here but we ate here once and walked through it daily. The reception is on Bisma Street, then there is the pool and rice paddies, and then there are the rooms in the gully which goes down to the stream. There is a small bridge and then you are in the centre of Ubud - fabulous location. The food was not good - unauthentic would-be Western, but there are alot of restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    134
    48
    17
    14
See reviews for
55
135
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Old musty bedsheet and pillowcase with blood stain all over. Smelly towel, old furniture
and no tv.

I squished alot of bedbugs, get ready to be bitten. I got at least 40 bugbites all over my body. US$40++ are way overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewangsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Liked this place a lot. Has a little pool for us sun worshipers. The main street in Ubud (monkey forest st) was just 5 mins from our bungalow but you get no noise from it at all. Our only gripes were a really creaky bed and no wifi in the room :S Room was spotless though and i liked having a bath for a change :)

Monkey forrest was about 10 min walk and good fun.

Room Tip: Get a room down by the river as the views from the balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Family of 4 stayed in family paviolion - two doube beds in same room. The location of this place is great, Central to restaurants and shops and close to markets. Has an entrance from both monkey forest road and main entranceon Jl Bisma.

Room smelt quite musty and the sheets on one of the beds was very stained. Towels were not changed for whole visit.I have stayed a smiliar (and cheaper) palces in ubud so realise it is a damp location. As mentioned in earlier review WiFi only avaiable by pool and restuarant- despite it claiming it was available in everyroom. Restaurant was quite average, as was the breakfast. Even though it was included we ate our breakfast elsewhere twice (e.g. Honemoon guesthouse down the road) . Safe available from office, not in room. Strange pebbles in bathroom that stick to your feet. Ok for quick visits- we stayed 4 nights-

Room Tip: Go for one of thebetter quality rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniebrook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Nicks Pension, loved the location so close to Monkey Forest Road and lots of great restaurants, the staff were lovely, the restaurant was cheap and good for snacks especially around the pool. We had the super deluxe room and it was fantastic. Had lovely walks around the rice fields during the day and enjoyed being so close to nature. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Super deluxe and deluxe have own tea & coffee facilities and TV with Dvd player others are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I liked everything about this hotel. So close to the heart of Ubud - just across a little brook and yet a country/private oasis. The staff and food were very good and the and rooms were immaculate. Admittedly we stayed in one of the best rooms. They booked a fantastic bike ride with them which was the highlight of the Ubud stay. Ubud itself so busy - try the island of Flores if you like something more remote.

Room Tip: our friends took a standard room and found it was not to their liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are extremely basic, and the beds are as though they have been there for years, very creaky. It did not feel very safe at all with literally a lock the size of which you would use on a suitcase on the door. The area outside nicks is extremely poor and you literally see animals starving by the side of the road...the only plus was the food in the cafe down the road, in which I enjoyed the local lager bintang, which is lovely.
All in all very cheap so its fine if you only stay for a night.
The pool is fair as well. The grounds include a natural forestry scenery with rice fields on the front leading towards the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: get the best room you can, we had one double deluxe further away from the pool and it was much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
JUKUNG Hostel
JUKUNG Hostel
#135 of 542 in Ubud
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ode Hostel
Ode Hostel
#126 of 542 in Ubud
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#25 of 554 in Ubud
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#17 of 554 in Ubud
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Nick's Hidden Cottages
#11 of 554 in Ubud
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Property: Nick's Pension
Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 542 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing