We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service was above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Macgregor
2 reviews
“Service was above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We will be visiting again. The pool and our room had the most amazing view of the rice terraces and the smiling faces of the farmers that worked within them. We gazed out to the distance for hours on end. Very relaxing. Quiet and tranquil. Nice place for couples. The service was perfect. Haven't experienced such personalized attention like this before. Felt very well looked after.

Room Tip: They even delivered a scooter for us to use. Nothing was a problem. Rooms on the front overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoucheBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    82
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
297
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dili
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at Christmas and over New Year. We had a wonderful time. Such a beautiful place and so idyllic and peaceful. Great food, great staff and service - can't fault. I would definitely recommend you stay here. Out of the noise in ubud, but close enough to be in town in a matter of minutes. Faultless.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Its near the village center of ubud but the hotel provides free transfers. Just amazing few days , staff and the rooms are great.. Enjoy the pool and the rice farm just in front of you!!!
It was a lovely experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroljuhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If u look for a romantic hotel, honest+super clean and nice, look no further, this is paradise on earth! Middle of the ricefields perfect !!!!Nice rooms, great pool, restaurant, the breakfast was perfect.
Little far from the center but easy to reach by shutle from the hotel. A perfect place, perfect setting, staff supper!! A must do in Ubud.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, u are middle in the ricefields, the real life of Bali at ur feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calaf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone in Ubud knows this small resort. I got the impression that it's probably one of the best places you can stay if you're after some quiet upmarket comfort - though at an about 10/15 minute drive from the centre (definitely not 5, as it says on their website) I felt it could be closer. As other reviewers have said, the place is amazingly beautiful, if only for the pool area and the great views over the rice paddies, which stretch as far as the eye can see. Just look at everyone's photos. There are only a handful of rooms and bungalows - the rooms are very generously sized, and have much better views than the bungalows, which are closer to the entrance and hidden by bamboo and what not. There is also a small spa if you fancy a little pampering. The staff are super polite and attentive, and will help with most questions regarding getting to and from Ubud, excursions, etc. The restaurant is lovely, though at night there isn't much of an atmosphere so getting a taxi into Ubud may be a better plan. Don't bother walking into town, it's just too far and not a nice walk - however, the Neka Art Museum is a shortish walk from the resort and definitely worth a visit if you haven't made other arrangements during the day.

Room Tip: I'd say get a room rather than a bungalow. The ground floor ones have outdoor seating by the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and found it perfect!
It is small and very quite, off the road and facing the rice fields. We could see the farmers working in the fields and preparing the new fields. We had a bungalow room, facing the pool but separated by some bamboos. It was very private but there is no view on the rice fields. The room is very spacious, well decorated and comfy. The bathroom was very big, with a large Italian shower and a bathtub.
We enjoyed the restaurant Terracotta. Breakfast was really good. It is à la carte, there isn't a lot of choice, but it is more than enough and it was very fresh. Dinner is also served à la carte and there is a mix of fusion food and Indonesian dishes. We fell in love with the Tuna with sesame crust and with the gado-gado. We ate there all five nights and it was perfect!
The hotel organizes a small trekking in the rice fields and this was great! I can only recommend it.
The hotel is at about 45 minutes from the center from Ubud, and it is not a nice walk. They provide a shuttle service every hours but it stops at 5 pm, which is a pity.
The staff was very attentive and really polite, smiling and doing their best to accommodate every needs.
I can fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quite and charming little hotel and who doesn't mind not to be in the center of the buzzing city of Ubud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JulienCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This boutique hotel is outstanding. Visited in March and stayed in a bungalow with my boyfriend for 4 nights. Check in and out was smooth and all staff are above and beyond friendly - remembering our names and room number. Only a small hotel so it is very peaceful.free shuttle bus to and from town became handy as it is a little out of town. The breakfast which was included was amazing! Eggs and pancakes were always fresh and perfectly cooked to our request. Room got serviced twice daily with daily fruit left in room - super cute touch. Pool has an amazing view over the rice fields and you can watch the workers during the day (you do feel bad them working as you relax) owners spoke with us on our last breakfast there - couldn't give any negative feedback about this hotel. Wifi was always fast for us too. Would recommend to anyone and everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jln. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing