We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The best boutique hotel of Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best boutique hotel of Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is what I call a perfect boutique hotel. Here, everything s made to make you feel special and at home. The hotel is beautiful (gorgeous pool!!), the rooms are designed with a lot of taste,all using Balinese handcraft (so beautiful we took photos of our room to get inspired for our guestroom back home!).
The restaurant is perfectly located, right in front of the rice fields and the pool, and the food is gorgeous, you ll be surprised!
The staff... The staff was the best: very discrete, friendly and the service was just perfect. We were there for our honeymoon, so we got flowers on our bed and a rose bath,and also a special desert at the restaurant with "happy honeymoon" written in chocolate. That was such a delightful surprise!
It was the perfect place for our honeymoon, really. When leaving, I almost hugged the clerk at the reception, she was so nice ! One word: Parfait !! Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyOum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    83
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
97
309
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I almost did not want to write this review, for the selfish reason of not wanting other discerning travellers to book this hotel, so that I can enjoy it all on my own for my next trip. However, the greater good prevailed. Kenanga is small, with only about 15 rooms, but it is tasteful, clean, peaceful, well-appointed and safe: all the things a traveller would want for a stay that refreshes the senses and the spirit. The infinity pool overlooks the gentle rice terraces of Ubud and these are illuminated by flickering lanterns at night. The breakfast is of exceptional quality, and the dinner was good enough that we decided to eat at the restaurant every evening just so we could support the hotel. Above all, every one of the staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had a wonderful and welcome stay. On the last day when we requested for a late check-out due to a night flight, the manager, Mr Agustiawan, informed us regretfully that the best he could do was move us to another (more expensive) hotel room to rest, seeing as ours was already booked. Naturally, this was the icing on the cake. You will not regret the quality of your stay at this magical little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Kenanga is an oasis tucked away off a main road and only minutes drive to the heart of Ubud. What you see on their website is exactly what you get. We found it an excellent location for day trips and loved the courtesy bus option. A peaceful place to stay with like minded guests and has immaculate rooms, grounds and facilities. The infinity pool appears to flow over into the rice fields as we laid around on ample deck lounges.
Staff were attentive, very courteous and polite. Their is great attention to detail shown within the hotel. Breakfast was included and was not to be missed! In fact, all meals from the Terra Cotta restaurant were delicious - just needed to allow plenty of time. The French owners happened to be in at the same time and were very keen to hear our thoughts and spend time with us.
We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Second storey rooms offer further views of the rural outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I (early 30's ) highly recommend this French Boutique resort that provides stylish rooms, great swimming pool overlooking rice paddy, delicious food (Traditional Balinese & European) and awesome service. The romantic dinner option in the midst of the rice paddy was a treat! The restaurant - Terra Cotta had an awesome range of food And drink. Owners were very keen for feedback at the end of our stay- always a good sign.
Exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B42uhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Kenanga!
Location is away from ubud's noise, with great views over the rice fields. Everything is well maintained, very clean and you see the eye for details everywhere.
We had both dinner and breakfast and both were amazing. Again a great eye for details.
Staff were very friendly, helpfull and relaxed. No pushing, no time schedules etc as we experienced in some other hotels.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location in front of the rice fields was fantastic, especially in the morning when u get up and u can see the sun reflected on the water. Great breakfast at the restaurant, nice staff. We had a problem with the key of our room we we came back at arounf 11pm one night, and it was fixed promptly.
It was a pity that we have never enjoyed the pool because we have always come back too late: actually the only bad point is that the pool is closed at 6pm (the sun goes down eraly in Bali).
Definetely recommended!

Room Tip: no matter which room u would choose, u won't escape from being waken up by frogs and geckos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The wonderful views over rice paddies are one of the chief attractions of this comfortable and stylish hotel. It is a bit out of the centre of Ubud and there are no particularly interesting cafés, restaurants or shops within walking distance of the hotel (so visitors will need to arrange transportation), but the peace and calm are a real delight. The hotel staff is excellent, the European and Indonesian food tasty, and the breakfasts copious; complimentary afternoon tea, with nice pasties, is a real treat. The rooms are spacious and appointed in a chic minimalist style. The hotel is probably more suitable for couples, families or friends rather than solo or business travellers. The rooms are a bit dark for reading, but I understand that the management will be attending to this relatively minor problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#9 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Property: Mathis Retreat
Address: Jln. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing