We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Mathis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mathis Retreat
Ranked #29 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for the fIrst half of our stay in Bali based on the reviews we read here... It exceeds expectations. The rooms are big and beautiful, beds are comfy, food is great, and service is top-notch. They're doing something right here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReynaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 661 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway and it is perfect! It's a 10-minute drive away from central Ubud but I think this contributes to its peacefulness (there's a free hourly shuttle to central Ubud til 5pm). The paddy fields surrounding it are a spectacular view, the rooms are lovely, the bath is clean and spacious.

The restaurant has some delicious food offerings (my favourite being the poached Tasmanian salmon!), though a bit pricey, but breakfast and afternoon tea were included in the room rate so we had no complaints. We also tried the massages at the spa and although you could probably get cheaper ones in central Ubud, the ambience is amazing, the place clean and the masseuse highly skilled - no complaints there either.

The staff are friendly and eager to help, always smiling. The service is incredible, our room was refreshed while we had breakfast, the staff left us little treats in the afternoon and the bed was turned down, the room refreshed again in the evening.

There aren't many shops or places to eat within short walking distance of the hotel but you are able to book a ride for a small fee. This place is best for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAAzlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My favourite hotel in bali, can't describe how fantastic the staff are, they are friendly and the rooms are beautiful. Will defiantly return during my next visit to Ubud. Anytime we left the room it was cleaned on our arrival, have not experience the service anywhere else. The photos don't do the hotel justice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems2-666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Kenanga was a beautiful place to stay. Quiet -lovely view. Food at the resturant was
delicious - try the freshly made mixed juice and the banana pancake. It was our daughters birthday and they made her a lovely cake to celebrate. It made the big hotel in Sanur that we went to afterwards look very sad.
Can highly recommend. Free shuttle to Ubud.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's a pretty and well-located hotel in the north of Ubud, about 5-10 minutes driving by car (free shuttle service available every hour until 17h) to the centre of Ubud. The place is surrounded by rice paddies, which makes for an amazing view. Plus, it's nice and quiet since you are away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud centre. The bungalows are spacious and very clean. Beautiful decoration, big bed, rain shower, nice bath and two sinks make this a marvellous place. Breakfast is also very good, and staff really friendly. English (of staff) is sometimes a small issue, but was never a big deal for us. The pool is great. Spa as well, though you can get much cheaper in the city. Food in the restaurant is good, though overpriced with the 21% added tax to everything. They can arrange all kinds of tours and taxis for you, but the amount they ask is way higher than outside of the hotel so you better arrange it with a tourist agency or driver yourself. For a ride to the centre of Ubud, they charge you 55,000 rupees for example, while 'in the street' you can get a cab for 25,000 to 30,000 rupees. Additionally, there is wi-fi but this doesn't work very well: reception is terrible and the connection often fell away. For the price you pay here, this should def be fixed. One other small thing: when we wanted to use (and pay) for their taxi service (outside of free shuttle service hours), they wanted to make us wait an extra 15 mins in the lobby b/c the driver wanted to take a longer nap. This should also be resolved asap since it is not polite to make people wait in this way. It was the most expensive place we booked in Bali, but the service could do with some improvement for this price (175€ per night). However, all in all, we had a good experience here and it is a beautiful relaxing place with very friendly staff and a great welcome. But, we don't think we would book this place again though - we think you might find better value in Ubud which has so many hotels and b&b's to offer. Especially in this price category (and below).

Room Tip: All bungalows are really nice and spacious. Any bigger ones than the standard bungalows, might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family spend a lovely few days in Kenanga and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Our bungalow was beautifully equipped and decorated, the infinity pool was great for a dip after a hot and dusty day out, and the views are divine! The restaurant served a delicious breakfast, plenty of options and courses! The best bit were the staff - just brilliant!

Would definitely stay again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00_frankie_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kenanga hotel for the first few nights of our two week honeymoon in Indonesia. The room was very comfortable, and we were touched by the decorations left out for for us as we were on honeymoon. The view across the pool is marvellous, and the staff very helpful in serving poolside drinks. The quality of the food in the restaurant is exceptional, would particularly recommend the Nasi Goreng for breakfast and the fish dishes for dinner. The massages were great, and very relaxing being outside with only the sounds of the rice fields. Only downside was the faults with paying by credit card which meant we had to rush on the last morning to get lifts to the bank to pay the bill in cash.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 199 in Ubud
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#44 of 199 in Ubud
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathis Retreat

Address: Jl. Raya Lungsiakan 56, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Kenanga Boutique Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $102 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mathis Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Mathis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathis Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing