We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is very memorable”
Review of Yellow Flower Cafe

Yellow Flower Cafe
Ranked #5 of 37 Dessert in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is very memorable”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Honestly, you can taste the love and dedication they put in to the food here. Incredible flavours with fresh organic produce. I feel very nourished after having a meal there. Lush jungle, quite atmosphere and I love to watch the little children play on their antique rocking horse. Please ask for directions, it could be hard to find. Enjoy the ambience and the delicious cusine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    91
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“Not keen on the hygiene”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hi, the food here was wonderful but the staff need to know it is not ok to taste the spoons used for stirring someone else's smoothie. Also, not keen on the banana leaves used on the plates.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YFCubud, Manager at Yellow Flower Cafe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friend.Maybe you mistaken see that.We have VERY serious hygenic rule at our cafe.Always me telling staff never do that.If our staff break hygen rule they no tip for 1 month(AND FOOD THRO AWAY) so all staff very careful with hygienic.Also we maybe taste smoothie but that spoon direct to sink for wash.We not mix smoothie after blend.And NEVER with same spoon taste later use for mix.Welcome to Bali!!!YOU ARE IN BALI ((-; When we eat here we have banana leaf under to carry food.Each leaf carefully clean before using.The leaf organic from special banana grow this.That banana not have any fruit banana,just lot of leaf.We only use leaf for buffet.Sorry for upset you.We wish better for you next time.ENJOY OUR ISLAND BALI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious, relaxed, real”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We only discovered the Yellow Flower on our last day in Bali and we were so upset! I think i would have eaten every meal here if we'd found it sooner. The food is so fresh and delicious, using interesting ingredients and innovative combinations.
The setting is gorgeous, surrounded by trees and tropical plants, and if you want a little walk, there are rice padis immediately at the back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Headlongintohongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YFCubud, Manager at Yellow Flower Cafe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
WE thank you for apprecisation us ((-;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful organic cafe”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a lovely organic meal at Yellow Flower organic cafe. It is a bit hard to find so make sure you get directions first. It is situated next to rice fields in a small village area. The menu is varied and has beautiful fresh juices and caters for vegetarians. Very nice atmosphere. enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaSydneyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YFCubud, Manager at Yellow Flower Cafe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
WE thank you for caring and enjoy the peaceful of Yellow Flower us ((-;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Popular Cafe”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Come up the Campuhan steps and turn right, walk 100 meters and you will find the very popular Yellow Flower cafe. I frequently walk past this cafe and the aromas coming from the kitchen are always delicious, but for some reason I cannot taste what I'm smelling in the food that I order. I have eaten here three times now and each time I come away disappointed. For me the food is too bland. One of my companions today made the same comment, and another friend was happy with her order. There is plenty of choice on the menu, both in meals and drinks.
The staff are always charming, the food is freshly cooked so takes a little while to arrive but it's a nice quiet place to sit and wait and there's free WiFi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YFCubud, Manager at Yellow Flower Cafe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you my friend.Most our guest very happy with our home cooking.In Indonesia most restaurant use MSG to make food taste ENAK very yummy.Even the one that say NO msg use sauce with msg.Some guest used to big MSG taste.We don,t have that big amazing taste MSG food has as as it bad for your healthy body.All our food has real and honest flavour.When you are walk past our cafe next time stop and tell us the dish you not happy with because we want try do better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Flower Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Yellow Flower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing