We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubu's Warung

Bubu's Warung
Ranked #138 of 714 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This warung is a 50 metre walk from our villa and is our first choice for a takeaway meal when we choose a quiet night in. The family who run the warung are very friendly and always look to be enjoying themselves whilst working. The variety of food available, whether Indonesian or European, has been sufficient to keep us trying new things everytime. The nasi goreng is wonderful and my wife loves the chicken satay sticks.

We would love to eat out every night whilst in Ubud, but that gets costly over 28 days. So the option of a tasty meal, prepared by someone else, for a reasonable price is excellent value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
486 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's always difficult to rate a restaurant after having just eaten there once but my nasi goreng was below average and the juice just above, it's a nice place to sit and service is friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Honest and tasty Indonesian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Bubu's Warung is just down the road from my house, and I am very thankful for that! It is a simple, very informal restaurant where you can get a tasty curry, a great fried rice with a couple of sticks of satay, or (my favorite) grilled chicken. It's the kind of place you can hang around for a couple of hours, chat with the other customers, chat with the owners, and wonder where half the afternoon went! A real Indonesian warung is a very simple place where all the locals stop in periodically to swap gossip, and Bubu's is the only expat-oriented restaurant I've come across that can replicate that feeling. It's a real gem, I love it.

Located in the newly-trendy Penestanan area, but DON'T expect to find any raw vegan food. TripAdvisor's cost indicators are really based on service -- Bubu's is very inexpensive, but qualifies as "casual, sit down".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“See Bubu's Warung”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

BuBu Warung is, in fact, Bubu's Warung listed on TripAdvisor. It is a small, locally run restaurant, very informal, and it's one of my first choices when I want some good quality Indonesian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Laid back, simple, tasty, cheap, great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my husband LOVED Bubu's warung. It is very cheap, but very tasty, it is located a little away from the action, so it is very relaxed. This little restaurant is very very simple, but it has a soul of its own. The best part of it is the Balinese family who lives and cooks there - they are the nicest kindest people ever!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubu's Warung also viewed

 

Been to Bubu's Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing