We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than we expected or hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Much more than we expected or hoped for”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Really, for the price we expected much less but were awed as soon as we entered our huge room with large balcony and then inspected the grounds, facilities and location. Staff were extremely helpful and quick to organise inexpensive day trips (we'd been caught out in Seminyak so learnt quickly). The breakfast/food is not flash but we managed and took great delight in eating out at the great selection of restaurants within walking distance. Yes, it's on a steep hillside and I wouldn't recommend it for the elderly unless they were at road level and didn't want to access the pools or spa. Mozzies usually love us but the coils seemed to do the trick even when we sat out on the balcony late in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    566
    173
    75
    51
See reviews for
239
727
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Loved our stay here at Tjampuhan in Ubud. LOVELY grounds and incredibly polite staff make up for the few weaknesses. Tjampuhan has lush greenery and beautiful pools to surround yourself within. Take advantage of the spa and the fairly priced services there in as well as the chance at lounging in one of the available bars or sitting areas. If you get a bungalow near the traffic you may hear some road noise but I was able to get over it as I was so overwhelmed by the beauty of the grounds. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay here and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Although definitely not the cheapest option in Bali, it's far from expensive and worth the meager price tag.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefrownclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The title says it all, not to mention all the contrasting reviews on here. Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend at the end of a 2 week holiday. Having been in kuta for most of our trip, we were ready to "slow down" a bit. We're 21 and 22 year old, but were here to relax, not party.

Our agent told us this place would be a great place to stay, and looked good initially. Nice hillside location, peace and quiet, and nice drink upon arrival. Hotel staff carried our bags to our room (carried due to all the stairs!).

Now the bad part - our room. It was air conditioned, with a ceiling fan. Massive bed, which was quite comfy. Sounds good? The bathroom was...disgusting. Shower curtain was mouldy, as too was the wall area aroud the shower. Toilet didn't work properly. Mould around the top of the bath. Not very nice...

AND NO SAFE IN THE ROOMS. Bit of a pain packing up everything and locking it up every time we want to go out.

Given the rainforest-type setting, there were lots of insects..and mosquitos. Our room had a natural "balinese" vent above the door, which would have been fine except there were no mosquito nets around the beds. Staff did light mozzie coils at night time, but they don't even work here in australia let alone in the tropics. Basically, we became a night-time feast for the mozzies, as we had no way of keeping them out.

The pools were disgusting. At a first glance, they looked ok. But then when you look around the edge/bottom/walls and see the thickness of algae growing, it's a bit of a turn off. I didn't end up getting in after seeing it!

On a good note, staff were friendly (although 3 of them tried to sell us day-trips), and the breakfast was pretty good (although there were insects in/around some of the serving trays). Internet was extremely hard to connect to, and a bit slow. There's a free shuttle bus that runs from the hotel into town almost every hour, which was probably the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed at Tampuhan Spa for 4 nights in 2 Raja rooms overlooking the river.What a lovely old hotel dating back to 1928. Rooms were spacious with a balcony and lounge chair. No tv which is a pleasant change for once, although they are currently constructing a a new building which will house a "movie room". There are 2 pools, and a seperate spa area with a long warm jacuzzi that feels a bit like sitting in a cave surrounded by carvings of animals.
Be warned there are many stairs to climb if you want to stay in one of the better raja rooms away from the noisy road. This didnt bother us but if you are an older person with dodgy knees I woudlnt stay at this hotel.
Breakfast buffet was adequate but dont bother eating lunch or dinner here as these meals are very ordinary.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They organised a great walk along the Campuan Ridge. Free shuttle into Ubud on the hour.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, new Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Given all the mixed reviews, I didn't know what on earth to expect; however, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were big and we felt like we were in the middle of the forest with frogs, fireflies, creepy crawlies, the works! The grounds are stunning.
We were right down the bottom of the hill which meant climbing up and down a stupid amount of stairs. We are yoga / fitness instructors so it kept us fit; however, I wouldn't recommend old or unfit people to be placed down the bottom of the hotel . . .
Foods is mediocre in terms of the buffet breakfast but I don't really rate Balinese foods as it is.
The bathroom would be very average - say a five out of ten.
Overall, you would thoroughly enjoy the place unless you're picky as hell.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

So good we came right back the same day after checking out! Having stayed two nights here in a decent but not perfect room, but having LOVED the setting, gardens, service and location we checked out to travel to Lovina, got havlf way there and decided to come straight back to Tjampuhan! We loved it that much.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Ubud - good for making sure that first beer sinks down just so.

I can totally understand that there are mixed experiences of this hotel - how some could love it and other not so much. Our first room was not 100% shiny and sterile (mould on grouting and shower curtain in the bathroom), whilst our second was immaculate. The look and feel of the first room was tired and dated, the second was more modern and classic. Neither had a TV - but I cannot imagine wanting to come to this oasis of a hotel and watch TV so this was not a problem at all.

What Tjampuhan is: classic, awesome setting, masive beds, stunning gardens, private rooms and terraces, great service, wonderful reception (with rice wine on arrival), good breakfast, great spa, calm, tranquil, idyllic

What Tjampuhan is not: modern (though business centre is being built), bling, central, western (this is Bali, duh!),

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My partner and I stayed 4 nights in one of the larger "Raja" rooms which have air-conditioning. By the way, there are quite a variety of rooms spread about which I suspect is partly responsible for the wide range of experiences people are reporting about this hotel.

Our room was one of the larger ones farther away from reception away from the road. It was clean, comfortable and very quiet (other than the River flowing underneath). The bathroom probably needed a make-over but for the price, location and room quality, I'm not complaining. Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, ie: No kettle.

I personally enjoyed using the air-conditioning (against the humidity, not so much the heat), but people next door whom we met were perfectly happy leaving it off. At least we had the choice. There is a ceiling fan as well.

Staff were really lovely. Only minor complaint is reception staff seem stretched and does not pass on messages (even if you remind them). You will need to check each day to ask if any messages have arrived for you.

Hotel location is excellent. I would catch the free shuttle bus into town each morning, and walk back each afternoon. Just a 20 minute pleasant walk from Ubud centre.

Hotel setting is superb, set in the lush green river valley with the sacred river flowing underneath. Be warned: Lots of steps.

Breakfast buffet was included, and it was good enough.

Wi-Fi is only available near reception, and it is slow.

In summary -- very good, very enjoyable, very Balinese, but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weng393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 198 in Ubud
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing