We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel screams Bali in all the right ways. Stayed here and absolutely loved the hotel and it's beautiful setting, which was very jungle like. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic with an omelette bar and fresh juices. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    565
    173
    75
    51
See reviews for
239
727
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is breathtakingly beautiful! You are literally in the jungle and fall asleep to the sounds of frogs and various other animals. There are no traditional locks on the doors but I still felt totally safe. The free breakfast is amazing with several options in their buffet to choose from.

The room that I stayed in was mostly clean when I got there but the floor wasn't mopped once after I checked in and the extra pillows I asked for came with dirty pillowcases. The third and final night I stayed there my room smelled like stinky feet and stagnant water. It was awful.

To say the hotel has spotty wifi is an understatement. Most of the time their own computers set up for guests did not connect to the Internet. There is no wifi in the rooms, only every once in a while in the lobby and computer lounge.

I still gave them 4 stars because of how beautiful and unique this hotel is. I would stay there again hoping to get better maids.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I discovered Hotel Tjampuan's spa through http://www.besttripadvice.com/. As a kid, when Hotel Tjampuan was the only hotel with a pool in Ubud, I used to jump the wall and sneak in. Now, I can do it with Best Trip Advice's card! The facilities are excellent, and I am not sure if it is the only sauna (with cold plunge pool and hot jacuuzi) in Ubud but it has to be the most beautiful! The card led me to recommend the hotel -- which I sort of forgot about -- to some folks from Kenya who came to Bali. More needs to be done to promote the sauna because the facilities really are superb!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

"The classic hotel & SPA built in 1928 where two sacred rivers meet, once the homestead of legendary German painter Walter Spies, has been carefully preserved to its former glory and exudes the gentle charm of a bygone era." Very rich and oustanding flora around, lovely pool with spring water, very spacious room with king size bed. Very nice view from the terrace of the hillside with river on the bottom. There is a free bus going to the city center every hour or so. Great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Bali midland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiCeiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The resort is located a little outside of the center (5min by taxi, 30min walking) but built in a jungle-like area with wonderful plants, the area goes down to the river. We didn't try the spa. The rooms are old-fashioned, the doors don't close well, its quite clean but not extraordinary, staff is helpful (they even dont wait for a tip after carrying the bagage down/upstairs). The view from the dining area is great. The price is worth it for the environent but not for the rooms. All in all a very nice calm place in a busy city

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorke Peninsula
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed four nights at the Hotel Tjampuhan. Was very happy with our room. Views from our balcony were great. Very relaxing sitting watching the squirrels and bird life in the afternoons. Breakfast is really good with plenty of choices along with a fantastic view. Room was good size. Bathroom a bit old and needed some work but really didn't worry us. Pool areas are good. Had a fantastic massage while you listen to the river in the background. Had room service one night and meal was delicious. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance if you want to go else where for tea. Staff are very friendly and happy to help in anyway. Not to far to walk into shopping area or take a side alley and walk into the rice fields. Very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel. Stairs weren't an issue for us but yes there are a few. Great exercise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrilyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and can't wait to return again. It is very relaxing and beautiful. Breakfast is lovely with a stunning view from the restaurant. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very comfortable although bathroom a little dated but wasn't a problem for us as everything else was wonderful. It was actually my husband's third visit to Hotel Tjampuhan as he stayed here in 1975!! Oil lamps and no electricity in those days. He loved it just as much this time as he did back in '75. Thank you for a lovely stay and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gunung which is close to reception and not many steps to climb. Also had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 198 in Ubud
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing