We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual place with beautiful rich flora and specific atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #63 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unusual place with beautiful rich flora and specific atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

"The classic hotel & SPA built in 1928 where two sacred rivers meet, once the homestead of legendary German painter Walter Spies, has been carefully preserved to its former glory and exudes the gentle charm of a bygone era." Very rich and oustanding flora around, lovely pool with spring water, very spacious room with king size bed. Very nice view from the terrace of the hillside with river on the bottom. There is a free bus going to the city center every hour or so. Great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Bali midland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiCeiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    550
    167
    73
    51
See reviews for
234
701
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The resort is located a little outside of the center (5min by taxi, 30min walking) but built in a jungle-like area with wonderful plants, the area goes down to the river. We didn't try the spa. The rooms are old-fashioned, the doors don't close well, its quite clean but not extraordinary, staff is helpful (they even dont wait for a tip after carrying the bagage down/upstairs). The view from the dining area is great. The price is worth it for the environent but not for the rooms. All in all a very nice calm place in a busy city

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorke Peninsula
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed four nights at the Hotel Tjampuhan. Was very happy with our room. Views from our balcony were great. Very relaxing sitting watching the squirrels and bird life in the afternoons. Breakfast is really good with plenty of choices along with a fantastic view. Room was good size. Bathroom a bit old and needed some work but really didn't worry us. Pool areas are good. Had a fantastic massage while you listen to the river in the background. Had room service one night and meal was delicious. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance if you want to go else where for tea. Staff are very friendly and happy to help in anyway. Not to far to walk into shopping area or take a side alley and walk into the rice fields. Very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel. Stairs weren't an issue for us but yes there are a few. Great exercise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrilyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and can't wait to return again. It is very relaxing and beautiful. Breakfast is lovely with a stunning view from the restaurant. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very comfortable although bathroom a little dated but wasn't a problem for us as everything else was wonderful. It was actually my husband's third visit to Hotel Tjampuhan as he stayed here in 1975!! Oil lamps and no electricity in those days. He loved it just as much this time as he did back in '75. Thank you for a lovely stay and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gunung which is close to reception and not many steps to climb. Also had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

When we finally arrived at 2am we were given the wrong room but that was quickly fixed the next day at no charge. We had a lovely time there for the one and a half nights there. Although not much to do in the immediate surrounding area we had a nice meal out in a restaurant that the resort recommended. My only issue it was a long walk up and down from our room to the pool and brekky. Other than we had a nice short stay before heading to Seminyak.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dirkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our stay was brief but this hotel was a wonderful choice and I would absolutely recommend it.

The room was clean and nicely decorated, and the beds were reasonably comfortable.

The location is unusual in that there are paths connecting several small villas; for this reason I would suggest requesting a room close to reception if mobility is an issue. I would also suggest that this hotel may provide some challenge for the elderly or those with mobility problems as many of the rooms are quite a trek - in the heat!

Beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Request a room close to reception unless you want a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzlecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Get ready for a Resort which was created in combination with the nature of mother earth. You can go down from the entry along walking paths. On the way there are houses, rooms, pools, spa area, ponds with fish, trees and a incredible view onto the river which is on the bottom of the resort. It felt like living in a beautiful small village close to the center of Ubud.
In addition I need to say thank you to the Manager Astra who shared the information about the Balinese culture to understand about to share with love. I come back!!! :)))

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing