We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #65 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family of 7 stayed in this hotel in january this year. I booked cause of cost and we stayed 2 nights. It was our stop over on our way to Lovina. We had 3 very large chalets, with a beautiful wooden door. We stayed in the "coconut apartments" I really enjoyed the setting but I can not say the same for the children. They absolutely hated it. They were just not impressed with the creepy crawlies around the place but the satff was very helpful in getting rid off them for the kids. The restaurant was gorgeous too, all open and overlooking the forest. The down side was the swimming pool all 3 kids got hurt with cuts and scratches. The tiles were sharp. A lady staying in the hotel warned us not to continue swimming there as another child had cut himself deeply and needed stitches. She pointed us to the 2nd pool which was a spring water pool and kids were much happier then. The next downside was the distance we had to walk from our rooms to front lobby and restaurant. In the heat and in the rain, it was just too far for the kids and both grandmothers tht cam with us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumof3nadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel rooms are very big and quite nice looking, very dated but seemed clean. Scenery is divine BUT I did not find the staff friendly, the beautiful pool was under construction, the people in the spa area were too busy talking to help. There are no safes in the room, and i had a general uneasy feeling about the place, seems every staff member was trying to make a bit on the side and pushing tours and taxi's on you, on the quiet of course. I would not recommend at all and ended up checking straight out. Plenty of walking to be had from spa to room, pool to room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justmysty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel only for a night.
Rooms are big , forest views fantastic, good for leisure and honeymoon.
Disappointed that there is no TV , also the socket plug in the room loose. When I asked the
reception for toothbrush and toothpaste, they politely asked me to go down the road and
purchase. Really disappointed that simple necessities not provided for.
Asked whey there is no TV in the room, reception replied that the rooms are too close,
so this is not provided for.????
Also the pillows are smelly!!! Damp smell. When I woke up next morning, my hair smells like
the pillow smell. Ughhh... all the pillows in the room has yellowish stains but the pillow cases
are clean. What's the point when underneath are stained and smelly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tjampuhan. It's a bit dated and the bathrooms could use a good updating, but it's a classic place, with the feel of the 1930s. The pools are nice, especially the more remote natural spring pool. Be ready for steps and walking, as the hotel is built onto the side of a hill. This adds to its charm and certainly makes it unique. Additionally, you're an easy walk into Ubud and all the shops, restaurants and galleries there.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ericnelsonchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in a Raja room on our 3 day trip to Ubud. The room itself was lovely and as in the typical Balinese style that you expect. The only complaint we had about the room was that we could hear our neighbour talking on his phone or to staff as if he was in the same room. We were glad that at least he was by himself otherwise it would have been very noisy!!.

The grounds are spectacular and are terraced down to the River. We didn't have time to have a spa, but after having a look at will definitely do so next time. The proximity of the hotel to Ubud is quite good, they have shuttle bus which runs on a regular schedule, but we walked mostly.

We will consider staying here again if in Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janlt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We thought hard if we would return to Tjamphuan - having stayed here every time we've visited Bali over the past 30 years we thought maybe we should check out some other hotels. However, we finally decided to return and we weren't disappointed. There is something about the actual position of the hotel, the enormous rooms and the spectacular views that outweighs the fact that it really does need some renovations (the tiling in 'our' bathroom hasn't changed in all this time - and it needs it!) - the fact that you have to ask for a frig and the fact that most other hotels have far more luxuries as a basic. It's also very well priced. Our only real complaint is they've taken away the day beds on the balconies and substituted a single bed with pillows - this is no substitute at all and we complained about it on our last visit. This kind of furniture is so inexpensive in Bali that there seems to be no good reason for this. We always meet interesting people there - it seems to attract the creative, artistic - possibly because the setting is truly tranquil and quite spiritual. We'll probably return - and hope they bring back the day beds. If everybody asks, they might just do it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff here are so helpful and friendly, they make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are roomy with a nice private balcony. I had a/c and a fridge. Bit of a damp smell in the bathroom and quite a lot of steps if you are feeling unfit! the spa at the bottom of all those steps is in a lovely setting next to the flowing river. All outdoors, so you get the sounds of nature all around. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town, lots of shops on the way, or you can take the regular free shuttle bus from the hotel which runs almost every hour.

Room Tip: Book the Raja room with a/c and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubaiCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $83 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing