We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #62 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were privileged to stay in Ubud prior to the eat pray love books and film hype. What a beautiful restful and creative place.We spent three nights at the Hotel Tjampuhan and can recommend it. One can walk easily to town where there are many restaurants and bars and Art. There is the fun of the markets and Monkey forest road. Not far from Ubud is a really pleasant white water rafting with the most amazing rock carvings on the cliffs along the river. We have a painting, bought at one of the art galleries in Ubud, hanging as pride of place in our offices.

Room Tip: Try and get into the valley below road level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    550
    167
    73
    51
See reviews for
234
701
99
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is our 5th or 6th stay at the Tjampuhan since 1997 and our second time in the River 2 room, close to the spring fed pool. We stayed in an air conditioned room, however the August/September temperatures were so mild we never turned it on, and used only the overhead fan.

The rooms, and particularly the bathrooms, could certainly use an upgrade, and the breakfast is very basic (worse this time than previous visits), but out of the few other places we've stayed in Ubud, nothing can compare with the peacefulness and the views of this hotel. It's a pleasure just to walk around the lush gardens, and the pools are so relaxing. You feel as though you're in a forest.

We like the location because it's close to some of our favourite restaurants such as Murni's, Indus, Mozaic, Tropical Bale and Naughty Nuris (when there's no queue!). Bridges is close, but didn't get time to eat here. There's also some nice massage salons to choose from within walking distance.

Although there's a hotel shuttle that goes into town, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the markets and the top end of Monkey Forest Road, with shops to browse in along the way. There's no TV but that's not a problem for us. For TV addicts, there's two big TVs in the internet lounge (which has two separate areas and a bar).

Room Tip: We've stayed in River 2 twice, which is in a quiet location. We often email ahead and request Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lautrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mornington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Beautiful 3.5 star hotel set down the side of a river bank of the Tjampuhan River, meaning "meeting place". My comfortable clean bungalow was set down about 100 huge steps and situated on the bank of the river itself. Staff are helpful, if you are polite, and young porter spectacularly carried my 30kg case on his head down the whole 100 steps! I wouldnt dine at the restaurant apart from brekky which is included, and stick to the homemade omelettes. The setting of the Hotel itself is spectacular and the spa which is in a man made cave, is worth a look in. Very comfy, clean and peaceful. Just a minutes taxi drive to the centre of town, which will set you back about $2.00. Great shops all around the hotel for a browse, can pick up some great yoga pants. I also read the bad reviews about the Tjampuhan but can truly say that i found none of those stories to be true, i would stay again. Great for older couple (fit, need only apply -due to all those steps), or for a family. Pools are great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank batmanMornington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I should start out by saying I have been staying at this hotel for 30 years. I know the staff well and we are treated like 'pambly" as they would say.
I have read some of the reviews, particularly the bad ones and try to relate their experiences to mine. Firstly this is not a hotel for anyone who is handicapped in anyway. The steps are enormous and impossible to navigate if you are not reasonably fit paticularly if you are put in one of the lower rooms near the river, We request Arie Smith 4,5,or 6. These room have aircon ( not that we ever use it ) a safe if you feel insecure and wonderful bathrooms.There is no TV but who wants one ? Its all in Indonesian anyway. The patio off the room is large and overlooks the valley and its only a short walk to the dinning room. The breakfast is more than adequate with all the usual food stuffs available.Having read some of the more critical comments Im not sure what people want for breakfast. They have cerial, omlettes, sausages, coissants, fresh fruit, tea, coffee etc.. Sure sometimes at peak periods you have to wait for a table or they have run out of something for a short time but this is Bali and time is not of the essence.
The shuttle runs into Ubud on the hour and back again at 10 past the hour but we walk in and get a taxi back for $2.00.
This is a grand old dame of a hotel and whilst there are smarter, more modern hotels in the area none will match the ambiance, peace and tranquillity of Tjampuhan. This is the REAL Bali.

Room Tip: Try and book Arie Smith 4,5 or 6. A little dearer but worth it. mNot too mant steps either!!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foamcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had high expectations of this mountain retreat, choosing it over other more modern facilities. The rooms have NO VENTILATION. They smell discusting (moreso than standard drain smells that are common, it was hard to breath) MOLD and MOSS was growing off the bathroom walls about 2cm thick!!! Doors to the rooms dont seal up at night so bring your own mozzie net or repelant. Service is extremely slow and non understanding. This place is so bad we are writing this review off of there computers using the free internet connection which coincidentally is the biggest advantage of staying here! Our advice is avoid it like the plague!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had high hopes for our stay here - beautiful river valley setting, jungle views, old world charm - only to be very disappointed. While the setting remains a stunner, the poor level of service and standard of maintenance really soured our stay. There seems to be no recognition of the basic rules of good customer service. While there are no doubt some nice staff, very few appear happy in their jobs and show all signs of poor work conditions. Most notably we've never stayed at a hotel where so many staff have tried to sell us business on the side - transport services, tours, wood carvings etc. Our main tip is to stay elsewhere in Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howlets_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Positives: a stunning location, above the confluence of two small rivers, just 10 mins walk to central Ubud. The buildings are charming Bali-style chalets, with terraces and pools spilling down the hillside. Staff generally helpful within certain parameters.

Negatives: room was run down and lacking in amenties (no TV, safe etc). Food was average. The overall feeling I got from the Tjampuhan was of a grand old lady coasting on her charms. Management needs to decide whether to continue with the steady decline, or step up and make this a five-star resort.

Room Tip: there's a busy road above the hotel, so if you want total peace & quiet ask for a chalet nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Property: Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing