We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tjampuhan sails gracefully on!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Ranked #70 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I should start out by saying I have been staying at this hotel for 30 years. I know the staff well and we are treated like 'pambly" as they would say.
I have read some of the reviews, particularly the bad ones and try to relate their experiences to mine. Firstly this is not a hotel for anyone who is handicapped in anyway. The steps are enormous and impossible to navigate if you are not reasonably fit paticularly if you are put in one of the lower rooms near the river, We request Arie Smith 4,5,or 6. These room have aircon ( not that we ever use it ) a safe if you feel insecure and wonderful bathrooms.There is no TV but who wants one ? Its all in Indonesian anyway. The patio off the room is large and overlooks the valley and its only a short walk to the dinning room. The breakfast is more than adequate with all the usual food stuffs available.Having read some of the more critical comments Im not sure what people want for breakfast. They have cerial, omlettes, sausages, coissants, fresh fruit, tea, coffee etc.. Sure sometimes at peak periods you have to wait for a table or they have run out of something for a short time but this is Bali and time is not of the essence.
The shuttle runs into Ubud on the hour and back again at 10 past the hour but we walk in and get a taxi back for $2.00.
This is a grand old dame of a hotel and whilst there are smarter, more modern hotels in the area none will match the ambiance, peace and tranquillity of Tjampuhan. This is the REAL Bali.

Room Tip: Try and book Arie Smith 4,5 or 6. A little dearer but worth it. mNot too mant steps either!!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Foamcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had high expectations of this mountain retreat, choosing it over other more modern facilities. The rooms have NO VENTILATION. They smell discusting (moreso than standard drain smells that are common, it was hard to breath) MOLD and MOSS was growing off the bathroom walls about 2cm thick!!! Doors to the rooms dont seal up at night so bring your own mozzie net or repelant. Service is extremely slow and non understanding. This place is so bad we are writing this review off of there computers using the free internet connection which coincidentally is the biggest advantage of staying here! Our advice is avoid it like the plague!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had high hopes for our stay here - beautiful river valley setting, jungle views, old world charm - only to be very disappointed. While the setting remains a stunner, the poor level of service and standard of maintenance really soured our stay. There seems to be no recognition of the basic rules of good customer service. While there are no doubt some nice staff, very few appear happy in their jobs and show all signs of poor work conditions. Most notably we've never stayed at a hotel where so many staff have tried to sell us business on the side - transport services, tours, wood carvings etc. Our main tip is to stay elsewhere in Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howlets_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Positives: a stunning location, above the confluence of two small rivers, just 10 mins walk to central Ubud. The buildings are charming Bali-style chalets, with terraces and pools spilling down the hillside. Staff generally helpful within certain parameters.

Negatives: room was run down and lacking in amenties (no TV, safe etc). Food was average. The overall feeling I got from the Tjampuhan was of a grand old lady coasting on her charms. Management needs to decide whether to continue with the steady decline, or step up and make this a five-star resort.

Room Tip: there's a busy road above the hotel, so if you want total peace & quiet ask for a chalet nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacificBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Beautiful located next to river full of trees, the rooms are nicely decorated, for a very calm and relaxing vacation. Note: no TV in the rooms, no WiFI internet, only conection in the lobby. No extra noises, only the water runing...

Room Tip: You will walk alot to reach your room... not facilities for wheelchairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spectacular grounds on many levels, not too far from Ubud centre - can walk and there is a free shuttle bus. Pools are spring fed, cold but refreshing. Rooms were a bit disappointing. For the dollars we were surprised that the rooms did not have room safe, or a fridge or a television. But they were large with huge bathroom. The complex is enormous so be prepared for a walk if you are located away from the entry. Breakfast was so so, restaurant expensive but the staff were great. The spa area down near the river is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Loved it. stayed in 2 different rooms, one honeymoon and the other more basic. Both were fantastic. Service is great-all staff freindly and attentive. Breakfast was yummy, loved it and even had it in the room a few times. Spa too expensive to have atreatment in but did use the hot and cold pool and steam room. Swimmingpools both fantastic with lovely fluffy towles provided. View was fantastic- lovely river and perfect gardens. Steps added a bit of good exercise tot he holiday0 hehe. And also slowed us down so we coudl take int he views. Wear mossie repellant as this area is full of bugs! Was funny when we had a gecko in the room. The shuttle service works well, but often in the evenign we got a cab back tot he hotel for $2 and in the mornigns we walked into town. Was both for families and couple and everyone we met loved the hotel too!
We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FanningB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.6 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $77 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing