We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace & Harmony in the Rice Paddies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 172 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Peace & Harmony in the Rice Paddies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Such a gorgeous and peaceful resort - located a short drive or a 20 min walk away from the main streets of Ubud. Definitely worth visiting for the relaxation and time away from technology and noise. Has a good spa, great local food and a pool which is nestled right on top of a tropical gully.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebondipantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    136
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
189
526
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Great hotel. Stayed here for 6 nights in Wapa Villa. Wonderful pool area with a big child pool. We received a complimentary balinese massage in the relaxing spa facilities. Great breakfast. Very attentive staff. Very good pasta.
The minibar and the aktivities were too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livasmutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at Waka di Ume for only 2 nights, and wish we could've stayed longer. Everything about this resort is wonderful.

The location - about 5min drive from the centre of Ubud, is amazing. Our room overlooked the rice paddies, and was so beautiful. The layout of the resort makes it so tranquil and private. The little details like plaques near the trees telling you which kind of trees they are, and the small bowls of flowers everywhere, made the resort so inviting.

The room - we stayed in a Lanai room, and we were amazed the moment we walked in. The canopied beds are gorgeous, and the bath was so luxuriously large!

The staff - each and every one of the staff members we met were so lovely, and we really felt like they took the time to make us feel like friends rather than guests. Because we were so relaxed, we constantly missed the free hotel shuttle bus to Ubud. The staff were wonderful, and would not let us take a taxi - they would organise a special shuttle service to Ubud just for us! A lovely touch. The staff were so friendly to other guests who were travelling with their young children - this would be the perfect place to stay with young ones.

The food - we only ate at the hotel for breakfast, and the breakfast was the best of our entire trip. We wish we had time to have dinner there too - the food looked amazing.

The spa is wonderful. On our last day we spent 4.5 hours getting massages, pedicures, manicures and hair treatments, and the girls at the spa are really fantastic. The hair treatment is a must.

I can't wait to return to Waka di Ume - we had such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Waka Di Ume and our only regret is not staying longer. Staff is very friendly and helpful, they were more than happy to suggest good restaurants and things to see and do in Ubud. From the moment you check in front desk staff starts greeting you by your first name, although it is not very big place it was quite impressive that they remembered our names. You feel very much welcomed. We stayed in an upstairs Lanai Rice Terrace and absolute loved it. It is beautifully decorated; very romantic and relaxing. No TV or radio… perfect. Our balcony was overlooking rice fields and was perfect for romantic meal or just relaxing with a book. Breakfast is included in price and you have a choice of continental or Balinese. Everyone should try the Balinese breakfast at least once, it is delicious. Complimentary afternoon tea comes with daily selection of Balinese cakes. I have a sweet tooth and found myself looking forward to those delicious cakes as soon as breakfast was over. The most amazing thing about Waka Di Ume is rice fields that surround it. It was so serene. Perfect place to take beautiful pictures of rice fields and the surroundings. At night, you could sit on the balcony and enjoy beautiful summer nights with fireflies lighting up the rice fields. What a pleasant surprise. The pool was also very inviting as they had two levels with one feeding the other. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to take advantage of many services offered, like cooking lessons, spa treatments, rice field tours, etc. but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipnmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I fully recommend staying at this wonderful boutique villa resort. I treated my daughter to a Bali trip as she has just finished her university degree. Waka di Ume were welcoming from the first day we arrived to the day we left. We chose the family villa with 2 bedrooms & a private pool. The attentive service from the reception area, dining area right through to the cleaning of the room staff was fantastic. I am very fussy about service & I can confidently say Waka di Ume excelled in this area! Well done guys & I look forward to seeing you again in February 2011!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I were there in mid October, we were so thrived when we arrived (not the drive to the hotel though, the windy road), the staffs really nice, they know us by our names when we arrived, and we got free upgraded too (woohoo, you can't bet that, rite?) The room was spacey, and we had a pool for ourselves, it was awesome.
O, one more thing, they have cooking classes there, the instructor was great, she took us to the morning market, showed us all kinda of herbs, and some traditional food as well. After that we went back to the hotel and had breakfast, we cooked and ate right next to the rice field.
All in all, this hotel is great, I would love to live there if I can afford it :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duckviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We just returned from our stay at Waka Di Ume. My fiancee and I had our wedding there during our stay. The accommodations were AMAZING. They were so clean and modern. We loved the outdoor shower. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I felt truly pampered while I was there. It is even nicer and more beautiful there than the photos on their website show.

They helped us obtain all the documentation needed for our wedding and provided all we needed for an exquisite wedding - including a photographer at a very reasonable cost, who did an outstanding job. The flowers and decor were lovely for the wedding, and they surprised us with decorating our villa - flowers all over our bed, in the bath and hanging outside.

The restaurant is delicious and very clean. We ate most of our meals there, and the complimentary breakfast is outstanding.

We loved being so close to the Ubud village, and the shuttle is very reliable, as are the airport transfers.

We also took daily yoga and had massages which I would highly recommend.

I give Waka Di Ume my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#9 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#14 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing