We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, intimate and a rare jewell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small, intimate and a rare jewell”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed at the Wapa Di Ume Resort & Spa (formerly Waka Di Ume) for five nights. Unknown to the hotel we had planned the trip to celebrate my 50th birthday. Despite visiting Bali several times this was our first stay in Ubud. Upon arrival we were met by the hotel manager and key staff and it quickly became clear that this is one very special establishment. They had worked out from our details what was going on and made sure we were treated with the utmost care. The room was a Lanai Sweet overlooking the rice fields and pool areas at the rear of the resort. The room was huge with a separate shower and toilet area, a kind of over-sized studio apartment but in the luxury category. The bed was the largest four poster bed I have ever seen, it was draped with white mosquito netting and was super comfortable. The staff at this resort are incredible, everyone knew who we were and went out of their way to make us welcome and ensure every need was met. They succeeded at this with ease. The restaurant is clean and the service is excellent, you simply must try their home made papaya jam! Oh and they also do gluten free meals so my wife was very happy. The hotel has a shuttle service that runs between the hotel and Ubud palace every hour, it is free and very reliable so try it. The hotel offers incredible advice on tours, local drivers etc so please listen to them they really do know the area well. If you are looking for an exquisitely quiet holiday resort (only 21 rooms) and are not dependent on TV or radio (because there are none) then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There really is no bad room, but if I had to choose I'd ask for an upstairs Lannai Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ropesbasstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much to take time to share your experience for your recent stay with us on Trip advisor

First, congratulation again for your 50th birthday and wish all the best with you. we really appreciate for your gracious comment that you enjoy your stay with us and satisfaction for the bed and rooms, the facilities and benefits, and our staff services.

thank you very much for recommending our resort to other readers and looking forward to welcome you back home again in near future.

With best regards,

Gusti Swijana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    160
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
221
621
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Wapa and could have not be more happier ! It is the absolute perfect cocoon ... The perfect combination (I found it really hard to choose an hotel in Ubud as they are so many !!) The location is perfect as it is close enough to Ubud city to be able to walk and fare enough on the hill to be surrounded by quite rice field ..... Having said that, there is a shuttle departing the hotel every hours ... The rooms are very comfortable with everything you could want and well attended. We have been upgraded and stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom villa with private pool just for the two of us ! The staff here are Great and careful .... I can only say treat yourself and stay at the Wapa!

Room Tip: All rooms are great are they are all facing the rice field ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leelouyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay with us on trip advisor

Management and staff Wapa di Ume really appreciated to choose us to stayed for your holiday in Bali and we delight that you satisfied with the location of the resort surround with rice field and our staff services. in the evening the lighting at airport and the City of Denpasar also visible from the restaurant.

Thank you very much for recommended our resort to other readers and looking forward to welcome you back home again in near future.

With best regards,

Gusti Swijana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this resort and have no complaints at all. Had the best service and sightseeing advice from the friendly staff. The room was palacial and was always clean and tidy.(we will miss getting our bed turned down every evening). Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner was amazing. The hotel provided us with a trustworthy external reasonably priced driver who was a wealth of knowledge. The location is great, just a short ride on the free hourly shuttle bus to the centre of the town. Our stay was comfortable and totally relaxing, I would not hesitate to suggest this hotel and I wish we could be back there soon to recover from stress and enjoy the Paradise for a while.
Thanks, Mr Martin and Ms Jennifer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us on Tripadvisor

we delight to know that you enjoy your recent stay with us and the location, the information you got from the staff, the quality of food at the restaurant and our staff services are met your expectation.

Again thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you back home again in near future

With best regards,

Gusti Swijana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We brought our grandson with us and we all just loved the place, the people and the care each and every person in the resort gave all of us. Truly an idyllic location as our room was facing the rice fields. Except that it was harvest time so the farmers were burning the stems and to get the rice paddies ready for next planting. We also enjoyed the cooking lessons and the lunch that we prepared for the rest of our party. The spa is amazing and our grandson freely went around the premises exploring as the whole staff took very good care of him. The Indonesian breakfast of nasi goring is very heavy but delicious. Definitely the place I want to stay again the next time I come to Ubud. The only problem is getting there from the city center which is of course not under their control. The city of Ubud should do something about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElegantJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us on Tripadvisor

we really happy that you and family enjoy your recent stay with us. mostly all of our rooms facing to rice field but unfortunately when you arrived it is still harvest season which made the view is not really good as usual.
we glad to know that you also enjoy the cooking class, the spa,and our services. regarding of the traffic our government still progress to make a bridge for an alternative way to avoid any traffic jam in future especially direction to our resort from Ubud center.

Again thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you back home again in near future.

With best Regards,

Gusti Swijana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just spent 5 days at the Wapa and couldn't begin to explain how wonderful it is. The location is beautiful, very restful, relaxing and really idilic setting. Looking out onto the rice fields and the glow of civilisation in the distance at night is beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you could want and well attended. The Spa is divine and I highly recccomend it as with the Yoga studio. The two most outstanding aspects of the Wapa thought really is the people and the food. The staff here are AMAZING .... From the manager Gusti to all of the team they are just delightful. They remember and use your name always and are just so genuinely delightul and keen to share the Bali hospitality. I think they make your stay all that more amazing. And then the food .... we ate in the restaurat for the first 3 nights it was just that good! All up I can only say do yourself a favour and stay at the Wapa!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rice Terrace Villa No 7(no pool). I think it is one of the best as it had a nice garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us on tripadvisor.

We delight to know that you enjoy your recent stay with us, we also really happy that the location of the resort, the spa and yoga, the food and the services from the staff are met your expectation.
again thank you very much for sharing the information of our resort and inviting readers to stay with us, looking forward to welcome you back home again in near future.


With best Regards,

Gusti Swijana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's my second time in this Hotel and I can say again is my favourite Hotel ever.
This place is always beyond my expectations: the first time I was surprised by the location, the staff, the care of every little detail is behind any part of the Hotel.
This time I was amazed by the free upgrading in the villa wapa and the suite the second night.
The rooms are very comfortable and full of details, all of them (I tried 3 different kind!) have different characteristics.
The staff is excellent, the activities are amazing, the location great (just a bit hide from the centre of the town, that makes the stay totally relaxing, but comfortable as the shuttle bus is leaving often). The only tip I could do is to try to arrange extra activities out of the hotel as they could be a bit overpriced. I would suggest this hotel and I wish I could be back there at least once a year to recover from stress and enjoy the Paradise for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eugeniamShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is our pleasure to have you again at Wapa di Ume Resort and spa, in this opportunity I would like to thank you for taking time to write your review and we really happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

Again, thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you back again in near future.

Best regards,

Gusti Swijana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this hotel.
Have no complaints at all.
Had the best service from the lovely staff.
Breakfast and afternoon tea was amazing.
The free shuttle every hour was fantastic also.
The hotel provided us with a trustworthy external reasonably priced driver.
Wouldn't hesitate at recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementWakadiume, Resort Manager at Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really glad to know that you enjoy your stay with Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa during your holiday in Bali. we're appreciate your writing to us to express such a gracious comment regarding our Resort, facilities and our staff services.

Again thank you very much and we are looking forward to serve you again in near future.

With best Regards,

Gusti Swijana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,865 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#16 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing