We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Good but not 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Good but not 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just come home from the Waka yesterday. Was nice, however is a bit tired and is currently under renovation. Annoyingly they did not inform us of this when we booked. We stayed in a rice terrrace pool villa, is good for 2 x singles as there are 2 x beds or a family. However the A/C is inadequate for the space and does not cool the bed in the open area, which is hot all day. You need to change and use the main bedroom if you want to stay cool. Room and bathroom was pleasant, is quite rustic, if you like shabby chic look you will love it. Pool was nice addition, though the main pool area is quite scenic and shady.
Due to renovation the breakfast and dinner area is very basic, definately not up to standard for the money we paid. Breakfast was average, they need to step up the quality of the bread, pastries and provide a toaster, cold toast is not acceptable, however the staff are lovely and did heat our toast when requested.
Afternoon teas were not at all impressive, the cold toast re-emerged one day as a small club sandwich. We did actually send ours back one day and again, the staff are so lovely they brought us some nice cake, much more befitting tea time. However we were expecting something a bit more lavish as other resorts in Ubud serve some pretty awesome teas.
We ordered room service twice for lunch, hamburgers and sandwiches, which were great and tasty.
The yoga was not on when we stayed, is only 2 times a week which is a great pity as their yoga room is beautiful. The spa is expensive compared to rest of Ubud, but the facility itself is nice, but not 5 star. We felt if the prices were dropped we would have used it a lot instead of going out for treatments.
Shuttle to town was always on time and staff very polite and sweet.
Lastly, when we arrived the free wi fi was not working , unfortunately needed a trip into an Ubud cafe to connect. Didn't happen again during stay but we could have done without the irritation. Again the staff were helpful and apologetic. Honestly, this has happened to us before - thats bali - but we have always recieved either a room credit, dinner etc. we felt they should have compensated us for that inconvenience.
If you like a nice room in the rice fields, you will love it, but it is not a 5 star resort, and is at the pricey end for rooms and suites in Ubud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    126
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
180
481
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nestled in a rice-field, and away from the hustle and bustle of the city and shops, this Resort provides a great place to unwind and relax. Do not look for a TV--there aren't any in the rooms! This means that guests are motivated to make full use of the facilities--swimming pool, yoga center, walk in the rice fields, or laze with fine food and drinks at the restaurant. The town is nearby in case you want to visit arts and crafts museums or showrooms. Prices of branded goods are also reasonable at the town. Will visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Waka di Ume is located in a beautiful setting and is ideal if you'd like to totally unwind and relax. The gardens are immaculate and add to the tranquility of the place. The relatively small size of the complex made it a real haven in contrast to the busier tourist destinations in Bali. The pool area is very enticing and a great locaton to have a swim or read a book.
However, the highlight is definitely the friendly staff who are totally attentive and welcoming.

Waka di Ume is just out of town but the 20 minute walk into the centre of Ubud is very managable and the hourly shuttle service is handy. You can take advantage of the numerous spa centres in Ubud as most are prepared to do a hotel pick up and drop off.

The hotel lobby and restuarant are undergoing some renovation but the alternative breakfast venue (the Yoga Room) was a perfect setting providing a leisurely start to the day.

I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

* Amazing spa!!!!!! I enjoyed the 2.5 hour package and left walking on a cloud
* Lovely room with a beautiful view
* Serene pool area
* Great food
* Hourly shuttle to the main street of Ubud
* Good location 10 mins drive from main street of Ubud
* Staff very friendly and helpful

Thanks for a wonderful retreat. I fully recharged my batteries and am ready to get back to my busy daily existence.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room for a beautiful view of the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were lucky to secure a room with our own private pool which was above the main path so we felt this was lovely and gave us privacy. Our arrival welcome drink was so refreshing as it took ages to come from Legian due to the crazy Saturday traffic.. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinners we ordered as room service and it was lovely to sit and see the rice paddies as our view. The pagoda set amongst a lotus pond was a beautiful place to sit and order a refreshment and just be. The pool and yoga room sure looked nice but we didn't use the pool seeing we had our own private pool. Our bed was super cosy and romantic. We loved the fact there was no TV as we could just lie and look at our fabulous bamboo and wicker ceilling. We really loved our sunken bath too. The afternoon tea served in the restaurant was also very yummy. We didn't stroll along the road as we found it a bit busy with loads of motorbikes zooming past and i think part of the whole experience is to just enjoy Waka Di Ume. We ventured into Ubud after we left and it certainly is a very busy, bustling place from the tranquil one I remember from 14 years ago.. Going back to Waka Di Ume..who apparently own the rice paddies..there was much laughter from rice paddy workers as they carried on with their duties and we appreciated how simple and joyous life can be. Waka Di Ume does offer a unique experience with a difference. We really had a romantic time.

Room Tip: Try not to have to go to UBUD if you can help it..this is the place to stay and hang amongst it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milawa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Waka di Ume Resort is set in a beautifully tranquil environment. Total relaxation.
Beautiful friendly staff, great afternoon tea, fabulous pool, superb massages and no TV!!
Restaurant has great food. Shuttle bus every hour into Ubud - what more could you want !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a nice resort, but not great. On first arriving, the room was stunning but then we started to notice little things as our stay went on.
The front doors to our room were really difficult to close and didn't provide much security; there was a really bad smell that came up from the drains in the bathroom; the cupboards didn't close properly; the staff weren't very friendly or were pestering us to buy services we didn't want. For example, my husband was struck down by food poisoning while were were there (can't say whether or not it was their food) and when I went to reception to ask for some help I was given some medicines, which was nice of them, but then hounded for 5 minutes about signing up for a bike ride the next day when he knew one of us was ill and I was just trying to get back to our room. Plus the 'hourly' shuttle bus into town was really unreliable and we found ourselves twice having to hike back from Ubud to the resort after waiting half an hour for shuttles that just never showed up.
Basically, for a place that boasts to be luxury, it felt a bit shabby and could have done with some maintenance and an attitude overhaul.
They did organise a free trek to the nearby rice fields, which was excellent, and we had a nice hour-long massage in the spa. The food was pretty good too... big delicious breakfasts, which were included with our stay, and the dinners were very good quality, although expensive for what you got (e.g. we had cheese burgers one night, which came with 3 potato wedges and cost over £5).
All in all, we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnydarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#5 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa

Property: Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud 80761, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural and artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of sixteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 10 Villas with pool,8 spacious Di Ume suites and 15 Lanai Rooms. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant,Pool Bar, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Center and meditation center, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Wapa di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and color of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing