We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
58
93
36
16
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
93
36
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive suiteayung rivernice stayubud townrice paddiesvalleypoolsmaintancejunglebalidriverbathtubparadise
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 220 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

This was the first hotel we stayed at while in bali (1 of 4). We stayed in a suite, room 304. It was good, the staff are very helpful and the views are beautiful. It is quite secluded. The room was a lovely size, and the bathroom better still (jacuzzi bath etc) however, there are some areas requiring TLC. The air conditioning drips constantly and there are several damp patches on the wall. None of this will ruin your stay but they could do with being touched up. Would recommend. It is great value, the inclusive breakfasts are very tasty and good quality. My husband loved the noodles (yes noodles for breakfast are a must!)

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kbacon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I spent five nights at the Puri Bunga Resort & Spa in early January of this year. The resort is on the steep slop adjacent to the Ayung River and provides a magnificent view of the valley below. The resort boasts two swimming pools. The draw card would have to be the plunge pool at the back of the resort with the spectacular view of the valley below and the Ayung River (see picture).

The resort is well maintained and the garden manicured accordingly. At the time of my stay the rambutants trees in the garden by the swimming pool and the jackfruit tree by the reception office were fruiting, which was very pleasing to see.

The staff of the resort were attentive and helpful. Being in a rural setting of Bali, the level of English spoken by the staff was adequate. This is just a remark to the other reviews.

The deluxe room (with queen bed), which I booked, is big. The combine shower-toilet is very roomy, about just as big as the room itself. It even has a bathtub. The shower has a clear roof such that you can see the sky above.

The mini-fridge in the room can be noisy at night. But I just turned it off for a good night sleep. The other thing that might wake you up in the early hours of the morning is the rooster(s) from the property next to the resort. I didn't mind it as I found it charming and part of the rural setting.

The menu from the restaurant at the resort is nothing to die for. I tried the nasi goreng here and it was just average in taste and the serving was small. Get bangs for your bucks by going 30 meters down the road for some smoky bbq chickens or baby ribs (at the Warung Kayana) or 30 meters in the opposite direction of the road for some truly Balinese speciality in some bbq suckling pig. But if you're after some coffee then the one served by the restaurant at the resort is exceptionally good. This was the thing that I was looking for every morning before heading out for a tour of the surrounding.

Overall I would recommend this resort for its peace and tranquillity. It would be perfect for couples or a small family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KL8ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this resort, the service was average, many of the staff spoke little English and some of the "little" things were missing. But the view from our balcony was worth the price of the room, looking down to the white water and magnificent vegetation. If you are fussy about luxuries this may not be the place for you but as somewhere to relax and ponder a stunning view with little to disturb you it takes some beating at the price. Spa was lovely but this is not a place for those with a dicky knee as there are steep walks aplenty.

Room Tip: The executive suite or room 314 is superb
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natashya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have NEVER been treated this badly in a hotel. After arriving and checking in we left the luggages in our room (first impression: a bit disappointing) and went to visit Ubud. When we came back we wanted to take a shower, which wasn't working properly because of calcification. That's when we gave the room a closer look: the room was oozing of mold. The airco was so dirty it made a lot of noise. The musquito net was covered in mildew. There were ants all over the place. We went to the reception to complain and asked for another room. After a horrible attitude we went to see a different room. Exactly the same story in this room (which was a SUITE).

After telling the reception this room was also dirty and frankly bad for our health, we got YELLED at by the staff. They said our complaints were lies and told us that we had to tell them sooner (it was 21:30). They practically kicked us out of the hotel and dared to charge us fully for the room. We told them we weren't accepting this and they went BALLISTIC. At this moment we were completely done with them and wanted to leave asap. They said that if we wanted our money back we had to come back the following day. The manager would be there.
They offered to bring us to the center of Ubud. They gave us the impression that this was a sort of apology. After being brought to the center (130 miles an hour), the guy asked us 50.000 (!!) rupiah for the ride!

The following day we went back to the hotel. It was exactly like we expected: the promise of a full refund was forgotten and the manager was nowhere to be found. After making a scene in front of other tourists and again being yelled at by the staff they gave us proof that we would get our money back.

DON'T go here. The pictures look nice, but it's very deceptive. Since the hotel has been build there has been no restauration or maintenance at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Fauve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanly M, General Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Firstly i would like to thank for your contribute to Puri Bunga Resort,since Puri Bunga opening we always try do the best service for all guests who stay at Puri Bunga Resort.And id like to apologize if our service not as your expected.And now we are very concerned again about operational in Hotel according that you say in Tripadvisor

Regarding the refund are given in next day due your request at night when our accounting office is closed.And the next day i was already waiting you in lobby hotel with the time that your specify but you have to go first

Once again thank you for comment that was given to us can make our service more better in the future

Best Regards,

Stanly R Muntuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

we have been staying in the hotel for 2 nights. it is a tiny facility with only 10 bedrooms and has kind of a familiar charming. the puri bunga is located a little bit outside the centre of ubud and built in the middle of the forest. the overview and the surrounding is overwhelming!! they offer a shuttle service at 10 a.m and 4 p.m. which drives you straight to the heart of ubud. the staff couldn't have been more hospitable when they brought us the food directly to the room including some candles so we were able to enjoy the diner outside.
the only point which disappointed me was the driver who was organized by the hotel to bring us to the next destination. he literally lacked of english skills and wasn't really able to communicate with us. that was kind of awkward on a six hours drive especially because we got use to have drivers to ask for any recommendations.
to sum it up we would stay there again and ask for an english speaking driver the next time!

ps. if you want to try the local food and get away from the expensive restaurant in central ubud there is a warung called kayana right around the corner of the hotel. you also find it on trip advisor with a self-written review from me.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Niels H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews