We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, serene and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okawati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Okawati Hotel
Ranked #102 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Cay
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet, serene and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This little hotel is well off the busy Monkey Forest Road, where you can hear the birds singing to wake you each morning. The garden is lush and well maintained, the breakfast is served either on our private porch or on the patio restaurant, with choices of pancakes, french toast or eggs your way. The staff is very helpful, friendly and will arrange for anything you wish to do. We enjoyed a couple of half day tours to the country-side to see the nearby temples and volcanoes. The bed was comfortable, ceiling fans kept it cool at night and the bathroom was large.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upstairs room with king-sized bed and large bath, called 'superior' I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haidee127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    111
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
50
157
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
253 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

The central Ubud location is fantastic. The hotel is off the Monkey Forest Rd. which is busy, but the hotel's location down several side alleys make it a quiet and peaceful retreat. The owner is active in the management and is there for your every need. We were met at the airport whicht worked like clockwork and took several day trips with excellent drivers arranged by the hotel.

Room Tip: We spend a great week at the hotel with no complaints! Great homemade yoghurt with honey for breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a great 4 night stay at the Okawati. It's in a great location - just off the Monkey Forest Road at the Palace end. (Tip: there's a little side road at the end of the football field which you'll need to head down before turning right). There's no traffic noise although lots of birds and other beasties make up for it!

Banana pancakes for breakfast were totally delicious and you can gaze over the paddy field next door while munching.

Rooms were clean and in good order with all of the basics taken care of (there's only one hairdryer shared between all rooms though so would recommend you bring your own).

Our only gripe was that the booking process over e-mail left everyone a bit confused about the dates we were staying which meant we had to explain we were checking out one day earlier that they had expected. All sorted in the end though.

A good option if you're looking for somewhere reasonable in Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaleedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived quite late after a day of exploring and it was a little difficult to find, there are a few alley ways you need to venture down (on foot) but if you follow the signs you will be fine. The reception is anything but grand but beyond was beautful the gardens, lighting and pool looked great. We had a deluxe room and it was huge! beautiful big four poster bed and stone carvings on the wall, we had windows that looked out over the pool and then a huge private balcony which looked over rice fields. We could see the construction next door but were not affected by any noise. The rooms and bathroom were clean but the shower pressure was not great compared to everywhere else we stayed. Breakfast was divine and huge and having the option to choose where to eat was great (we made the most of our balcony). We did not try the restuarant with so many amazing places a short walk away but we enjoy exploring. I would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor for abit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasing_tha_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have been travelling with two couples for two and a half week in bali. Ubud was our second stay and we loved the hotel for its nice location away from the busy streets, with a rustic view on the rice paddies. The rooms were ok, the bathroom a bit outdated. We only had breakfast in this hotel, which was excellent with good service. For the diner we visited several restaurants in The streets close to the hotel, which offered excellent balinese food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The4Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooroy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

WE recently stayed at Okawati Hotel for 9 days. Bit of confusion when we first arrived as our room was right next to a building site(which is near completion!), so they were able to move us to another room (lesser standard but we had to pay the same price?) The rooms are a good size but the bathroom was not overly clean which I questioned them about...they did try their hardest to clean it. The hotel itself is very traditional old Bali, which we prefer, rather than modern!
The hotel area is very quiet, a real haven from the busy street and a really good location. The pool area is lovely and relaxing. Breakfast was nice...they bring it to your room every morning. I only ate at the restaurant a couple of times which was average, beautiful outlook over rice paddies, tho things didn't seem 'quite' clean. Food and drinks close at 8.30pm so you couldn't get a hot drink or anything after you came back from dinner?
Overall...quite enjoyed our stay...not sure if I would go back tho. For the price we paid ($72US/night) I'm sure there might be better value around? Mrs Okawati herself is lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: Stayed in 9b which was ok, 8b is a bit more private. Both on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Having booked ahead warned by a friend that accommodation in Ubud in August can be like gold dust and not wanting to spend valuable time hawking ourselves around the multitude of hotels and B&Bs in Ubud, I was initially glad when we checked into the Oka Wati for 3 nights, although I thought the $65/ night price tag which pretty steep, as the hotel buildings are off down a quiet alley away from the chaos of the Monkey Forest Road and in an lovely setting, the pool is lovely and clean and there is a view over the wall into a lovely rice paddy and tropical forest behind. However, when we got to our room (3B) things went downhill somewhat as we were directly next to a construction site.... I mean they were about 5 meters away albeit the other side of a low wall so when we were trying to sit in the thoughtfully placed chairs on our own private veranda enjoying the rest from the craziness of Ubud....we were overlooked by workmen and the tranquility was more than somewhat interrupted by the constant banging and sawing and drilling. As the hotel was fully booked for the duration of our 3 night stay there wasn't any possibility to move to another room. I was tempted to move elsewhere but (for reasons mentioned above) we decided not too and instead spent less time in the hotel than we otherwise would have chosen to. The construction work started at 8:30 and finished at about 5, although we were told when we asked if we could move that it wouldn't start until 9 and would finish at 5! In other posts the staff have been singled out as being exceedingly helpful and friendly... indeed, Oka Wati herself was lovely and one of the young guys who generally worked on the desk was at least smiling when he wasn't being helpful, most of the others I would describe as surly. The helpful one did let use the phone to book the Scoot boat to Nusa Lembongan although he was very unhelpful when we asked about the times and various ways of getting there, only pushing the one option for which the hotel seemed to sell the tickets. The breakfast was a big plus, the banana pancakes and the ommlette were fantastic, but the best bit was definitely the yoghurt. You could choose to have your breakfast delivered to your room at whatever time you specified, although we chose to have ours on the pavilion by the pool overlooking the rice field due not wishing to feel like we were breakfasting in a construction site. The room itself was nice, although it could have done with more light and the bathroom ,although obviously recently refitted, smelled a little bit of drains. The fridge was a nice touch as was the free drinking water in the entrance area. On the whole, not a bad hotel, but the experience was ruined for me by the construction work and the seemingly uncaring attitude displayed by most of the staff when I expressed my displeasure!

Room Tip: Room 3B was 5 meters from a construction site in Aug 2011, rooms upstairs had a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_Wanderlusterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#125 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okawati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okawati Hotel

Property: Okawati Hotel
Address: Jalan Wanara Wana, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okawati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us If you want to be close to all the action in Ubud, yet away from the noise and hustle, you have found the right place. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the center of Ubud, on a quiet alleyway off Monkey Forest Road, we are in close walking distance to the market, tourist information, evening performances, soccer field, major shopping, art museums and galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Okawati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okawati Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing