We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Homely Resort in Ubud” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Munut Balinese Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Munut Balinese Resort
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Homely Resort in Ubud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

very lovely place..real homely resort....you must be try to stay there and explore your holiday with alot of activities in Ubud like cycling,rafting and etc.you can see the real bali in ubud area..we like very much this place with open air bath room and private balcony

Room Tip: choose room in the middle area near by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dara_joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    127
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
44
124
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Found this place by accident and I just loved it very quiet and staff lovely and very helpful. Just on the far side of Ubud and only 5 min walk into Ubud itself. I fell in love with the open roof shower/bathroom and the pool just nice and relaxed atmosphere. Little bit of construction going on while there but didn't really bother me noise wise or inconvenience at all. Meals very nice and just an amasing place will stay here next time I come to Bali for sure.

Room Tip: Signage small for hotel itself so look very carefully when coming to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

stayed 2 weeks, hotel quiet and secluded even though on one of the main roads out of Ubud. staff friendly and helpful, good size rooms, well kept grounds. several good restaurants within short walk. easily walk into Ubud - though for some the walk back up the hill to hotel might be a bit steep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yayholidaysNt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I loved Munut so much 6 months ago that I decided to stay again and what a surprise to find the rooms have been beautifully renovated. Still quiet and relaxing and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. New luxury rooms and pool being built at back of property which I'm looking forward to trying out next trip. Didn't notice any construction noise at all.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 105 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Bali with Kids team stayed at de Munut Cottages this weekend and had a pleasant stay.The location in Penestenan is suitable for families because it is quiet and away from the traffic. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the centre of Ubud or the receptionist can arrange a short taxi ride. The only noises we could hear were the birds from the Blanco Museum across the street.
The staff is friendly and they can out an extra single bed room in deluxe rooms for kids. They have 2 communicating rooms for larger families. The cottages are clean and well kept. The swimming pool has a separate shallow pool for little ones. Bali with Kids guidebook recommends De Munut Cottaged for families looking for mid range accommodation with space and in a peaceful location.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Laetitia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Staff was perfectly gracious and friendly. The hotel has a massage parlour attached, but for the price advertised, i would rather try others with better spa setting. The surroundings was lovely. We had a room overlooking the swimming pool and a rice paddy at its back. Free wifi, connectable from room. Lovely breakfast included.
The room- hotel added a spare bed foc for our daughther, which was a lovely touch. The room was dated, with but clean with AC and ceiling fan, a private balcony overlooking the paddy. Lighting could be better, as it was depressing at night with the dim lights. Could hear loud TV from the next room.
The big minus for me was the location, but we sort of know this already. We booked late hence accecpted that we would be away from the centre. The walk to the centre was difficult with our 2 young children- down steep hill by the narrow roadside. Once you reached the main road area, you have to watch out for potholes. 15mins brisk walk gets you there, but there is not much to see or do or shop between the hotel and the center.
There are taxi/transports service everywhere.. Should cost 20k to get you to central ubud, but one night, they wouldnt take us anywhere for less than 40k rup. Would be great if the hotel can provide free shuttles to central ubud.
Bottom line, not great for us, but perfect for those who wish to enjoy the serenity of rural ubud and dont mind the walk to town.

Room Tip: We liked our room near the breakfast area. Rooms on the ground floor around the pool looks newer, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Booked a twin in advance - were given a double room in their neighboring property as they were full - they put another bed in the room which was good, but that property had no wifi which was one of the reasons for selecting this accommodation. The grounds were attractive with temples and statues and lovely carved doors, but the rooms had no decoration at all - and needed a good cleaning. Waking with gecko poop on my bed was acceptable, finding old piles of it along the floorboards was not. The location was very nice - amidst rice paddies, close enough to walk to the centre of Ubud in 10-15 mins but far enough to not hear the traffic. Breakfast was good and provided for a little variety. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#102 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#107 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#90 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Munut Balinese Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Munut Balinese Resort

Property: De Munut Balinese Resort
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#48 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#87 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Munut Balinese Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Munut Balinese resort was established on 1970 and formerly known as Munut Bungalows, then turned back into one of cottages in Ubud under De Munut Cottages. Now they are advancing themselves into De Munut Balinese Resort, a unique resort serving Balinese impression to their guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your De Munut Balinese Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munut Cottages Hotel Ubud
De Munut Balinese Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing