We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience though not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Honeymoon Guesthouses
Ranked #34 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience though not perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Half of our booking was a mix up the room that we booked was being refurbished. So first night in a great room the next four up stairs and not so good a bit to hot. Aside from that we had a most enjoyable stay. Great breakfast on the terrace - sage conversations with the owner be it soccer or spirituality. It is close enough to the centre of town a few minutes walk away, great food at Indus and at Casa Luna the associated restaurants.
This is the second time at the Honeymoon and even though it was not perfect we'll be back as it is great value for money.

The upstairs terrace could really benefit from having a bamboo blind to ease the heat of the sun.

I was wondering where the mother mountain was and one morning I found it to my great surprise and delight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewOTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    163
    78
    27
    10
See reviews for
85
184
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

After booking weeks in advance and booking one of the most expensive rooms with air condition arrive to find that they had mucked up our bboking and we could have aroom with out air conditioning at the same price.... sorry but not good enough. They weren't really all that bothered that we were going to have go out in the heat and find soemthing else. Not a good look for a Lonely Planet recommended hotel

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Piha52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Honeymoon Guesthouse is in a good location just a short walk from the main street in a quiet area. Our room was quite grand (at least from the outside), there was a nice pool, good breakfast, and free wi-fi. Staff couldn't be faulted, they were friendly and went out of their way to help. The associated restaurant (Casaluna) was excellent too.

However for the price paid, we felt a few things about the room should have been better. The double bed was just that - a standard double, 1.35m wide - we would have expected at least a Queen size. The room was dark and the windows had only wooden shutters which while quaint, made the air conditioning struggle and let in a little too much noise from neighbourhood roosters etc and the dear old resident dog. The shower was serviceable but reaching the end of its service life, and we were surprised that shampoo was not only not provided, but not even available on request (the only consumables supplied were toilet paper and cheap soap).

Having come from another similarly-priced property where the rave reviews were entirely justified, we were surprised that Trip Advisor reviewers rated this property so highly. I'm inclined to agree with trutraveller on this one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Pros: Beautiful property. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfasts on your private balcony. Nice common area for hanging out, socializing, internet access. Cooking classes. 10 minute walk from downtown Ubud. Great spa (Lily's) across the street. You can order dinner (it's delivered from sister establishment, the superb restaurant Casa Luna, around the corner). Overall this is an excellent mid-priced choice.

Cons: Not every room has a/c if you want that. Property can feel dank especially in rainy season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Honeymoon Guesthouse for five nights in May. We stayed in a Laxmi room which was spacious and beautiful. Each morning our breakfast was delivered to our private terrace at the time we requested the night before - a lovely way to start the day. I would thoroughly recommend the cinnamon rolls - yummy!!!

The rooms are scattered amongst beautiful gardens so you really don't know that there are other people staying. It is very peaceful and feels very Balinese. There is a lovely pool area which is a real welcome relief after a day of sightseeing or shopping in bustling Ubud.

We also did the Casa Luna market tour and cooking course. This was a great way to find out more about the way that the Balinese eat and the food was great.

Honeymoon guesthouse has a real charm about it but if you like sterile western hotels then it's probably not for you. If however you are looking for somewhere quiet and very balinese to stay then the Honeymoon guesthouse fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubafreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Recommended by my brother we came without expecting too much as was reasonably priced.

exceeded expectaions and was in quiet location, nice pool and room was large, clean and great bed and balcony.

recommend as best in price range - a little off the main Ubud nerve centre but we thought that was an advantage.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandHelenMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Wow - this was the cheapest accommodation of our trip and one of our favourites.. We felt like we were staying in a palace. Had Krishna Room. Beautiful large verandah. Two sisters travelling together. One had a queen size bed, the other a double. Could have held a dance in the bathroom Breakfast was served on our large verandah and it was wonderful. We also attended the Casa Luna Cooking School and were lucky enough to have Janet Deneefe conduct it. She was lovely, and the whole experience was great - trip to the markets very special. The street that the guesthouses are in is quite lovely. Easy walk to everything you could want. Would highly recommend, particularly if you want the more authentic Balinese style accommodation. If you want a negative - the only thing I can say is - they didn't provide a directory in the room to tell you what services were available in the establishment - IE What hours is the pool open, and any other services they had to offer. We "did" have a small elephant walking around in the room above one night - and a totally uncontrolled whinging "aussie" baby in the room opposite one night that went on all night. Not the baby's fault - just the parents. (Can say that cause I am Aussie and it is just so noticeable as opposed to the Balinese children who don't whinge at all!!).
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 197 in Ubud
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 197 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#15 of 575 in Ubud
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ladera Villa
Ladera Villa
#40 of 556 in Ubud
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeymoon Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Guesthouses

Property: Honeymoon Guesthouses
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Honeymoon Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeymoon Guesthouses are just five-minutes from the heart of Ubud and Casa Luna Restaurant. Our elegant Balinese style guest rooms have spacious terraces, are set in lush tropical gardens and each property has a salt-water pool. Breakfast includes freshly made muesli, homemade yoghurt, baked pastries from The Honeymoon Bakery and rice dishes. For those who want to rest, you can laze by the pool and order in delicious meals from the extensive menu of the Casa Luna Restaurant or have a massage by our trained staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honeymoon Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Guesthouses Hotel Ubud
Honeymoon Guesthouses Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing