We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but dont expect too much”
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #89 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for over a week as booked in.advance via Agoda, else would have checked elsewhere, service dont often come with a smile, some rooms old, stained mosquito nets, and some pillow cases stained as well, and smell of strong spray. We looked at a few rooms before deciding on one. Buffet breakfast simple, but good, but only if they have enough guests staying. Otherwise, not the best A la Carte.....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDS31114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 548 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed the rooms. They are spacious and airy. We love the pools and walking around the rice paddies and the breakfast is always great.

The only downside is the "shower" in the rooms. If you are upstairs, you only have a hand-held shower head which is located at the top of the bathtub. Therefore it is impossible to stand up to have a shower. You do need to squat down in the bathtub but you always end up with water all over the floor.

I would go back again but maybe stay in one of the villas so I can have the outdoor bathroom with a proper shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fifth stay at Ananda and though the rooms in some wings are a bit older it has had a thorough enough makeover and tidy up to still be a fave. The service is great, such a genuine family run vibe and far enough from the town that the "Eat,pay leave" tourists are not so prevalent. If you get the chance the cooking class, gamelan class and dance class are really great. Buffet breaky still the best I have had in Bali. Yep, had some ants in our lovely outdoor bathroom, but I had bug spray! Jobs right! If you want value, peace and are happy to miss some glitz it's still great.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank gurushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a delightful experience. The grounds are beautiful, large and well maintained, and includes two swimming pools, a rice field, and lots of space between the accommodation. 'Cottages' is not the right word to describe the accommodation - more like large, two storied houses, separated by pathways and gardens. My room was large, with a delightful balcony, a comfortable bed with mosquito netting, and a satisfactory bathroom and toilet. The breakfast was very good. There are no TV's in the rooms, and wifi is limited to the office building. The staff were universally friendly and helpful, and there was always a taxi or two ready to take us somewhere. The town is a good 2 -3 km away, but there are some shops nearby and an excellent restaurant over the road. Yes, there are 'bugs' but this is a tropical area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our room was lovely and clean, and we had a beautiful veranda next to a rice patty. We were lulled to sleep by frog song, and it was lovely. The bathroom was Western but was open to the elements, so there were ants and other bugs as well as dirt on the ground near the open ceiling. Room service was fast and the food was tasty. The breakfast buffet was ample and changed daily. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Don't drink the juice, it contains water. It made one of my friends violently ill, and while it wasn't the hotel's fault that she drank it, a higher-class hotel wouldn't have put tap water or ice made from tap water in their beverages.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The surrounds if this accommodation is simply superb. Rice fields in the middle of our accommodation was a nice and welcome surprise. But would have been nice, given the size if the complex if someone had told us where the pools where. We wandered around on our last morning abc discovered the second pool but we felt that we were intruding in people's accommodation as we were looking.
When we bookedcour room months ago we requested a room furthest from reception and were told that they would try and accommodate our request. I doubt they even tried and we got closest to reception.
Our room had two windows: one overlooked the toilet and shower and the other had no fly screen . Needless to say that they remained closed. There was no mosquito coils provided which was disappointing and so we purchased our own. And there was black stuff all over our mosquito nets/curtains (they were so thick you couldn't actually see out) that we thought they were bed bugs. But we ended up thinking they might be from the lacquer on the ceiling. Hard to know for sure. Overall a really disappointing stay in a place where the surroundings are just devine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSparrow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It may be great, it may be awful.

Ananda Cottages has a very nice setup, cottages in the middle of nature, with a rice field in the centre. Please mind that you will get lost. Supposedly there are 3 pools, but we never found the third!

We were given cottage 10, it was simply horrible. The cottage was well rested with an anti-insect spray can, and shortly after we found out why. We found in 12 hours a good total of 8 dead and alive cockroaches. A bigger discomfort was the humidity, a leakage made everything in the room feel damp, including the bed sheets and our clothes. Airco didn't work.

Next morning we asked for a new room. No apologies, they did not seem surprised, but offered us room 38B which would come available later that day. It still took them a while to get it ready, but in the end worth the wait. This room was a delight, very spacious, clean.

Breakfast is good, but can be crowded. Reception area is nice.
The cottages are a 20-30 minute walk to Ubud centre. You can take a taxi, never pay more than 30-40K IDR. Note that taxi's are arranged privately by anyone with a car in Ubud.
Some in our group enjoyed the spa service.

Another warning on the pool on the far right end of the complex. I was one of 4 guys that ended up wounded after playing with a ball in the pool. The edges on the pool bottom tiles appear to be very sharp. We all had cuts in our feet, one was bleeding badly.
So: don't play in the pool if you are not a child.

I couldn't decide on the rating, a little underestimating the negatives, but I simply can't go over 2 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid cottage 10 (and 11). Make sure you have working airconditioning. The better cottages are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FASttRaveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 197 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 197 in Ubud
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
1.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $49 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing