We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of date hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ananda Cottages
Ranked #80 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of date hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The position of this hotel is marvellous but the rooms are old and out of date.i would recommend to rent a bike (35.000 rupiah)for one day so that you can discover ubud at your own pace,by bike it's only 10 minutes.if you want to stay in the centre,do not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    229
    61
    26
    11
See reviews for
88
208
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our final destination in Bali. After our beautiful private villa in Seminyak, Ananda Cottages feels like it is more for the mass market. Our cottage #36 is on the main track to all the rest of the place and we are constantly having guests and staff pass our room. We also found that staff were constantly trying to hook us up for trips and transport, but this seems very common in Ubud. It is a fair walk down to Ubud, but there is no shortage of transport available as you leave reception.

Negatives: There is a fair amount of maintenance required. In our room for example, the shower just works, the A/C and fans are both noisy. There are no pool towels - you must use the room towels. Our rooms were quiet dark!

Positives: Looking past the maintenance issues, the place looks like a post card. Rice paddies, walk ways, oil lamps at night, stepping stone paths, fountains and beautiful gardens. The pools are set in picturesque surroundings. We found two, but there is supposed to be three. The staff are all wonderful and attentive. The food is acceptable and the fresh bread is amazing.

Overall, one of the reasons we selected this property was our budget and we all agree that we would come to Ananda Cottages again when next in Ubud.

Just so you know the real pool towels did arrive on our last morning :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennZaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ananda feels too much like a 'mass' resort for me with many big groups staying here. Rooms are spread out over two locations and we cold only reach our's via a busy road, the same road we had to take to go for breakfast (very tasty) in the morning, every time we'd step outside the resort we'd be harassed by taxi drivers and tour guides. Rooms were average, a bit dark, bathrooms not that clean and I found two dead cockroaches under my night table. Internet coverage only in common area (once again a road trip away). Lovely pools and friendly staff. Ok for a couple of nights, wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

i stayed here for 7 nights and adored my room - facing the swimming pool. Was a peaceful getaway. Love the spacious room, semi-outdoor bathroom and private porch. Great value for money.
Also had an incident where I left my wallet at the back of the taxi and the driver brought it back!! Wow!!
Have your coffee at Casa Luna :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muriel-Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My first trip to Bali after 31 years, lots of changes, but the serene Ananda cottages reminded me of how Ubud used to be. Large complex, surrounded by rice paddies, a nice walk from centre of Ubud, very clean, spacious rooms, gorgeous Yoga room overlooking rice paddies and excellent breakfasts. I hope to visit again because my stay was way too short.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room (some cottages are two storey, lovely balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basia1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

When you read reviews about Ananda Cottages, you read about the 20min walk to Ubud proper. The hotel is situated in Campuhan, just outside Ubud. The walk to/from Ubud itself is not to be underestimated. It's not dramatically long, but you won't want to do it more than once a day. The Campuhan area is not that interesting, with only a few restaurants and boutique shops. If you are going to stay on the outskirts of Ubud, Nyuhkuning village is a good option, and Alam Jiwa (and it's sister hotels) are excellent for the same money.

The hotel grounds are very beautiful and the rice paddies are pleasant to walk around. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay here, but we did feel a bit far from Ubud. Our room was very large, clean, and quite luxurious, and we enjoyed spending time there and on the large balcony overlooking trees and rice paddies.

The food is not great and quite overpriced and the staff try to sell you day trips and tours while you are eating.The service is generally good, but not quite at the level that you expect from a hotel in this price bracket.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have balconies/outside seating that have little privacy, and I wouldn't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanS_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A lovely peacefull place to stay in the rice paddies, about a ten to fifteen minute walk or a three or four minute taxi ride (cost about AUD $3) out of Ubud. The rooms are in separate blocks of four each with balconies or verandas. Ours was a superior upstairs room with airconditioning and ceiling fan or if you like lots of fresh air just leave the doors and windows open. It cost us US $110 for the room and two buffet breakfasts, this is our third time at Ananda and we have booked to go back again next year, it was a lovely stay. It's a family owned establishment and the staff are all very friendly and happy as are most Balinese people.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#90 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Cottages

Property: Ananda Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#69 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ananda Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Cottages Hotel Ubud
Ananda Hotel Ubud
Ananda Resort Ubud
Ananda Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing