We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taman Harum Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$275
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$580
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
108
117
39
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
117
39
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlethe cottagesrice fieldsdowntown ubudshuttle service isminute drivebedroom villamasharithorbalicarverculturestatuesbugspeaceasia
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in Bali for three days in June and chose Taman Harum after reviewing more than 100 options, and carefully going through 18 short listed resorts / hotels. We chose Taman Harum because it was in Ubud, offered modern accommodation in traditional balinese surroundings and because of the good reviews it had. We wanted something in the "real", "natural" Bali, rather than up market city type accommodations.

And we were wowed right as we entered. The reception is breathtaking. Wood carvings, sculptures, water fountains... We were landing around 1AM, and hotel provided pick up from airport. (On a side note, visa and customs clearance in Bali was the fastest I've ever seen... We were through in under 10 minutes)...

We were two families so booked two rooms. Our rooms were clean, spacious and beds were good. The open bath area was a nice surprise! I guess that's how Balinese bathrooms are! One of the rooms was renovated and had swanky flooring and bath tub. The other room was rather old, with a squeaky cupboard.. But we were ok with that oddity considering other excellent amenities.

Breakfast choices were limited, but we were thoroughly pleased with their service and freshness of fruits and food. We wanted jain food, and they gladly prepared following our instructions correctly.

We weren't in the hotel most of the day.. We'd leave right after breakfast and arrive after dinner. We did use the pool once but didn't try the spa. They have a showroom of wood carvings in the premises. It's great to look at, but we found it expensive.

The paddy field backdrop, refreshing walk through hotel area, quiet sitting areas, welcoming staff and the overall laid back, relaxed Bali experience made our stay truly memorable.

I am sure we will remember this experience for our lives, and I can highly recommend Taman Harum to everyone.

Room Tip: Take the villas if you want something modern - they are recently renovated. A few rooms too are recently renovated. So you may ask for them.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirav_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

More extensive property than we expected. Beautiful landscaping, pool, outdoor restaurant with waterfall and great stone artwork. We found the room very clean and comfortable though a little outdated in terms of furniture and bathroom but we did not spend a lot of time in the room. You will need to take some light source to read much in the room. They do need more lounges but there are a few tables and very comfortable chairs. No nearby restaurants to walk to but the restaurant at the hotel serves a wide variety, is delicious and very reasonable. Included breakfast very filling and delicious-eggs, meat, pastry or toast, or fried rice or noodle, both with fruit or juice, coffee or tea. The massage done on premises by a woman who they call in was excellent and cost approx $15.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with stairs, request first floor ahead of time. Also, downstairs rooms have great patios to sit on.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkey1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we arrived to Taman Harum, we were impressed by how much woodcarving there was around us, it was like entering another cool Balinese village. The hotel complex is pretty old, so is the most of the accommodation they offer. Unfortunately. The bed was really old and squeaky, with some old mosquito net over it, they explained that no new furniture would fit in through the traditional Balinese doors which cannot be damaged. The room was really dark, and the electricity just made it a litlle dim, our location was kind of in the shade or under trees, so not a lot of sun. So, nothing good at first, we stayed there the first night and it wasn't pleasant. It was like sleeping over in someones wooden shed.

So the next morning we asked it there is something else available, eventially paid 40-50% more, and they got us property what they call "Honeymoon Sweet!" This is where everything changed completely! Where we moved is pretty much your own mini villa, with outdoor hot tub, lovely outdoor garden shower, and private entrance to the pool located just next to you. You even had TV with your private satellite dish (not that i was looking forward to watching TV in that amazing place, but you never know where and when you might need it ). The room is spacious, with a nice furnished front porch. Oh, did I mention that from the hot tub you have a nice view on the fields`? Suddenly the vacation became more enjoyable. :)
The hotel staff is friendly ,breakfast was good, they are running free shuttle service to central Ubud. I really liked the reception area, it is outdoors, but decorated like a cozy library.

so , overall , interesting place, but "standard" rooms are not good, definitely upgrade!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a villa, which the staff then said was honeymoon villa, next to pool and kitchen so not so cosy if your on a honeymoon! booked through Agoda.com.
It was lovely but a bit small with 2 kids in the room and despite the room having a big footprint the actual bedroom was small.
Outdoor bathroom with a huge bath, big shower
Seating area, also outdoors with a TV and kitchen area as well. Another outdoor seating area with a glass wall looking over the fields behind
Great pool for the kids and restaurant food was Ok for lite bites and quick food for kids.
best addition was the courtesy car into Ubud until 10 pm, super touch.
Found a puppet museum close by and of course loads of stuff in area for carving, glass work, we did Bird park that kids loved. We had our own hire car which I recommend if you are travelling around Bali.
Small shop across road for nibbles and beer.
A few maintenance details need to be sorted out, light bulbs that do not work, electric sockets broken, blocked shower rose and internet was pretty poor.
But yes it was worth it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

oh we arrived to hotel in the afternoon. First of all their pool is not big as seem on their photos. And second the room that they give us was.really living in humidity. WE dont have high standrts but really itwas not that good for the money that we give in that area. WE planned 3 days but left in 1 day. and they charged 1 more day also. thestaff was good though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birkanbirkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews