We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taman Harum Cottages
Ranked #113 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
san diego, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pretty, relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

More extensive property than we expected. Beautiful landscaping, pool, outdoor restaurant with waterfall and great stone artwork. We found the room very clean and comfortable though a little outdated in terms of furniture and bathroom but we did not spend a lot of time in the room. You will need to take some light source to read much in the room. They do need more lounges but there are a few tables and very comfortable chairs. No nearby restaurants to walk to but the restaurant at the hotel serves a wide variety, is delicious and very reasonable. Included breakfast very filling and delicious-eggs, meat, pastry or toast, or fried rice or noodle, both with fruit or juice, coffee or tea. The massage done on premises by a woman who they call in was excellent and cost approx $15.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with stairs, request first floor ahead of time. Also, downstairs rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    110
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
65
85
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we arrived to Taman Harum, we were impressed by how much woodcarving there was around us, it was like entering another cool Balinese village. The hotel complex is pretty old, so is the most of the accommodation they offer. Unfortunately. The bed was really old and squeaky, with some old mosquito net over it, they explained that no new furniture would fit in through the traditional Balinese doors which cannot be damaged. The room was really dark, and the electricity just made it a litlle dim, our location was kind of in the shade or under trees, so not a lot of sun. So, nothing good at first, we stayed there the first night and it wasn't pleasant. It was like sleeping over in someones wooden shed.

So the next morning we asked it there is something else available, eventially paid 40-50% more, and they got us property what they call "Honeymoon Sweet!" This is where everything changed completely! Where we moved is pretty much your own mini villa, with outdoor hot tub, lovely outdoor garden shower, and private entrance to the pool located just next to you. You even had TV with your private satellite dish (not that i was looking forward to watching TV in that amazing place, but you never know where and when you might need it ). The room is spacious, with a nice furnished front porch. Oh, did I mention that from the hot tub you have a nice view on the fields`? Suddenly the vacation became more enjoyable. :)
The hotel staff is friendly ,breakfast was good, they are running free shuttle service to central Ubud. I really liked the reception area, it is outdoors, but decorated like a cozy library.

so , overall , interesting place, but "standard" rooms are not good, definitely upgrade!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a villa, which the staff then said was honeymoon villa, next to pool and kitchen so not so cosy if your on a honeymoon! booked through Agoda.com.
It was lovely but a bit small with 2 kids in the room and despite the room having a big footprint the actual bedroom was small.
Outdoor bathroom with a huge bath, big shower
Seating area, also outdoors with a TV and kitchen area as well. Another outdoor seating area with a glass wall looking over the fields behind
Great pool for the kids and restaurant food was Ok for lite bites and quick food for kids.
best addition was the courtesy car into Ubud until 10 pm, super touch.
Found a puppet museum close by and of course loads of stuff in area for carving, glass work, we did Bird park that kids loved. We had our own hire car which I recommend if you are travelling around Bali.
Small shop across road for nibbles and beer.
A few maintenance details need to be sorted out, light bulbs that do not work, electric sockets broken, blocked shower rose and internet was pretty poor.
But yes it was worth it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

oh we arrived to hotel in the afternoon. First of all their pool is not big as seem on their photos. And second the room that they give us was.really living in humidity. WE dont have high standrts but really itwas not that good for the money that we give in that area. WE planned 3 days but left in 1 day. and they charged 1 more day also. thestaff was good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birkanbirkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

we spent around 3 nights in april 2013 here.. beautiful property with large green spaces.. the staff here are very pleasant and once u get used to some minor hitches like lizards everywhere and insects, this place begins to grow on you.. Very Balinese. AVoid if you have a problem with lizards and insects , since that is part of the package when you choose Taman harum's nature centric experience. But its a beautiful concept where you get transported to a different world. Food was lovely and their antique collection is superb..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanch2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Taman Harum early June 2013. We had five in our party including our 3 year old Grandson. The staff were very obliging to set up an extra single bed. Taman Harum is excellent accomodation,very modern, our unit was very new. Upstairs and downstairs 2BRoom. The onsuite and bathroom were semi outside, &beautifull. The staff were great, and organised trips for us to the Zoo, and the Monkey Forest, also the Elephant Park.Our included breakfast was very good. We had our evening meals in the restraunt, a great menu to choose from,and the food freshly cooked.As Taman Harum is a bit out of Ubud, they have a free shuttle into town. The swimming pool is large, and very popular. We would certainly stay at Taman Harum again, and recommend!!!!! Also travelling with a small child, the staff were just great with him.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 2. Units 1 to 5 are all very new and I would request one of these units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent around 3 nights in this wonderful place and we were really happy once we saw it! We had such a bad day once we landed in the airport and the dusty roads to Ubud from Denpasar only made us more aggravated. At first, We were a little disappointed when we saw the outside of the hotel; it doesn't look much, but don't judge the hotel because of it's entrance like we did! Inside, you'll be greeted by lush trees and plants, wonderfully crafted (though some are scary- looking) wooden statues, soothing Gamelan music and a wonderful staff that would serve you the most delicious tasting welcome drink. We were treated like old friends as opposed to guests and nothing was toio much trouble. The owner Hari and the manager Tri are two of the most lovely prople you could meet and if you ask Hari may even show you his collection of Harley Davidson motorbikes. High recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#93 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
1.3 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#72 of 199 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Harum Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Harum Cottages

Property: Taman Harum Cottages
Address: Jln. Raya Bunutan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#93 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Harum Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the cool and breezy of the rice field, 17 traditional rooms and cottages are spread across the side of rice fields and lush tropical garden. In each, the Balinese architecture, décor, fine painting is of hotel standard while all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning international traveller are here. All are air-conditioned and have exotic garden bathrooms, convey the essence of the tropic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Taman Harum Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Harum Cottages Hotel Ubud
Taman Harum Hotel
Taman Harum Resort
Taman Harum Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing