We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place with free anytime transport to Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taman Harum Cottages
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is great place, well worth the money.

Benefits:

Yammy breakfast
Free any time transport to Ubud (5-10min drive) by their airconditioned luxurious car
Clean and comfy rooms
Distinctive outside shower
Free books and dvds (in various languages) to rent to your room
Dvd player in your room
Superb pool
Cheap bear
Professional staff and service
Lovelz garden with many trees

Disadvantages

Many mosquitos like in all Ubud area

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie3592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed in the honeymoon suite which was a delight. Outside sunken bath, shower room, views of paddy fields from bed. Arrived on a late flight and were met with our driver. Straight to our room when we arrived at THC, which was nice, no fuss, with a welcomevdrink waiting for us. Rooms have been recently renovated and have lovely stone bathrooms etc. Good pool area, also recently renovated. Nice dinning area, a very relaxed atmosphere throughout. some building working going on, but you cannot expect renovations without some work. We will be back next time we come to Ubud.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here a few nights in September 2011 while visiting a friend who lives in Mas.

As others have noted, it is not *in* Ubud, so if you prefer to be in the center of the tourist areas, then this is not the right choice for you. It is located on a busy, dusty road but once you enter the gates, lovely gardens envelope the hotel and provide a welcome respite from the chaos that defines southeast Asia.

I was able to stay in the newer rooms and was delighted with the cleanliness, modernity and accoutrements. I found the price for the deluxe rooms rather reasonable (around $65/USD per night). The mattress was admittedly a bit on the thin side, but this is fairly common when coming from the states and traveling in Asia; not everyone needs a Westin Heavenly bed! The Wi-Fi was not accessible from the room, but it was a short walk with my laptop through the gardens to the cafe area where I could upload pictures to Facebook and check my emails.

The staff was accommodating and very apologetic when there was a mix-up with my luggage (I switched rooms between the 1st and 2nd nights and not all my luggage was brought over). Food offerings were somewhat limited, but since I was only staying a couple of days and ate most of meals out with my friend, this wasn't an issue.

I did not partake of any tour or driving services so cannot comment on those. Mas is the woodcarving center of Bali and the entry to the hotel has a functional workshop. There are some beautiful pieces on display and of course, the furniture in the hotel is all charmingly carved teak wood.

I'll be returning to Taman Harum next month and look forward to this lovely respite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winged_Scapula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I loved staying here the first time, and the second time it was just as good. The staff welcomed us as though we had come home, and as a result we felt home again. The hotel has had some improvements since we last stayed and looks better than ever.

A new restaurant was being built while we stayed and should be finished really soon. Rooms were clean and cosy. The service was excellent and staff were as always super accommodating. My partner fell ill during this trip and the ladies in the restaurant made him some ginger tea and dry toast delivered to his bed side, and Charlie from the front desk was full of sympathy and offered to call a doctor every 30 minutes. The genuine concern shown by everyone was brilliant.

I once again have nothing bad to say about this place and it was a complete pleasure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Although the old villas are still great, the new ones are very deluxe for only a little more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitten1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at a hotel called Taman Harum, or perfumed garden, in the village of Mas, for 2 nights in November 2011. trying to escape from the chaos that is Ubud, I found this hideaway some 20mins away, along the road from Ubud to Kuta. Heading south from Ubud, you first come to the village of Peliatan, and then Mas. Although separate villages, they all merge into one large road-side existence.

This is the famed village of wood-carvers, and the Taman harum hotel is right smack amongst all the galleries and shops. Enter its doorway, and the property extends far inside. It was built and owned by one of the most famous wood-carvers, and he still lives at the back. The hotel has its own gallery too, called tantra gallery, with high quality (but expensive) wood sculptures.

The chalets are very spacious, and I stayed in the standard type, without the balcony on the 2nd floor. These are the same configuration but with the added floor. If they tell you of the wonderful views of ricefields from the balcony, they speak of the past. This view has since been obstructed by fast-growing trees that have been planted next to the resort. So, no, no more view, but rest assured these trees will provide more wood for those delicate sculptures you just have to buy!

Although the bathroom is seriously cramped, the room layout is very nice, with the large sitting area and a small patio too. The bed is comfortable but a bit creaky. This resort is a great place to see the large geckos called Tokay Geckos. Models of these geckos are sold everywhere, in wood, stone or even silver.

Walk around at night and you’ll find them hunting insects near lightbulbs. They have a very loud call, so don’t panic if you suddenly are awoken thinking a monster has entered your room.

The internet is free, and I am happy. The property is excellent, and you can get out to the surrounding ricefields by walking to the back of the resort, go out the door and turn right. The lobby is nicely done, very informal and well laid-out. There are cultural performances on certain nights on an outdoor stage. If you want to head into Ubud, the resort provides free shuttles, you arrange the times. They take you, and pick you up, from the visitor’s centre in Ubud, right opposite the old palace.

The only not-so-good things were the lights in the room are too dim… we older people with older eyes need slightly more light to see where our clean underwear is. There were also several leaks in the roof, which were being patched up each morning as they are found. The food in the restaurant is not bad, but there is no variety. I can’t imagine having the same tiny potion of fried noodles for breakfast for more than 2 days at a stretch.

Otherwise, a greatly positioned resort in the heart of wood sculpture land, and a peaceful retreat too. Walking around the galleries near the hotel is well worth the price, because you don’t have to pay the extra 30% that they charge when a taxidriver brings you… that’s his commission!

Also remember, this hotel is in Mas village, NOT in Ubud as sometimes it is marketed as being in Ubud… it is near Ubud..

Room Tip: there are newer rooms at the back... the older chalets are a bit worn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on the way to Ubud as part of our honeymoon as it is in the centre of woodcarving for Bali, the village of Mas. The hotel was really good value and had a great warm pool. We stayed on the first night in Bali and also our last so saw two of the rooms which were of a good standard and were good for the transit to and from Ubud, as well as the woodcarving shops that we were keen to see (if you are looking for some wood carved souvenirs then definitely pop into Wayan Subar's little show room which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel on the same road, we saw him carving away outside his house and found that he charged considerably less than the big galleries [about 5 times less!] for his quality work)

The food was ok but not amazing so I wouldn't suggest this is luxury but is good for the surrounding area, and does have an air-conditioned bus into Ubud which takes 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room way from the main reception as they seem newer and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've spent 5 days in Ubud Taman Harum Cottages and I enjoyed everything of this place.
The cottages are fully surrounded of trees, plants, statues, flowers.. with a nice swimming pool. Staff is polite and very nice. The breakfast is simply magnificent. Free wi-fi provided.
Rooms are very spacious and cozy. Make sure to book one of the rooms with the view on rice fields!
The hotel is located 15 minutes from Ubud center, but they provide a free transport to Ubud area all day long until 10 pm. Near the hotel there are a lot of nice art galleries, especially for wood statues, objects,etc. It's wood carver's area.
Good value for money and very nice balinese atmosphere!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#99 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#115 of 199 in Ubud
351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
1.9 mi away
Agung Raka Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Harum Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Harum Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#92 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $30 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Harum Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the cool and breezy of the rice field, 17 traditional rooms and cottages are spread across the side of rice fields and lush tropical garden. In each, the Balinese architecture, décor, fine painting is of hotel standard while all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning international traveller are here. All are air-conditioned and have exotic garden bathrooms, convey the essence of the tropic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Taman Harum Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Harum Cottages Hotel Ubud
Taman Harum Hotel
Taman Harum Resort
Taman Harum Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing