We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Garden Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taman Harum Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taman Harum Cottages
Ranked #100 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here a few nights in September 2011 while visiting a friend who lives in Mas.

As others have noted, it is not *in* Ubud, so if you prefer to be in the center of the tourist areas, then this is not the right choice for you. It is located on a busy, dusty road but once you enter the gates, lovely gardens envelope the hotel and provide a welcome respite from the chaos that defines southeast Asia.

I was able to stay in the newer rooms and was delighted with the cleanliness, modernity and accoutrements. I found the price for the deluxe rooms rather reasonable (around $65/USD per night). The mattress was admittedly a bit on the thin side, but this is fairly common when coming from the states and traveling in Asia; not everyone needs a Westin Heavenly bed! The Wi-Fi was not accessible from the room, but it was a short walk with my laptop through the gardens to the cafe area where I could upload pictures to Facebook and check my emails.

The staff was accommodating and very apologetic when there was a mix-up with my luggage (I switched rooms between the 1st and 2nd nights and not all my luggage was brought over). Food offerings were somewhat limited, but since I was only staying a couple of days and ate most of meals out with my friend, this wasn't an issue.

I did not partake of any tour or driving services so cannot comment on those. Mas is the woodcarving center of Bali and the entry to the hotel has a functional workshop. There are some beautiful pieces on display and of course, the furniture in the hotel is all charmingly carved teak wood.

I'll be returning to Taman Harum next month and look forward to this lovely respite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winged_Scapula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    108
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
84
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I loved staying here the first time, and the second time it was just as good. The staff welcomed us as though we had come home, and as a result we felt home again. The hotel has had some improvements since we last stayed and looks better than ever.

A new restaurant was being built while we stayed and should be finished really soon. Rooms were clean and cosy. The service was excellent and staff were as always super accommodating. My partner fell ill during this trip and the ladies in the restaurant made him some ginger tea and dry toast delivered to his bed side, and Charlie from the front desk was full of sympathy and offered to call a doctor every 30 minutes. The genuine concern shown by everyone was brilliant.

I once again have nothing bad to say about this place and it was a complete pleasure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Although the old villas are still great, the new ones are very deluxe for only a little more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at a hotel called Taman Harum, or perfumed garden, in the village of Mas, for 2 nights in November 2011. trying to escape from the chaos that is Ubud, I found this hideaway some 20mins away, along the road from Ubud to Kuta. Heading south from Ubud, you first come to the village of Peliatan, and then Mas. Although separate villages, they all merge into one large road-side existence.

This is the famed village of wood-carvers, and the Taman harum hotel is right smack amongst all the galleries and shops. Enter its doorway, and the property extends far inside. It was built and owned by one of the most famous wood-carvers, and he still lives at the back. The hotel has its own gallery too, called tantra gallery, with high quality (but expensive) wood sculptures.

The chalets are very spacious, and I stayed in the standard type, without the balcony on the 2nd floor. These are the same configuration but with the added floor. If they tell you of the wonderful views of ricefields from the balcony, they speak of the past. This view has since been obstructed by fast-growing trees that have been planted next to the resort. So, no, no more view, but rest assured these trees will provide more wood for those delicate sculptures you just have to buy!

Although the bathroom is seriously cramped, the room layout is very nice, with the large sitting area and a small patio too. The bed is comfortable but a bit creaky. This resort is a great place to see the large geckos called Tokay Geckos. Models of these geckos are sold everywhere, in wood, stone or even silver.

Walk around at night and you’ll find them hunting insects near lightbulbs. They have a very loud call, so don’t panic if you suddenly are awoken thinking a monster has entered your room.

The internet is free, and I am happy. The property is excellent, and you can get out to the surrounding ricefields by walking to the back of the resort, go out the door and turn right. The lobby is nicely done, very informal and well laid-out. There are cultural performances on certain nights on an outdoor stage. If you want to head into Ubud, the resort provides free shuttles, you arrange the times. They take you, and pick you up, from the visitor’s centre in Ubud, right opposite the old palace.

The only not-so-good things were the lights in the room are too dim… we older people with older eyes need slightly more light to see where our clean underwear is. There were also several leaks in the roof, which were being patched up each morning as they are found. The food in the restaurant is not bad, but there is no variety. I can’t imagine having the same tiny potion of fried noodles for breakfast for more than 2 days at a stretch.

Otherwise, a greatly positioned resort in the heart of wood sculpture land, and a peaceful retreat too. Walking around the galleries near the hotel is well worth the price, because you don’t have to pay the extra 30% that they charge when a taxidriver brings you… that’s his commission!

Also remember, this hotel is in Mas village, NOT in Ubud as sometimes it is marketed as being in Ubud… it is near Ubud..

Room Tip: there are newer rooms at the back... the older chalets are a bit worn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on the way to Ubud as part of our honeymoon as it is in the centre of woodcarving for Bali, the village of Mas. The hotel was really good value and had a great warm pool. We stayed on the first night in Bali and also our last so saw two of the rooms which were of a good standard and were good for the transit to and from Ubud, as well as the woodcarving shops that we were keen to see (if you are looking for some wood carved souvenirs then definitely pop into Wayan Subar's little show room which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel on the same road, we saw him carving away outside his house and found that he charged considerably less than the big galleries [about 5 times less!] for his quality work)

The food was ok but not amazing so I wouldn't suggest this is luxury but is good for the surrounding area, and does have an air-conditioned bus into Ubud which takes 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room way from the main reception as they seem newer and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've spent 5 days in Ubud Taman Harum Cottages and I enjoyed everything of this place.
The cottages are fully surrounded of trees, plants, statues, flowers.. with a nice swimming pool. Staff is polite and very nice. The breakfast is simply magnificent. Free wi-fi provided.
Rooms are very spacious and cozy. Make sure to book one of the rooms with the view on rice fields!
The hotel is located 15 minutes from Ubud center, but they provide a free transport to Ubud area all day long until 10 pm. Near the hotel there are a lot of nice art galleries, especially for wood statues, objects,etc. It's wood carver's area.
Good value for money and very nice balinese atmosphere!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
874 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I had Room 201 (part of a duplex) - located across the path from the reception area. It was two levels with a nice terrace on the 2nd floor. It overlooked rice fields on one side and the infinity pool on the other. The room had good air conditioning, a garden bathroom, lots of hot water and electronic mosquito repellent devices on each level.

There are 12 steep steps to the upper level which had a bed, sofa and TV and a beautiful comfortable terrace with table and chairs, sink and plantings. The lower level had the main bedroom, sitting area, small patio and front garden with two chairs. The included breakfast was good and the service was friendly.

Have the hotel pick you up at the airport as the property can be a little hard to find as it is off a busy street and you look like you are turing into an art gallery’s parking lot. Behind is this secluded, quiet, hospitable place bordered by rice fields. The cost of the airport transfer is comparable to taxi prices.


Lunches and dinners in the hotel restaurant were average. They are building a larger restaurant on the property and I hope the kitchen will improve. There is one computer for public use at 500 rupiah per minute. (about $3.50 per hour)

One afternoon, staff children had run of the pool so noise was a problem.

There is not a whole lot to walk to in the area - across the street is a mini-mart, ATM, moneychanger and place to buy sim cards. Mas is known for its woodworking, so there are small galleries up and down the main street. I didn’t find any restaurants within walking distance.

Thankfully, there is a free shuttle to/from Ubud which leaves you at the Tourist Office, in the center of town.

A staff member told me they are remodeling all the rooms - putting in bathrooms and air conditioning on the second level.

I would stay here again at the beginning or end of a trip as it is a quiet, comfortable place to unwind yet close enough to Ubud (15 minutes) to take advantage of its shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Use the hotels transfer service from Denpasar Airport -- this hotel can be a little hard to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hi, I wrote the prior review - I trying to point out what was a little different about this place. On reflection after our latest stay it is at a level of providing a pleasant base from which to explore rather that somewhere to stay put for a week. This small group of units retains a simple but quite charming ambiance a lovely eating area and a nice pool. As stated before it is not in the centre of Ubud but this was not a problem for us. Service and food were good for the price.We only had one problem but it did bug us and that was very creaky and not so comfortable beds. (we asked for a change from the first unit). Both units were large but the first rather old, 2 storey and not a user friendly lay out, the 2nd unit was new/contemporary and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#90 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#108 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#129 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Harum Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Harum Cottages

Property: Taman Harum Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#84 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Harum Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the cool and breezy of the rice field, 17 traditional rooms and cottages are spread across the side of rice fields and lush tropical garden. In each, the Balinese architecture, décor, fine painting is of hotel standard while all the modern conveniences expected by the discerning international traveller are here. All are air-conditioned and have exotic garden bathrooms, convey the essence of the tropic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Taman Harum Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Harum Cottages Hotel Ubud
Taman Harum Hotel
Taman Harum Resort
Taman Harum Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing