We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #92 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon after a transfer from our hotel in Kuta for our 3 night stay.
We were met in the lobby, which has great views over the valley, for the checkin which was very straight forward.
Next we trekked down the endless steps! From reception to the room was 7 flights of steps, then another 8 to the pool.
We had a two bedroom River Villa, which was clean and tidy but in need of a refurb and update or at least some serious maintenance. The front door only opened half way then jammed on the front deck, the bathroom sink tap-ware just dangled in a hole and the Balinese thatch roof shed into the bed constantly.
The food was great, with limited choice for breakfast, but a good range for lunch and dinner. The prices for the food I thought were very reasonable, and the drinks were a little dearer than other hotels, but still decent.
The pool has a swim up bar and towels to use and is deep, probably around 2.2m with a big drop off the bottom stair.
My wife went to the spa, that she said was very primitive, but said it was the best ex-foliation, massage and moisturiser she had ever had. So it must be good.
Overall the stay was very pleasant and rustic with no 'bad' things happening and everyone had a great stay and enjoyed themselves.
I rated it as average because it was just that average, nothing spectacular, nothing bad. If they did a bit of maintenance of the rooms I would give it a 4, they just lacked.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 445 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Okay so this place wasn't awful, but I just can't think of anything positive to say. Bali Spirit had quite good Tripadvisor reviews so we thought we'd try there for a change (as we've been to Ubud quite a few times). Tripadvisor doesn't often get it wrong, but on this occasion it did.

In summary then... the rooms are basic, Balinese in style and tired looking. Everything needs a bit of an update. The smell was just musty and damp. There was a huge hair ball in the plug hole in the bath...

The breakfasts were OK, nothing to really note here. Just OK, not terrible but nothing to write home about.

The grounds are lovely with pretty gardens but there are a lot of steps, this was fine for us but may be a problem for some people.

The pool area was tired looking and not somewhere I enjoyed relaxing... there is a phone to dial for pool towels, when we called it no one answered...

The staff are hit and miss, some were very friendly / helpful and others weren't.

You can walk into town from this place (20-30 mins depending which way you go) They also offer a free shuttle bus although the one time we tried to catch it it was full.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a spacious river view Villa, with a garden bathroom. The first greeting by friendly staff who handed us cool cloths and a welcome drink was followed up by further great service and friendliness. The pool set in the tropical gardens is well maintained and also safe for children. Our villa was maintained and the housekeeping staff were meticulously neat in the making up of our beds with clean linen daily. The restaurant served delicious meals in the pavillion which had a great view and room service was readily available. The hotel is a little outside Ubud but has a good shuttle bus service into Ubud. I was impressed with the Balinese craft displayed in the main lobby of the hotel and with the hotel staffs knowledge of their Balinese culture which they werre happy to share with us. We will recomend this hotel as it was also recomended to us.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the types of rooms, there area a variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harwoods8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice indonesian hotel with beautiful views, garden and poolarea.
Breakfast was ok but unfortunately dinners not up to The standard of The rest of The hotel and The extremely friendly staff.
The suites are just as Nice as The superior emerald rooms.

Room Tip: Nice indonesian hotel with beautiful views, garden and poolarea. Breakfast was ok but unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Dec’13 for 1 night.
Most catching part of this Hotel was its Campus. Its campus was quite beautiful with very good river view.
Our Room was quite good , very spacious, very clean and very well maintained but bit problem we felt with open bathroom which I think a most common problem in many Bali Hotels.
Though they provided insect coil during Night Time to avoid insects but still few insects came in bathroom because of same reason.
Staff was very friendly, very cooperating and very informative and was always eager to help.
Regarding Location, This Hotel was on other side of Ubud centre but they are having good shuttle service which cover this distance issue, we missed our shuttle but staff arranged a separate shuttle for us instantly which was really very appreciating.
Breakfast was quite good and lady incharge(Restaurant) was very happily servicing us in quick time.
In all, Hotel was quite good and good value for money and surely want to recommend this one because the services they provide was quite fair with the money they charged.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I needed 3 rooms and made a couple of special requests; twin beds & adjacent rooms, which were all fulfilled. Having checked in from a cliff-side hotel prior, it was a nice change of scenery. The villas were next to a river and the hotel kept their garden lush to maintain the feeling of retreating into a forest villa. I was in Emerald Suites and find it intriguing that the shower/bathroom area has a partially open rooftop. As you sleep, you could hear insects, critters, cats. They all added to the experience. Their breakfast was made to order, with choices of Indonesian, Asian, Continental.
I'd recommend this hotel for a retreat and change of Bali beach-front scenery. I'd caution anyone travelling with small children and elderly that there are a lot of steps getting to room. I noticed there are rooms in the same complex as the lobby, so you may want to make a special request for them if steps bother you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTurtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Spirit of Bali Hotel is simply wonderful. We stayed for 2 nights in October and were greeted with a welcome drink and cold flannel to cool ourselves down.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and the pool lovely. Such welcoming and friendly staff. Our ‘superior double’ room was so quaint and even had an outdoor shower which was such a treat!
The breakfast was delicious and the free shuttle bus service into town very efficient. We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel but had room service one night which was good. The cocktail (Mai Tai) wasn’t particularly pleasant but then I found cocktails at various places in Indonesia to be rather disappointing and in the end just stuck to the Bintang Beer!

The hotel does put mosquito repellent candle type things in your room at night however I was bitten quite a lot. My other half wasn’t bitten at all so perhaps I’m tastier than him but I would recommend using a deet repellent at night just in case.

In terms of things to do in Ubud we only had one full day in Ubud and we found this enough. We took the free shuttle bus into town, and started our adventure in Monkey Forest, then looked around the markets and temples. According to the lonely planet guide no visit to Ubud would be complete without a walk through the hundreds of rice fields. So we braved the mid afternoon sun and walked for an hour and a half! En route a lovely little lady (who couldn't speak much English!) offered us some shade on a hammock type bench made of bamboo and sliced open a coconut which we drank from.

Back in the centre of town we had half an hour until the next shuttle bus so we treated ourselves to a foot massage and fish spa.

In the evening we made the journey back into town for dinner and a 'spirit of Bali' cultural show!
Ubud was fantastic, I would thoroughly recommend, especially this hotel. It definitely provides the “wow” factor ! The rest of our time in Indonesia was spent in Lombok and the Gili Islands so beachy resorts so it was great to have a couple of days in the hills.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevereuxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#77 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#74 of 199 in Ubud
258 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
665 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#60 of 199 in Ubud
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#79 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing