We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located resort outside the crouded parts of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #89 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nicely located resort outside the crouded parts of Ubud”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

+Nicely located a little outside of the crouded part of Ubud
+Fair room prices
+Beautiful garden and pool area
+Nice and romantic setting overall

- Breakfast
If you have round 2-3 days in Ubud this is a good option to stay overnight. Do not book spa treatments here as you can get better deals in the centre of Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maek78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    159
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
105
201
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's really a shame that I have to provide a poor review of this hotel, but 90% of my experience at this hotel was just ruined by mosquitoes.

Rooms: See, the bathroom in the rooms is half-open. So it's unprotected and insects and other little critters can easily enter the room. So as I slept, I got a dozen mosquito bites during the night, which ruined pretty much my sleep quality during my entire stay there. The little mosquito repellent lamps didn't really help much. On top of it, the A/C in the room was very weak, so overall, I didn't get a good night's sleep at all.

It's a shame though, because the hotel is in an idyllic location in the rainforest. Right up on a small hill with a view of the river, you can walk to Ubud in 20 minutes or take a short 5-minute taxi ride ($4).

The hotel also has a nice pool and tropical garden landscape.

I also tried the spa. The massage is good, but the facial is awful. Would recommend the former, but not the latter. If you want to save money, spas in Ubud are about 50% cheaper.

A shame really, because price-wise, the hotel is a good value and the rooms and location are nice. But if you can't sleep, you can't sleep. It's as simple as that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubai_Adventurer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Bali Spirit Hotel in early October after spending 6 days down in Legian. We had initially booked the River Villas (only two of them) and after one night asked to be moved due to a very noisy gecko in the roof somewhere bellowing all night ! The A/C in the downstairs twin room was also not working properly. There was also a bit of street noise where the River Villas were located (dogs barking and motor bikes). The River Villas are however, very spacious and decorated in the Balinese style and the 'outdoor' bathroom was an interesting experience to shower 'with nature'. We were moved to a wonderful room (Rama Sita) without any problems whatsoever by the wonderful friendly staff and thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned and serviced daily. The gardens are stunning and the rooms very comfortable with free wifi. Breakfasts were basic, but fresh and cooked to order - great fresh juices. The pool is great and has a swim upbar and the river below is lovely. We had a great massage in the massage hut with the only sounds being birds and the river running below .. very relaxing. There is a shuttle bus that takes you into Ubud and also brings you back which is a great bonus. If you happen to miss the bus or decide to come back later, its only about AUD$4.00 to take a taxi back to the hotel. You can also walk to the Monkey Forest from the hotel, it take about 15-20mins depending on how fast you walk ! It is much more humid up in Ubud compared to Legian and beach areas, so be prepared for that ! Room Service is available at no extra charge and was also very good. There are lots of stairs, so would not suit anyone with mobility issues. We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for an oasis of calm and peacefulness and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Rama Sita Suite is outstanding ! I also heard the Emerald Rooms are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just returned from our fourth stay at the Bali Spirit Hotel. The grounds at this hotel are spectacular. We always stay in the Emerald Rooms and love the ground floor rooms with the large outdoor bathrooms. These rooms have recently been upgraded and are exceptional value for money. The staff at the hotel are fantastic. The hotel does have a lot of stairs, however I have found if you use the driveway rather than the stairs it is much easier. I have bad knees but still found it managable. We travelled this time with our family which included our grandson who is just under 2 years old. The hotel provided us with a cot and as the rooms are spacious there was plenty of room. Whenever we are feeling a little depressed at home, we always comment that "we could use a few days at the Bali Spirit!"
You will not be disappointed with your stay here!

Room Tip: Downstairs Emerald Rooms with the outdoor bathrooms. They also have a nice outdoor verandah area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a good mid range hotel. The hotel surroundings really are stunning. Location outside central Ubud but only minutes in hotel shuttle or taxi. Rooms are big, ours had a nice view, only minor point was that we found the bed to be a bit uncomfortable. Staff were great, all helpful and friendly.

We did a customised tour organised by the hotel with private driver which was great value for money. Took in the monkey forest, rice paddies, rocky temple, a coffee and tea plantation and then visited Ibu Oka for lunch (which was superb). Also we did the Balinese cooking lesson which was good fun and you get lots of really yummy food to eat at the end of it!

Swimming pool area was good although the bar stools in the pool look a bit worse for wear but that is a very minor point. Didn't try the spa as the facilities looked fairly average and it closed at 4pm, we went to one in Ubud which was inexpensive and very good.

The inclusive breakfast I found to be a bit smaller in portion size but probably as it wasn't a buffet, you do have option to order additional things and pay though. I particularly liked the local Burbur Ayam (chicken rice porridge).

Also worth a mention was that I had by far the best nasi goreng during my trip to Bali. The nasi goreng served at breakfast is different as it is just the rice, but for lunch you get all the trimmings i.e. satay, fried egg, prawn crackers and fried chicken. Superb with sambal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in September. It was our first time in Bali and a friend had recommended BaliSpirit as a lovely place to stay. We weren't disappointed. The complex of rooms bar and restaurant and pool are spread out down the side of a hill with a river at the bottom. The gardens are thick and lush and we enjoyed wandering through them on the way to the pool, breakfast or dinner. The only thing which disturbs the quietness and peace of this place is the slight sound of traffic in the distance. Getting into central ubud was a lovely 1/2 hour walk or you can get the free shuttle from the hotel. I preferred the walk! You can go through the monkey forest or around it.
The restaurant has a good variety of quality meals and some great cocktails!
My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed out time here.

Room Tip: We stayed an in emerald level room on the same side of the complex as reception. I would be happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheatbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Bali Spirit in July 2013, as a family of 5. My husband and I travelled with our 3 children (aged 7, 7 and 9 years). We stayed in a 2 storey unit, the kids slept upstairs and adults downstairs. (This arrangement might not work so well if your children are younger and not confident on stairs).

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were very clean and well maintained. The hotel had a rustic / Balinese feel not the generic "European hotel" feel.

Both bedrooms had split system air conditioners, so we were perfectly comfortable. The bathroom isn't air conditioned and is open to the outside around the tops of the walls. This proved interesting when there was a large gecko in the bathroom one evening.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and a couple of dinners. The breakfasts were great, they were cooked / prepared to order, so no choosing off a dubious buffet. The kids loved the fluffy pancakes. The open air restaurant was lovely and relaxing. The staff were very attentive and good with the children's requests.

The pool was exactly what we wanted, not so big but it also has a swim up bar.

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens on the side of a hill. It does have an awful lot of steps but this wasn't a problem for us.

The hotel is walking distance to the monkey forrest but we used the shuttle or a cab when we wanted to go into Ubud.

We would happily stay at the Bali Spirit again in the future

Room Tip: Website doesn't show family rooms but they can accommodate a family of 5 (which can be hard to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#87 of 198 in Ubud
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 198 in Ubud
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#52 of 198 in Ubud
636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Property: Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing