We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful forest location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

On arrival to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade, as it was my partners birthday. The hotel itself was beautifully located in the forest and we had a gorgeous view from our balcony to the stream below.

There is a hotel being constructed across the river, which detracts from the view of the forest, but was luckily hidden from sight from our room, but undoubtedly not from others.

We had dinner and cocktails at the hotel our first night and were the only ones at the restaurant, which we later realized was to good reason; the food was pretty average to say the least. Cocktails took a long time to arrive.

It was easy to get transport from the hotel into the centre of Ubud, however it was a bit of a walk if you went by foot.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back, provided we had the same room.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosylosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 446 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I were delighted with our entire five day stay here. From the lobby to the grounds to the restaurant (good breakfasts---included), pool and helpful staff, everything was a cut above.

The hotel is a bit out of town but it runs a free shuttle to and from the hotel several times a day. Although the hotel could probably stand to add a couple more daily runs, it was fine for our purposes. Do buy a ticket to the Legong dance at the palace from one of the many ticket sellers when you get off the shuttle in town; it's wonderful.

Two things to note: I got an infected toe from a pedi I scheduled with the very sweet mani-pedi staff (Indonesian sanitary standards are nothing like American) so I wouldn't recommend a mani-pedi, and (we found out upon departure) that we got a more reliable (no stopping at "my friend's coffee plantation") and somewhat less expensive car and driver if you book through the hotel rather than contract with one of the many "taxi drivers" (men on the streets with a vehicle willing to drive you anywhere for slightly inflated prices).

We'd go back to the Bali Spirit anytime and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Emerald 108 is a bigger than average and quiet room. Don't worry: the hotel staff turns off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJS-Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bali Spirit in May 2012. We were upgraded to the Arga Suites which were amazing. This was a 5 star hotel experience. it was a bit out of town, but a short taxi ride would take care of that, I loved the location. Great pool and pool bar. The grounds are very beautiful but there were a lot of steps so not good for the disabled or elderly. Food was great, we ate at the hotel every night rather than go into Ubud, breakfast is a choice of American or Continental. The staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for us and our children. I would definately stay at the Bali Spirit again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I loved the location of this hotel, overlooking the river. We could see the locals swim and wash in the river from our balcony. Yes it was steep, but this made it fun for the kids and good for the legs. Definately no good for elderly folk for this reason. The staff were amazingly friendly, the grounds beautiful, and the breakfasts lovely. I loved the pool, like a little oasis, just beautiful. The rooms were large. Only complaint is the poor lighting. There were not many people so we sometimes had the pool to ourselves. Highly recommend for those who like traditional style of accomodation and piece and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. As there was only four rooms booked during our stay they bumped our room. It was a decent clean hotel, the restaurant good cheap food, and had full 5 star services (i.e. room service, turn down. movies to borrow). Be aware it is a little out of town but we just used the hotel taxi for 20000 RP each time. Overall I would recommend this for a cheap nice hotel. As it was particularly quiet when we were there it seemed to lack "vibe" etc. But it was still beautiful/

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Morganlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

i stayed at bali spirit for 3 nights in april 2012 and was pleasantly surprised to be updated on
arrival to a villa. How lucky was I. It was beautiful. the whole resort is beautiful, lush grounds. breakfasts were lovely, as were the staff. one morning there was a heavy down pour. after it stopped raining i went to breakfast and it was as if the vegetation came to life, with the sounds of cicadas and birds all around as i ate breakfast.
the shuttle runs regularly into ubud, so plenty of opportunities to have a wander, shop, get a message or just sit at one of the many cafes.
the pool is beautiful, infact one day i had it to myself. As i said the grounds are amazing. so many balinese statues and tropical plants. it is steep so this may be a problem for some. the only negative was with room service, the meal delivered was not what i ordered.
i would definately stay here again :)
Finally, i booked a shuttle bus from Ubud to the airport, plenty of ticket booths along monkey forrest road. i paid 50000 and that picked me up at my hotel and dropped me at the airport. no problems.

Room Tip: i paid for a standard room and was upgraded to a villa so for me that was excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have previously stayed at Bali Spirit 3 times before and love it! This time we stayed 6 nights in an Emerald Room ... and as always found the experience to be excellent. The staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful, the location is great (the shuttle bus is convenient and it's not too far to walk into Ubud when the weather is cool enough), and the grounds and pool very well kept. Will be back :)

Room Tip: The Emerald rooms downstairs have a lovely outdoor bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#60 of 198 in Ubud
678 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#83 of 198 in Ubud
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
1.6 mi away
The Sungu Resort & Spa
The Sungu Resort & Spa
#110 of 198 in Ubud
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#79 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $60 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing