We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - even nice sitting in your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #92 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We selected the Bali Spirt as recommended by a work friend. Not a budget hotel, but good value. The grounds are lovely, very green and there was 20 of the 27 rooms occupied when we were there, but found that you did not regularly bump into other guests. Rooms large with an outdoor bathroom, very nice. Our room 210 was surrounded by glass on two sides and you could enjoy laying on the bed and looking out the windows at the gardens. Rooms serviced everyday with fresh sheets and mosquito coils lit each night, that we saw any. Restaurant overlooks the river flowing past hotel. a nice pool. Hotel provides a courier service into Ubud, but can be walked. Only downsides were that drinks were expensive compared to everywhere else, quite a few steps which could be difficult for some and not an easy walking distance from main township. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 438 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was our first trip to Bali, and our first point of leisure. We didn't know what to expect, but we were blown away by the hotel. We didn't know where to stay in Bali but decided on Ubud, as it seems in Australia everyone goes to Kuta and Legian and we didn't want to be inundated by tourists.

The hotel is situated just outside of Ubud on a hillside by the main river. The foyer was beautifully designed with fantastic views of the scenery and river. We stayed in the Superior suite, the room is dated but extremely comfortable. The only criticism I would make is that the kitchen looks a little sterile. Walking around the hotel gardens is a pleasure in itself, featuring stunning statues, courtyards and tropical plant life. The dining area again is lovely with views over by the river. The staff are extremely friendly and the service is superb, the meals are fairly good but I suggest travelling to Ubud to eat out as there is a much more interesting variety and cheaper prices. The pool isn't massive but perfect for the size of the hotel, with a pool bar adjoining it - met many interesting people by the bar and the staff were ecstatic to chat as well.

The town of Ubud itself is vibrant and chirpy, there are many temples, shopping markets and restaraunts to see. There are also less tourists then the west coast of Bali which means the prices and quality of the market products are alot better. Overall my partner and I found the town of Ubud and its surroundings to be very spiritual. We extremely disliked the west coast of Bali (Kuta, Legian, Seminyak) - it's less scenic, extremely touristy featuring many drunken westeners parading around the streets and bars, and an abundance of generic poor quality market stalls.

The Bali Spirit in Ubud is a beautiful destination for travellers on a budget who want a peaceful, wholesome cultural bali experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethMorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Hotel was charming and quiet. Staff was pleasant accommodating. The hotel grounds were well landscaped next to river. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had a nice time at balispirit hotel.
The only thing what we missed was an musquitonet in the bedroom.
If you go there you have to go to the restaurant next to the hotel. It is an little restaurant called d'waroeng. An woman (Kadek) is the owner and it is so good!
Here husband is an taxi driver and we enjoy that he was around.
he drived us to anything you want.
So when you are in balispirit on the right side if you are leaving the hotel there you cab find them. The restaurant is also cheap and very very good!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirjamdeGoede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The Bali Sprit Hotel isn't a glamourised sanitised 'could be anywhere' hotel. It's a reasonably priced, wonderfully Balinese establishment that helped me see that Bali has lost none of it's charm in the 20 years since I was last there. we were there for our honeymoon, and loved it. The setting is perfect, the staff are lovely and good at their jobs.
If you are there in wet season, take a pillow spray - impossible for sheets to be crisp and dry in all that beautiful rain!
You can tell what a hotel is like from the guests and there was a great, very mixed group there.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZoeVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The photos are a lie. When you get there, you ask yourself "really? this is the place we booked?"

The "King size bed" are two doubles pushed together, and they're not even the same quality as one another. my partner and i woke up as stiff as boards in the morning with aching backs, and so from then on we squished together on the one half decent single mattress.

The staff aren't very friendly or obliging, and the food is less than average. The classes they offer are useless and unenjoyable. We were both very careful and still we fell ill and were confined to the hideous walls of our room.

The view is quite nice (because it helps forget where you actually are), but nothing like the photos and there are far too many stairs to justify going to the pool or spa. The bath was ridiculously small...our romantic evening turned into two minutes in the bath before the water leaked out and left us cold and defeated.

The only good part is the free shuttle like the arms of god taking you out of the hell hole into the heart of ubud.

We ventured into the Monkey forest where we found the monkeys to be more hospitable than the staff of Bali Spirit. I would rather catch rabies from a rotting monkey carcass than relive our experience at the hell on earth that was Bali Spirit Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carlag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed at hotel from 27th dec to 1st of January with family in River View Villa. Our stay was excellent. The villa was fantastic one large bedroom upstairs tv /dvd view over pool and river. Downstairs large enough living area twin room and balcony. Outside bathroom was amazing .( Toilet outside was a great thing also) The hotel is set on the egde of the river in an absolutley beautiful setting ,the gardens are amazing, the pool lovely, cannot speak more highly of the staff they were amazing, my teenage children loved them they were just so beautiful. The breakfast setting looking over the river is georgous , breakfasts good, restaurant food was very good and not too pricey, we didnt hold back on ordering food pool side , cocktails , beers and two or three restaurant meals and all up the bill was a bit over $200.00 for 4 people for 5 days. Re mosquitos the attentive staff would come in each night prior to dusk and light coils in the bathroom and balcony and put electric oil burners in each room inside and we did not have a problem,the room was cleaned emaculantley each day. The rooms are very sound proof therefore noise from our family could not be heard outside, and we found the rooms very quite at night, the beds were very comfy the main mattress was huge, possibly king size. Yes there are lots of stairs but they are broken up in sections and you can have a break in between flights. We also found this great excercise . The only thing that may be of concern for other travellers is that it is out of town a bit , but we just used the shuttle bus or taxi and we actually loved the fact that we could ecscape the hustle and bustle of town and return to the georgous hotel. Overall we loved everything about this hotel and were so sad to leave it. It is excellent value for 3 star rated hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahzy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#71 of 199 in Ubud
325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#91 of 199 in Ubud
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#59 of 199 in Ubud
653 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#46 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
9.0 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#78 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $62 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing