We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

What more can I say that other people haven't already said? It isn't very often that I splash out on a really nice hotel - it is usually only a place to rest your head - but I had read so many good reviews about this place that I decided we needed a treat, after all you only live once. Best thing I have ever done!
We were wow'ed as soon as we were shown to our Pool Villa. It was overlooking the rice paddies with its own small infinity pool, decking area with longers and little pond. The flower petals on the bed and magnificent bathroom were gob-smacking- you can have a party in the bacthroom it is so big!
The staff are what really makes this a great place to stay - they know exactly who you are and can't do enough for you. The room is cleaned twice per day, so you always seem to have fresh towels. Every time we came back after shopping or visiting the Monkey Forest we were 'welcomed home' - what a nice touch!
There was a bit of downpour while were there and that night the frogs went berserk - they are tiny frogs with a very loud croak! You also get woken by the cockerel next door VERY early each morning - so if you aren't used to animal noises take your ear-plugs!

Breakfast seemed to have lots of courses and we struggled to manage all of the food, but it was lovely. Afternoon tea is also very welcome after a long hot day - nice to taste a sample of the local 'cakes'.

Location on Monkey Forest Road, as everyone has already mentioned is great for shops, supermarkets and the monkeys down the road. Be careful with your belongings though in the Monkey Forest, as soon as the monkeys sense any food in your bag they're after you.

So, if you want a real treat get yourself a Pool Villa and be wow'ed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    114
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
222
697
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We celebrated the first two nights of our 5D4N honeymoon in Bali (from Nov 15-19) and went for Komaneka Monkey Forest, mainly due to it's excellent ratings on TripAdvisor.

The location of the hotel was superb, smack bang in the middle of the Monkey Forest Road shopping street. It was only 5-10 minutes walk to both the Pasar Ubud (for cheap souvenirs) as well as the Monkey Forest itself, the hotel is almost equidistant to both attractions.

I should not overlook the wonderful service provided by the staff, from the moment of checking-in, to serving of breakfast in the villa, and up to the time we were leaving the place. Even the person manning the adjacent Komaneka Fine Art Gallery was great, he handled our queries regarding some of the paintings on display very professionally!

As for our room, we stayed in no. 102, which was a beautiful pool villa facing a small river. The room was cozy and came with a plush king-sized bed, although the toilet took up almost half the space, not that this is something negative. The huge toilet came with a nice hole-in-floor bathtub as well as the usual standing shower and sink (very spacious). What made the place different was the location of the wardrobe, this is the first room we stayed in which had it in the toilet!

Breakfast was excellent, and made extra special when the Komaneka accomodated our request for it to be served at the dining area next to the poolside. We had an American Breakfast on the first day and an Indonesian one for the second and both were top-gun! Too bad we didn't manage to have any other meals (e.g. dinner) at the hotel, as we had our evening food in Ubud Town - the famous Bebek Bengil Dirty Duck on nearby Jl. Hanoman is superb!

One downside was the pool itself; for a 5-star pool villa, they should have designed a larger pool in the mould of Seminyak's The Wolas, where we spent our next two nights (in another review!). The infinity design was indeed a nice touch but still, if the pool were just about double its size, it would be perfectly suitable for several laps of breaststroke swim!

Still, don't let this minor shortcoming about the pool turn you off from checking out the Komaneka Monkey Forest. We'll definitely be back in future, that's for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This was our 3rd visit to the Komaneka and it was for a very special event - we were married at Pool Villa 101 on 10/10/10. The Komaneka is our very favourite place as it is so romantic - the rooms have four poster beds, are roomy and have the exposed bamboo ceilings. The service at this resort is exceptional from the friendly gardeners to the resort manager Gungdek. We put our trust in Gungdek for the flower decorations at the villa and they were amazing. It took my breath away on the morning of the wedding when we returned to the villa and saw the footpath lined with rose petals and frangipani. The pool was completely covered in rose petals, and the gazebo that we were married in had flowers around the roof, two huge flower displays and a small type of alter with rose petals and frangipani on the ground where we stood. Gungdek was at the ceremony taking photographs and actually emailed some to a friend of mine in England who had emailed the Komaneka sending wedding wishes to be passed on to us. It made our day so special and we send our sincere thanks to Gungdek and his staff. We will certainly return to Villa 101 for our 1st wedding anniversary. As a wedding gift, Gungdek upgraded us for our last 2 nights to a magnificent pool villa at the Komaneka, Bisma which was amazing but we still think the Monkey Forest Rd Komaneka is our favourite. We went on to stay 4 days in Sanur and 4 days in Seminyak, but, nothing came near the professionalism,service, location,comfort and friendliness of this resort

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DandV4953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here so much and found the staff to be so charming that I just had to write a review. As I was travelling with a friend and we had taken separate rooms it was important to feel safe and looked after and we really felt both. The rooms are the perfect size lots of space for 2 people yet I didnt feel lonely on my own. 2 mosquito nets on the oh so comfy bed which was decorated so nicely and those nightresses they provide are so comfy that I bought one to bring home!! Enjoy being so near to everything and dont forget that the staff will be more than happy to organise bikes, cars, taxis etc for you. Make sure you go to Sari Organic for a long lunch when in Ubud - get them to give you directions!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Komaneka at Monkey Forest is the first resort we have stayed in Bali. We based our decision on the reviews on this very site and I am pleased to say we were rewarded. The location right on Monkey Forrest road and its proximity to the plethora of restaurants and bars make walking in the draining humidity bearable. For value, it’s up there, especially the way AU $ is at the moment. The room was excellent, massive bed and mozzie net and bathroom very functional. The staff must get a special mention; they are simply the best I have ever encountered over the 20 years I have been travelling, nothing was too much trouble. I was sick with Bali belly (my own fault – having Mojito’s a plenty in happy hour) and the staff offered to help in any way, they also sent a big basket of fruit with a get well card. The room was cleaned twice a day, fresh towels and bottled water replenished.
The infinity pool is spotlessly clean despite being under the tree canopy. The whole property and grounds are impeccably clean; the foliage detritus must drive the gardeners nutz!
As we stayed for 8 nights, the hotel management provided us with a free candlelight dinner, which they didn’t have to do. The meal was great; Balinese smoked chicken… yum! The spa is alos worth a visit, there are cheaper ones outside the hotel, but no way near the quality. Free WiFi is great, especially if your stuck in your room :-(
I recommend the Laughing Buddha, immediately left of the hotel entrance. The aforementioned Mojito’s and other cocktails are great, just don’t have the ice. They have live entertainment and the food is good too.
Overall summary: is you are considering ubud , and $200 per night is in budget, then visit this wonderful oasis.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebbles118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

During our 5 day stay here we explored Ubud and surrounds by motorbike, but enjoyed coming back to our villa and its inviting plunge pool whenever we could. The staff at Komaneka treated us like we were royalty, all smiles and very welcoming.

The villa was romantic, spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts, both indonesian and American versions, were delicious.

The location is very good. - 1 min walk to to south on monkey forest road are restaurants, massage places and some bars. To the north are some of the best textile shops in ubud.
Even though you are in the middle of ubud, the hotel backs up onto a gully with a stream. From your villa you can see squirrels, birds and dragonflys doing their business amongst the trees.

There are quite a few other hotels of equal (and even higher) standard in Ubud. However, Komaneka Monkey Forest has the right combination of style, price, quality and location. Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

my wife and i stayed at the komaneka for 4 nights from 16th october. all i can say to anyone who is thinking of staying there is you will not be disappointed. read all the reviews, everyone rates this resort.We renewed our wedding vows whilst at the komaneka and the whole experience was mind blowing just fantastic.A special thanks to MIKA who sorted out all our arrangements for us. Nothing was to much trouble, we were given a upgrade to pool villa, complimentary 2hr spa treatments and on departure we were presented with photo album of our ceramony.All the staff made us feel very special from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.I could write for ever about the positives of this resort,but they have all been previously written in other reviews.Would have liked to have visited the 2 other komaneka resorts but we just did not have time. I believe they are opening a 4th resort some time next year. looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericfreeman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing