We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ubud luxury pool villa right on Monkey Forest Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ubud luxury pool villa right on Monkey Forest Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is the perfect combination of an absolute luxury private villa with a wonderful friendly efficient staff and a magic location right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road with easy foot access to the town. The staff, Dewi, Koman, Wayan (penjor) and Maritha always addressed us by name "Bapak W and Ibu P" welcomed us with smiles, seamless service, flowers on bed, and hand-written welcome note.
We stayed at the Komeneka Monkey Forest Road, but had dinner at Komaneka Raisa Sayan and later after a guided morning temple & paddy field trek we breakfasted at Komaneka Tanggayuda - all beautiful with seamless service.
Highly recommended if you desire wonderful friendly 5 star service with a smile, totally private villa with pool and paddy field view in central Ubud.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra on a pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wazbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    101
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
198
599
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

May 19-21. What a wonderfully calming place to stay. A tranquil retreat after hitting the pavement of Ubud. Dewi, Juni and staff made for a wonderful though short stay. Position of the hotel is great, rooms are comfortable, clean and bright. We stayed in a villa overlooking the rice paddies but can also recommend the valley view villas also. The main pool is beautiful. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenanigans0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a great hotel. When we were having Internet issues on the first afternoon they straight away bumped us up to a pool villa, no questions asked. The room was amazing.
They also offered us a late, 2pm checkout, as our flight was not leaving until 11pm.
The hotel itself is extremely luxurious, in a great location, with exceptional staff. They have thought of all of the fine details as well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family and I have been to Ubud many times. We have stayed at different 5 star hotels outside of town, rented villas and tried a couple of bargain places in more convenient locations...but nothing comes close to this hotel. The combination of 5 star experience WITH the perfect location (right on monkey forest road) makes for an unbeatable property. We travel with 2 kids and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. From taking our 10 month old and walking him around we feasted on the HUGE breakfast to the warm welcome we got every time we returned from a shopping trip, you are going to love the people here. Breakfast (as mentioned earlier) is huge and delicious with some of the best banana bread you can find anywhere! A free tea with light snacks in the afternoon is just icing on this delicious cake. Really and truly, if you don’t stay here you are missing out!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my wife were honeymooning in Bali and while visiting Ubud we chose Komaneka for our stay. The hotel location is great, right at the heart of the town, convenient location for shopping and lots of other restaurants nearby. Also the monkey forest and the Ubud palace are all at a walking distance.The stay was very pleasant and their hospitality was heart-warming. We had a late night flight and so we requested for a late check out and our check out time was extended by a couple of hours. Moreover since we had time to kill the hotel arranged their driver to take us to visit the art museum nearby. Also we were allowed to use the shower and other hotel facilities to relax and freshen up until we were ready to leave. It was a great experience staying at Komaneka. The only downside to this property is that there were mosquitoes and other insects around and I did get bite quite a few times. I could see during the day there were staff spraying insecticides but with all the greenery around insects are inevitable. Still I feel more serious measures have to be taken to control this. But overall it was a great experience staying at Komaneka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VMP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have travelled to Bali 7 times and always stayed within Sanur area, however for something different we decided to spend 4 nights in Ubud this trip. We had decided on the Komaneka at Monkey Forest and upgraded to a pool villa that overlooked the rice paddies. These villas are centrally located in Ubud and easy walk to shops, restaurants and the monkey forest. The highlight for us though was the personal approach the hotel put into making us feel special. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Dewi and the staff.....including every staff member greeting us by our Christian name throughout our stay. The personal approach taken by all the staff made this a memorable stay. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in various parts of the world, but the customer service and intimacy shown by this team stands head and shoulders above any other complex. If you are considering this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I went backpacking through Indonesia and wanted to end our trip on a more luxurious level. The room was on an upper level so the view was lush and private. The employees were so polite and the accommodations were great. The spa facilities are lovely. We were able to leave our backpacks after we checked out at the front desk and still use the facilities at the spa to relax and freshen up before our red eye. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The monkey forest is close by and there are a plethora of shops and dining options. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Great location and great friendly staff. I will come back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heathahunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#10 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#24 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing