We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The soul of Bali in the heart of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #15 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff were very kind, helpful, friendly and genuine people. I'd like to make special mention of the following staff who made our stay so wonderfully enjoyable: Yuli, Yoga, Sudi, Wayan, Mila, Lisna, and Juni. There were many others whose names I did not get unfortunately, including the maintenance and housekeeping staff who would always say hello.

The location was awesome! Right in the centre of Ubud. Only 45 mins from the airport. Close walk to the market, restaurants, monkey forrest, etc. You wouldn't think that the hotel was located amongst the hustle and bustle of Ubud, as it is so quiet and peaceful. We felt very safe and at home at Komaneka.

The rooms are lovely! Clean, comfortable and naturalistic. We were upgraded to a pool villa for the night of our wedding anniversary which was very romantic. We loved the lush greenery that surrounded us.

The breakfast was delicious! It's not a buffet but a sit-down table service. Many different breakfast menus to choose from. I loved the Komaneka muesli, ginger tea and fresh fruit juices.

There is much attention to little details. Some examples include:
- Hot ginger tea with honey offered upon arrival
- Staff member escorting you to the room to show you all the amenities.
- Afternoon tea
- Evening "turn-down" service
- Staff asking you how your day was and what you did/saw
- International plug adaptor in the room
- Flower petal arrangements on the bed and in the bathtub
- Addressing us with "Babak" and "Ibu" before saying our names (the traditional Indonesian words for Mr. and Mrs). I was amazed that everyone knew our names by the first day!

Thank you so much Komaneka for making our anniversary trip so wonderful and memorable. We will be back in the near future!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but if you are a couple it is worth upgrading to the pool villa room as it...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for Komaneka at Monkey Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our first visit to beautiful Bali for my wife and me. What a wonderful hotel to begin that visit, we really did feel cosseted during our five days at the Komaneka at Monkey Forest. Don't be put off by the 'monkey' in the name, you have to go to the actual Monkey Forest to see them.
A very high quality, small hotel set in lovely gardens. The rooms were large, very clean and comfortable. Small pool in a tree setting and the spa offers a very relaxing massage. All the staff were friendly, gracious and very hard working, but in a relaxed manner. They always went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The hotel food was very reasonably priced and always beautifully cooked if you wanted to eat in. You can use any of the Komaneka hotels with one just across the road. Dewi Purwaningsih, Assistant Front Office Manager runs a very good 'ship'.
The hotel is very central, shops, market, temples all within walking distance.
Don't hesitate-book!

Room Tip: It's not far to any of them, but some, on the next floor, are up steps.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank venetia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our first visit to Ubud ( travelled with my adult daughter) and this hotel was an absolute highlight of our time in Bali -other accommodation in Bali was good but not up to this standard. from the moment we were picked up by Ngurah our driver at the airport to the moment we reluctantly said goodbye, nothing was too much bother, in fact it felt like our needs were anticipated. We stayed in a suite with a plunge pool. The room was lovely, very peaceful and overlooked the rice field. every amenity including complimentary cookies and enough water to ensure we never had to buy any! The breakfast options were extensive and to please all palates - we were there for 4 nights and found when we did eat in the restaurant or avail ourselves of room service that the standard of food was excellent. We took the opportunity to visit the Neka art museum and another hotel in the chain for lunch both were well worth doing . Transport to and from was complimentary as was a drop off and pick up when we went out one evening to a puppet show. Free afternoon tea everyday was available by the pool as was a range of complimentary activities at the hotel or others in the Komaneka group.
The staff here are gracious and have a service ethic which is outstanding. We would highly recommend this delightful escape from the hectic street scape of Ubud where you are right in the heart of the activity but feel like you are in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lionelmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just home from Ubud and already missing Monkey Forest and it"s amazing staff.Dewi, Yuli and the rest of the staff you always make our holiday so special.The location right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road which is busy but once you walk in of the street it is so tranquil and quiet.Everything has been thought of to make you stay more pleasurable.We shared our time between Monkey Forest and their sister property Rasa Sayang just across the road which is just as amazing as Monkey Forest.Beautiful rooms,delicious afternoon teas beside the pool, relaxing massages you just cannot go past Komenaka hotels for your holiday in Ubud.But it is the staff that are their best asset nothing is to much trouble for them. Looking forward to getting back there in May 2014 it"s our second home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darcyColacVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our third visit to KMR, and the service just gets better and better! Dewi, the Manageress, was a complete darling, and has cast her spell over all her staff, who were gracious and pleasant at all times, and made our stay perfect. Their newest recruit, Swastika, deserves a mention for his enthusiasm and warm nature - he was my Mother's favourite!
The KMR continues to offer excellent value and convenience, and the Villas are most enjoyable and secluded - I am told a renovation is also imminent, though we had no complaints about the quality of our Villa - nor did my Mother, who was upgraded!!
We missed the place and the people, as soon as we left, and can't wait to return - THANK YOU EVERYBODY!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the Villas are more spacious, and have plunge pools and terraces
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall this is my 6th stay in a Komaneka Hotel and the 4th at Monkey Forest.

This time I didn't go for the pool villa but the deluxe room. I was offered an upgrade to a nicer room in Komaneka Bisma but even though it is newer, grander and more luxurious I declined because I love the small, cozy friendliness of Monkey Forest. And it's location is perfect.

The Deluxe room was as expected, well appointed, (Apple TV with movie) nice Komaneka decor and touches (bedtime stories, cookies, pajamas) similar to the rooms at the newer Rasa Sayang across the road.

Every staff member is smiling and happy to help, always greeting you. I noted the spa had lowered their prices, it was a welcomed surprise. The spa is still great, and the semi outdoor treatment rooms are pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bougnat_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed 8 nights in October 2013. This was the second time for me at Komaneka (first 2011) and the staff, service, ambience and attention to detail were still superb. I returned with my husband after raving about this hotel for two years and we were not disappointed. The standard was still very high and we were pampered and attended to perfectly by the excellent staff who were always warm and friendly. We left the hotel feeling very relaxed and satisfied after a great holiday. We thoroughly recommend this hotel! The only suggestion I could make was that the lighting in the room was dim at night and in the bathroom it was difficult to see properly when applying makeup.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richrd_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#19 of 199 in Ubud
1,918 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#12 of 199 in Ubud
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#27 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#42 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $185 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing