We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted a hotel that was in the middle of the action and somewhere we would be able to walk to go out and this was perfect. We had a large room and bathroom and the property was spacious with a pool and bar in the back. We didn't get to use it as we were out seeing Ubud. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They did a couple drops for us at a dance show (and came back for us when done) and did the same for my friend for yoga one morning. Really helpful.

They also arranged a last minute tour to see the rice terraces and coffee plantations within an hour as that was our last day to see things and we also got out to have a cocktail at another property where a friend was staying. After driving the 20 minutes to get to the Four Seasons, I am glad we weren't staying out there as it was far enought to make you not want to leave the property. The Komaneka was wonderful (and if you wanted to get out to the further jungle property, they would take you there for breakfast, tea time or use of the pool), so you get the best of location on Monkey Forest and use of other properties.

I would stay again for sure and would return to Monkey Forest as we could walk to the Sacred Monkey forest, lunch, dinner and shopping.

Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13_Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    95
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
189
565
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here as a last stop in Bali. This hotel and the villas are beautiful and well located on the Monkey Forest Road. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Early check-in and late check-out were no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampoFresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Komaneka Monkey Forest. Our villa was lovely as was breakfast on the patio. Afternoon tea was also excellent and staff were very friendly. Recommended base for discovering Ubud's gems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our holiday to Bali and it lives up to every good review on here. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the afternoon teas well and truely dragged me off the cake wagon. We had a day out with the driver who took us to see a couple of stunning temples, a waterfall and some beautiful rice fields in the foothills of the mountains further north on Bali which was unplanned but fortunately he wasn't booked out that day. We stayed in the pool villa 102 (if memory serves) had a wonderful view of the valley and, much to our delight, had a tree frog which seemed to have taken up residence on the support post in the outdoor seating area, where we enjoyed our breakfast on the first day. So anyone who is lucky enough to get this room, please be kind to fred ( my husbands name for the tree frog) :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vieffxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in komaneka monkey forest for 3 nights, I am very touched by the level of service of the staff in this hotel. The staff are all very helpful and are always very attentive to our requests.
I am very impressed also by the variety of breakfast options in this hotel. It is also very handy they have Apple TV in the room.

The location of this hotel is very convenient too. It's around 10 mins' walk to the Monkey Forest. If you are interested in trekking, you can also walk from the hotel to a beautiful trail, overseeing the valleys and rice fields in Ubud. This particular hotel does not have a panoramic view of the rice fields and valleys but I think the location is perfect for convenience.

If you prefer a more scenic option, I think the Komaneka has another hotel up on the hill which offers nice scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jashaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Is it possible to have a Love Affair with a hotel?? Lol. This was our third stay in 3 years, again we had the same Pool Villa as last year - so it definitely seemed as if we were 'coming home'. The staff was, as always, perfect. A special mention to Yuli, a beautiful lady who is an excellent ambassador for the Komaneka Group. We cannot recommend this hotel enough - the accommodation, the service and the location is just amazing considering the very fair price. My only complaint is that I didn't stay there long enough...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriedaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our first trip to Bali and we were very anxious about our stay but we quickly realised that Komaneka was like stepping into a relatives' home where nothing but the best was laid on for us. All the staff knew our names even if we hadn't been introduced. The attention to detail whether it was in the way the bed was decorated on our arrival, to the drinks and biscuits in the car that met us at the airport to the insect repellent in our room was beyond anything we have experienced before. The setting was superb and incredibly relaxing. The contrast to the noise and crowds on the streets of Ubud was totally unexpected and almost a spiritual experience once we entered the lobby and gardens. We will return and we will stay longer next time. Special thanks to Yuli.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsandy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#4 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#1 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing